Fiction logo

Who's the Doc Here?

Call Me Maybe

By Shirley BelkPublished 14 days ago 2 min read
16
Who's the Doc Here???

Prompt from ViM Facebook group: "Write as if in your journal, but from the point of view of your DOCTOR"

MD Note (Journal entry)

Well, she came in again to see me today. You know the one, the one that was supposed to be here two months ago. I told you she didn't like me! Her children nag her until she finally makes the appointment, by the way. Otherwise, I do believe she would stay away.

And when she does get here, she wants to tell me, the doctor, what she wants to happen. I will admit, most of the time she knows what's she's talking about, but it wouldn't hurt if she were to ask me for my opinion once in a while.

This time she had lost a few pounds, good for her! Her blood pressure has been fine...hasn't been high since she and her husband parted ways. She is still refusing the mammogram, though. Stubborn old woman, but I do have to admit that recent studies for women her age suggest, " there isn't enough evidence of the potential risks and benefits of mammography on which to base a recommendation."*

She also asked for a Vitamin D lab check because she said she had been feeling a little fatigued of late...sure enough, it was critically low...easy fix. (I threw in a thyroid test just because I could.)

She tells me she's planting a vegetable garden with the help of her sons. That will get her more sunshine to help with the Vitamin D deficiency.

Her A1C (blood sugar level average over the last three months) is borderline. And so is her fasting blood glucose. But she tells me those numbers are her baseline. And sure enough, when I look at those numbers, she's correct again. She hasn't budged from borderline in the last twenty-five years.

All she really needs me for is to write her prescription for her fibromyalgia medicine. That pain is no joke. Wish I could do more, but I really can't.

I didn't even tell her when to come see me next. She already knows!!

The perfect song ...

####################################################

*https://www.health.harvard.edu/screening-tests-for-women/should-you-still-have-mammograms-after-age-75#:~:text=The%20current%20U.S.%20Preventive%20Services%20Task%20Force%20%28USPSTF%29,of%20mammography%20on%20which%20to%20base%20a%20recommendation.

####################################################

Disclaimer:

Please note that I am not advocating medical advice of any sorts. Please follow your educated research and obtain advice from your medical professional before making any decisions about your own health.

HumorMicrofictionVocalSarcasmFunny
16

About the Creator

Shirley Belk

Mother, Nana, Sister, Cousin, & Aunt who recently retired. RN (Nursing Instructor) who loves to write stories to heal herself and reflect on all the silver linings she has been blessed with

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Staringale3 days ago

    First if all - I must say the title was definitely a clickbait. The post was equally compelling. I liked it.

  • Murali13 days ago

    You have always been the best caretaker❤️. Sometimes it's hard to say how patient really are. Maybe they're right about something after all.

  • Hahahahhahahaha now I wonder who is the doctor because she seems to know better than the actual doctor 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 Loved your story!

  • Gloria Penelope14 days ago

    Great story, well done!

  • Novel Allen14 days ago

    I just read a study saying docs need to listen to patients and combine it with their diagnosis decision. Very true, Many things are changing, we better keep up. I need to het back the FB vibe. Thanks for pointing out this prompt.

  • Caroline Craven14 days ago

    Well done Shirley. Great one!

  • Mark Gagnon14 days ago

    Even with all the big Latin words the doctor isn't always the smartest person in the room. Well done, Shirley!

  • Lamar Wiggins14 days ago

    Haha, love the subtitle. It and the song both work well here. Can't imagine what my doc really thinks of me, lol. Nice entry, Shirley. It's a great example for anyone else wanting to enter.

  • John Cox14 days ago

    Just guessing here, but I’m your really writing about you. As my wife often says, we need to be invested in our medical care, if we want to get the care we really need!

  • Heather Hubler14 days ago

    LOL, hey, she knows what she knows :) This was great!

  • She knows everything! Well written! Great job!

  • Jay Kantor14 days ago

    So — What’s up Doc —

  • Mother Combs14 days ago

    Perfect!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.