Fiction logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Where are you, Deliliah?

Misplaced With Time

By KodahPublished 4 months ago โ€ข 4 min read
7
Pinterest

Time is crucial. Believe me, I've been sitting here around long enough witnessing how quickly things change. Change has to be the scariest thing for a person. It is like a gust of wind that sweeps through one's soul, stirring up emotions and thoughts that were once dormant. I mean hey, I watched a little girl who admired my entertaining skills, grow up into a teenager who forgot about me and left me to die. Let me explain...

-----------------------------------------------------

50 Years Ago:

The old manor house stood solemnly on the hill, a relic of bygone days when wealth meant dignity and tradition. Inside, the heavy drapes muted the afternoon light as it filtered into the dusty study. Emma searched the room in vain for her favorite toy, the porcelain pony her grandmother had given her for her birthday.

Her pony was a link to the past, a childhood companion that grounded her in this imposing house. Now it too was gone, like so much else that once seemed permanent.

-----------------------------------------------------

40 Years Ago:

"Where are you, Deliliah?"

She asks me that at least 5 times a day. Hoping to find me one day, still persistent. I'm right there, can't she see me? I'm hiding under the table... Am I not visible enough? Or am I just being forgotten...

I used to be her favorite, the beloved companion that accompanied her on every adventure. My yarn mane was stroked countless times by her gentle hands as she drifted to sleep each night, her face nestled against my cloth body. How she loved to brush my painted coat and braid daisies into my tail. Oh, what fun we had together...

Now I feel like I failed her. What did I do to deserve this? I just wanted to be loved. Was that too much to ask for?

I watch her sleep, I watch her play, but can't re-watch the memory held hidden in my shadow where she used to admire me. Where she used to play with me, where she used to create memories with me....

I'm right here, Emma. I hope you can hear me, but I'm still wishing one day you will.

-----------------------------------------------------

30 Years ago:

I watch Emma storm into the room with agonizing pain.

She throws her bag and buries her face into her pillow.

Pure screams of terror are echoing in the depths of this room.

What is happening to Emma? Is she okay?

Emma I'm still up here if you need me!!

Can you hear me, Emma?

Emma?

EMMA?

Emma... you're bleeding. Are you okay?

You're scaring me Emma, what's wrong?

Why are you bleeding?

EMMA?

....

I watch Emma bleed, I watch her in pain. For once I'm not watching her in tears of joy, but in tears of maturity....

I watch Emma grab her old favourite toy she soon to love after giving up finding me.

I watch her every step, she uses it to wipe the blood... leaking.

Her vagina, bleeding out pure blood.

But what I'm now seeing, is a sight of change.

A change, into being a woman...

-----------------------------------------------------

20 Years ago:

I sit here, abandoned under her bedside table, as the last rays of sunlight stream through the bare window. Emma has grown up now and has abandoned the house with her family. I remember her giggles as she galloped me across these wooden floors, her smiles as she brushed my yarn mane. I was her most loyal, confidant, best friend.

Now the room echoes with silence. Cobwebs gather in the corners. Her perfume, once sweet and familiar, has faded from the air. I wait patiently under the table still, hoping to pull me out and say "Suprise!".

But I know in my heart of hearts that she is gone. Gone forever. My girl has moved on. I will cherish the memories we made, in this house, in this room.

And I will wait faithfully, here under her bedside table. Waiting for her to come back....

-----------------------------------------------------

10 years ago:

Voices?

Who was that?

Is that Emma...

Coming back for me?

I knew she would come back one day!

Oh~ Teenagers...

What are they doing here?

Why are they looking at all of us like that...

There's so many of them...

Get out!

HEY PUT ME DOWN!!

You put me down now!

Ouch.

Don't throw me to the ground....

Wait.

What is that...

HEY!

WHAT ARE YOU DOING...?

Oh, I'm forgetting the voice inside of me can only be heard by the little girl who loved me....

The walls... the bed, the closet, the room. The toys. We are surrounded by a hostile of fire.

Well, there's nothing I can do now but die....

And so, I sit here still, an antique of simpler times. Dust and smoke gather on my eyes that once shone with joy. My cotton heart aches for the girl I used to know, even as it accepts that she may never return.

She never came back for me...

I hold out hope that one day she'll find me here amidst the clutter and remember. Until then, I will wait patiently in the half-light of the flame, keeping company with the memories we made...

The fire spread hungrily, greedily devouring all in its path. The teenagers fled into the night; their laughter now tinged with entertainment.

I heard a final sigh coming from the house, the fire is spreading everywhere mourning all that it had lost, before collapsing into a pile of ash and embers.

I'm burning....

I burn up in flames, forgotten I am now, but lye within the fate that serves a thread of life~

It's time for a new reincarnation of life to finally feel loved again.

~~

Authors Notes:

Hope you enjoyed my story!!

I used themes of abandonment, rebirth and nostalgia!

I also identified the bloody period scene to symbolize how the little girl inside of her is killed, and she is now getting older.

MysteryLoveHistoricalCONTENT WARNINGClassical
7

About the Creator

Kodah

- Storyteller, Love/Romance, Poetry, Dark, Mental health, Psychological, Surreal, Nature, Mythical

~๐“ข๐“ฝ๐“ธ๐“ป๐“ฒ๐“ฎ๐“ผ ๐“ฌ๐“ช๐“ท ๐“ซ๐“ฎ ๐“ช ๐“ต๐“ฒ๐“ฝ๐“ฝ๐“ต๐“ฎ ๐“ญ๐“ฎ๐“ฎ๐“น~

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran4 months ago

    Oh no, Delilah! ๐Ÿฅบ I thought she'd only be forgotten but didn't expect her to go down in flames. That's so sad ๐Ÿฅบ Loved your story!

  • Carrie 4 months ago

    Interesting story!! Loved how you interpreted the themes! โค๏ธ

  • Caroline Craven4 months ago

    I really love your writing style. Great story.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.