Fiction logo

WillyNillyness

Fly By the Seat of Your Pants + Loosey Goosey = Really Rare Random Acts of True Organization

By Rick BeneteauPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
1
A WillyNilly Leader

Do you know people who, when in a leadership position, fit the description in my sub-title? I certainly do and although I like most of them, I simply canNOT work with them! One of my pet peeves is having someone in a leadership position who simply leads by WillyNillyness. Could I be describing your boss?

I'm a Virgo and although certainly less than perfect, this wannabe-perfectionist is a pretty darned good project manager. My methodology is primarily working with a well-researched, planned-out task list - either written, typed or even embedded in my busy brain. Trying to leave little to chance, and stopping short of being a Plan B kinda guy (what does having an outa-the-gate Plan B say about your A Plan?), I often reverse engineer a lot of things and go so far as to write the detailed sales letter before my product/service is even created, as crazy as that may seem to you (works magically when it comes to features and benefits)!

Does this mean I am considered anal? Perhaps, but I also believe in having fun and keeping the mood light, injecting humor into every work situation I’ve ever been involved in. Compassion and kindness have always been foundational in all my relationships.

Not to pat myself on the back (well, maybe a little) but I believe almost everyone I have ever worked with would tell you they enjoyed the Willynillyless ride. I can tell you this, I certainly did!

WillyNillyness? NO, NEVER, EVER!

Microfiction
1

About the Creator

Rick Beneteau

Former 80’s happening songwriter when divorced turned Internet marketing ‘guru’ on the-then-brand-new Internet who in 2006 became co-founder of a humanitarian non-profit who then came full circle back to music – for film and television.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen6 months ago

    Funny, for all the poor willynillyers, please make up your minds and lead or step down. Make a decision, good or bad, better good though,

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.