Fiction logo

winding roads

..

By ShutedyPublished 13 days ago 3 min read

There’s something about winding roads that’s always drawn me in. They promise adventure, a sense of the unknown, and the thrill of discovery. My love affair with these twisting paths began during a summer road trip I took a few years back. It was a time when I needed to get away, to clear my head and find some perspective.

I packed my old, trusty car with the essentials—snacks, a pile of mismatched CDs, and a map that I barely glanced at. I had no fixed destination, just a vague idea of heading west to see where the road would take me. As I left the city behind, the landscape began to change, the straight highways giving way to narrow, winding roads that cut through rolling hills and dense forests.

On the third day of my journey, I found myself on a particularly serpentine road that seemed to stretch endlessly through a picturesque countryside. The trees formed a lush green canopy overhead, dappling the sunlight onto the asphalt. Each bend revealed something new—a quaint farmhouse, a field of wildflowers, a bubbling stream. It was the kind of place where time seemed to slow down, and the worries of everyday life melted away.

I drove with the windows down, letting the fresh air fill the car, my fingers tapping to the beat of an old rock song. As I rounded a sharp curve, I spotted a small sign that read “Maplewood Inn – 5 Miles Ahead.” Feeling a bit weary, I decided to check it out.

The inn was a charming, rustic place, nestled in a valley surrounded by towering maple trees. The owner, an elderly woman named Eleanor, greeted me with a warm smile. She had a way of making you feel instantly at home. After checking in, I took a walk around the property. There was a small pond with a wooden dock, where a few ducks lazily floated. Nearby, a swing hung from an old oak tree, swaying gently in the breeze.

That evening, I sat on the porch, sipping lemonade and watching the sun set behind the hills. The sky transformed into a canvas of oranges, pinks, and purples. It was one of those perfect moments that felt almost surreal in its beauty. Eleanor joined me, and we struck up a conversation about the inn’s history. She told me how it had been in her family for generations, a labor of love that she continued to maintain.

“There’s something magical about these roads,” she said, her eyes twinkling with a mix of nostalgia and wisdom. “They have a way of leading you to where you need to be, even if you don’t realize it at the time.”

I stayed at the Maplewood Inn for a few days, each day exploring the surrounding area. The winding roads took me to hidden gems—a secluded waterfall, a tiny bookstore filled with rare finds, a bakery with the best apple pie I’d ever tasted. Each new discovery felt like a gift, a reminder of the beauty that exists when you take the time to wander.

On my last day, as I was getting ready to leave, Eleanor handed me a small, handmade journal. “To record your adventures,” she said with a wink. I thanked her, feeling a pang of sadness at the thought of leaving this little haven.

As I drove away, I glanced in the rearview mirror, watching the inn disappear from sight. The road ahead twisted and turned, and I felt a sense of excitement for whatever lay beyond the next bend. The winding roads had given me more than just a scenic route; they had given me a renewed sense of wonder and a reminder that sometimes, the journey is just as important as the destination.

Years later, that road trip remains one of my fondest memories. Whenever life feels too predictable, I think back to those winding roads and the lessons they taught me. They remind me to embrace the unexpected, to seek out new experiences, and to always keep an open heart to the adventures that lie just around the corner.

Adventure

About the Creator

Shutedy

Write poetry that uses beautiful and creative language and rhythm.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    ShutedyWritten by Shutedy

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.