Fiction logo

the night butterfly woman

..

By ShutedyPublished 17 days ago 3 min read

In the small, sleepy town of Willow Creek, there was a legend that everyone knew but no one really believed. It was the tale of the Night Butterfly Woman, a mysterious figure who appeared only on moonlit nights, said to have the power to heal hearts and mend broken spirits. As kids, we’d whisper about her during sleepovers, imagining what she looked like and what it would be like to meet her. But as we grew up, the story faded into the background, becoming just another piece of folklore that painted our town wi

It was a particularly balmy summer evening when I found myself wandering the winding paths of Willow Creek. Life had been throwing curveballs at me lately—a job I wasn’t passionate about, a relationship that had ended badly, and a general sense of being lost. I needed some fresh air, a break from the constant hum of thou

I found myself at the edge of the old forest, where the legend said the Night Butterfly Woman was most often seen. The moon was full and bright, casting a silvery glow over everything. Without thinking much about it, I stepped into the forest, the coolness of the trees offering a welcome respite from the h

As I walked deeper, the sound of the town faded away, replaced by the gentle rustle of leaves and the distant hoot of an owl. I reached a small clearing and sat down on a fallen log, taking a deep breath. The air was thick with the scent of eart

Suddenly, I noticed a faint, glowing light flickering among the trees. It wasn’t like the harsh beam of a flashlight but more like the gentle glow of fireflies. Intrigued, I followed the light, my heart beating a little faster with eac

And then I saw her. She was standing in the center of a small glade, surrounded by what seemed like hundreds of butterflies, their wings glowing softly in the moonlight. She was beautiful, with long flowing hair and a dress that seemed to shimmer and blend with the night. Her eyes were kind and wise, filled with a depth that made me feel like she could see right thro

“Welcome,” she said, her voice as soothing as a lullaby. “You’

I nodded, unable to find the words. She gestured for me to sit on a nearby rock, and I did, feeling a s

“What troubles you?” she asked, h

I found myself pouring out everything—my fears, my doubts, my heartache. She listened patiently, her expression soft and understanding. When I finished, she reached out and ge

“Life has a way of testing us,” she said softly. “But remember, every challenge is an opportunity

The butterflies around her began to dance, their wings creating a mesmerizing pattern in the air. She closed her eyes, and I felt a warmth spread through me, as if the butterflies were carrying away my pain and replacing it with

“Embrace the night,” she whispered. “For it is in the darkness that

I stayed there for what felt like hours, basking in the tranquility of the glade and the gentle presence of the Night Butterfly Woman. When I finally stood to leave, she smiled

“Keep this,” she said. “As a reminder that you are never alone, and that you have the strength to overcome whatever life throws yo

I thanked her and made my way back through the forest, the wooden butterfly clutched tightly in my hand. As I stepped out into the open, the first light of dawn was breaking on the horizon. I felt different—l

The legend of the Night Butterfly Woman had always been just that to me—a legend. But now, I knew there was truth in the stories. She was real, and her magic was the kind that touched

Back in Willow Creek, life continued as usual, but I carried the memory of that night with me. Whenever things got tough, I’d hold the wooden butterfly and remember her words, finding strength and comfort in the knowledge that magic truly exists, sometimes hidden in th

Mystery

About the Creator

Shutedy

Write poetry that uses beautiful and creative language and rhythm.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    ShutedyWritten by Shutedy

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.