Fiction logo

Where the Purple Grass Grows

And no flowers bloom

By Julie LacksonenPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
12
https://www.pinterest.com/pin/503910645807449547/

There’s a planet on which no flowers bloom. How do I know this? Because I’ve seen it in my dreams. Every night for the past three weeks, I have seen it. There are strange trees with blue leaves, and the grass is purple, but those are the only visible vibrant colors. The bare ground and the mountains are gray. Even the water and clouds are gray.

In my dream, I’m standing atop a hill, holding someone’s hand, but I don’t see who it is. I only feel a small hand in mine. I have no family and no girlfriend, so I don’t know who it could be.

I have wondered a hundred times why I’m having such a dream. I work at The Grand Canyon Visitor’s Center. Every day, I see one of the most breath-taking places on Earth, and yet my mind conjures up a rather barren scene?

Tonight, I promise myself, I’m going to look at the person whose hand I’m holding. I brush my teeth and strip down to my boxers. Because I’m excited, my adrenaline makes it difficult to calm down. I tell myself, Breath, John, breath. I’m drifting away and finally, I’m on the hill again. I feel the hand squeeze mine, presumably an invitation to look. I turn my head and gasp, but I don’t hear anything.

She is not of Earth, yet gazing into her large, purple eyes, I experience the most peaceful love I have ever known.

She speaks, not with words, but projected directly into my mind. John, my name is Shahlara. I have come to take you to this place. Your planet is in grave danger. Like my original home world, life on Earth will likely to be wiped out by being called Fardols. They will arrive in months. Their technology is vastly superior, even to ours, and we were centuries beyond you. All our survivors are female, the males having stayed to fight. We have come here to choose male life mates so that both of our races may survive together. We have determined you to be genetically compatible.

But why me? I ask into her mind. I’m a nobody.

As Shahlara smiles, the blue spots on her skin and her white hair glow. I observed you from your dreams. You have honesty, love, and compassion. I find you appealing. She lowers her eyes and continues, If you find me unattractive or if you are too afraid to leave, I will erase all memory of me and find another.

No! my mind screams. I try to calm my nerves, wondering how I can work myself into a frenzy in a dream. I would be honored to accept your invitation. But, how? When?

Our ship is cloaked in orbit. I will give you two days. You may bring a total of 300 of your pounds, including your weight. We will meet at this place. She puts an image in my mind of Northern Arizona University and then zooms in on the football field. She conveys the exact time in the morning and then says, Tell no one.

I squeeze her hand and speak gently to her, Shahlara, I can’t wait to meet you.

The next day, I call in sick, withdraw a bunch of money from the bank, and head to Flagstaff. I spend the drive time choosing what to bring.

I check into a fancy hotel and then head to a surplus store to buy as much survival gear as I can carry.

That night, I binge-watch my favorite movies and order from a fine dining establishment, knowing my money will soon be of no use.

The next day, I visit a nursery and purchase seeds for all my favorite vegetables and flowers, hoping they will be viable on my new planet.

Another night of splurging, and I’m ready to go.

The alarm I set wakes me up early. I drive to NAU - not caring about parking illegally - and rush to the football arena. I throw my hiking backpack over the chain link fence and proceed to climb it. I see a security guard running and shouting something incoherent in my direction. He stops in mid-step. Shahlara appears out of nowhere with a weapon in hand. She's even more beautiful in person.

Have no fear, she continues to speak in my mind. He is merely stunned. Quickly, this way.

She presses a button on her hand-held device and a shuttle craft becomes visible, covering half the field. She takes my hand, and my heart skips a beat. Somehow, I know that wherever we go, we will be happy. There are many unknowns, but I am at peace with Shahlara.

I’m leaving a planet on which I found very little love for a planet on which no flowers bloom - for now.

Sci Fi
12

About the Creator

Julie Lacksonen

Julie has been a music teacher at a public school in Arizona since 1987. She enjoys writing, reading, walking, swimming, and spending time with family.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.