Fiction logo

Wingbox

Fantasy Short Story

By Jessica TriasPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Wingbox
Photo by 小胖 车 on Unsplash

Laura wanted it to be better than this, but you cannot get better than this, she knew the normal world was a mess, but this was a whole other place of complete disbelief and extravagance that she had ever seen.

My ancestors would have fallen on the floor if they had seen me now. The air had glitter in it and the water looked like a golden highlighted experiment that a scientist just made. There was nothing that was not sparkling in a light that reflected nothing but the sheer and opaque glow that found you staring into a complete bliss and a daydream you could not stop being hypnotised by.

The wings dragged on the floor they were so big. Angels flying in cars, angels sitting on the bus on the way to work. Sitting on top of the train in mid-air as birds and airplanes fly on level 3000, so no one crashes and bumps into each other.

I really needed a haircut, and I don’t mean my hair on my head, I needed a wing cut because they just keep growing. People here said haircut and it still made me laugh. After I died, I thought I just went to sleep but nope here I am as an angel in training.

It's been about 2 months and I still need my angel license. For now, I'm just depending on my boyfriend for a lift all the time only because I miss him. I could fly but I told him I don’t like all the heights. Flying at the highest speed still freaks me out I feel like the blur you see when everything goes past is too fast on the train is like I'm in back to the future or something.

Laura said her boyfriend proposed to her up there I think I would fall back to earth if Jason did that to me. Sometimes I feel like I can translate what the birds are saying to each other as they chirp and speed past going back to their families. I’m so thankful there is an afterlife and how much this life feels like I am free from all the chains of what life does to you.

If I look at the time and it's not an angel number, it means that someone on earth is thinking about you. I’m sure someone is dwelling on me too much, just live your life. I am completely fine if they could see the peace I have now as I swoop and sway between cars and bicycles and that guy with the long hair who never has a shower just swims in the sea and comes up to float on his skateboard underneath me.

Everyone has over five million followers on Instagram, and I can’t even get a (wingbox) back. We don’t have wifi up here. You either have (wingbox) or nothing and if you want to send a postcard home as some angels have it disintegrates because you have broken the rules. Halo headquarters are hot on rule-breakers and anyone disobeying the law to speak to humans again.

Many realms have tried to contact us and get to us, but we have enough work to do, saving lives connecting people together, and making sure miracle babies are born. We do it all people don’t know. Money doesn’t exist up here people don’t fight, and I would not trade it for the world.

We have fallen angels and they can’t fly that high, but they did it to themselves. Karma is real and people queue up to speak to others at the karma café. It’s sad but one day they must learn that their own yin and yang they had inside them the whole time is the key to everything. If only they would look within and meditate on the feeling of their wings.

I never thought I would be an angel of the highest order and my human life was not completely perfect, but neither was Jason’s and together we have created a life that I hope our baby angels will be proud of. We will have to make sure their wings look perfect. Tonight we're going to an outdoor cinema you can sit on clouds and get cloud-coated popcorn with candy-floss drinks and cotton candy puffs with googly eyes on them.

Jason said we can watch a film if I get through all my work today so I can be the angel that saves another life for another day because we all need an angel today tomorrow and forever.

In slow motion, I flew like a feather and a hallucination all in one I can spin so high and come back almost to the point that you have seen a montage of moments completely cross your eyes in minutes. My heart beats a thousand times faster than when you're on a rollercoaster. For anyone watching it's confusing the colors that swish to the glitter spinning more than you're washing on a fast spin. All the angels have this ability that they take for granted and would not be all the same if they did not have the training I was given. People are kind and every day is sunny we don’t have any rain here.

I want to travel down the cloudy slope to angel heaven but to go your halo must start glowing first. Mine is only half visible. Well, I must get ready for tonight I'm so excited to dress up still need to cut holes in my dress so that my wings can fit through the other side. If Jason proposes tonight, I hope he gets a cloud to bend on one knee, but for now, I will have to thank my angel wings that I’m flying higher than what I thought was just a plain boring sky.

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Jessica Trias

Journal Loving, Vision board dreaming, creative writer. I have written 3 books. One about a guardian angel, A mermaid in the Maldives, and a book about my near-death experience and other people's awakenings. My book will be out soon in 2022

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.