Fiction logo

When Three Worlds Collided

The Journal Entries Of A Jane Doe

By Chrissy BarnhillPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
2
When Three Worlds Collided
Photo by Alec Favale on Unsplash

Journal Entry Number One:

We've been in this bunker for two days now. I'm not sure what's going on above us yet. The people say it's radiation ash poisoning from all of the nuclear bombs that were unintentionally detonated in the middle of the night. The sirens filled our ears and we ran underground. There’s light down here. And food. We have an old citizens band radio to speak to other survivors. We have been able to contact a few others like ourselves. Father will go up top in a few days to check it out.

Journal Entry Number Two:

Father had this bunker built before my brother and I were born to prepare for a situation such as this. People he knew and trusted called him crazy. These same people tried to join us down here but we only have enough room and oxygen for my brother, me, Mother and Father. Father was saddened by the fact that we couldn't help the others. We can still hear bombs going off on the surface.

We are all safe and as content as we can be. For now.

Journal Entry Number Three:

The booms and shaking have finally stopped. Father is preparing to exit the bunker in the next few days. Or nights. It all just blends together anymore. The tensions down here have been high lately. Too much time spent together I guess. We are all worried and fearful. What, if anything, has happened to our world? We think an earthquake bigger than what is normal has occurred. We are beginning to see cracks in our walls that have been built into the ground. Our bunker has three rooms. A living room and kitchen combination area; a bedroom with two beds for my brother and me, and a bed for Mother and Father; and a bathroom that has running water. Father designed a piping system that runs from under our house to the bunker. Father was an architect before the bombs started going off.

Journal Entry Number Four:

Father has been gone for several days now. Or it could be just mere hours, we are not so sure of much of anything anymore. We just know that he has not returned as of yet. My brother wants to go up top to look for him. Mother says to wait for Fathers return. "He will be back!", she tells him. My brother fears something has happened to Father. I fear we are all going stir crazy…

Journal Entry Number Five:

It has been several weeks now since my father exited our bunker. My mother and my brother are preparing us to go in search of him. We have tried to contact others, but to no avail. The cb radio is dying. And the water supply will soon run out. We have oxygen tanks we will take with us when we exit, but we only have a few days of use with those. Father gave me a heart shaped locket with a picture of us all inside of it in case he never returned or we got separated from each other, so I will never forget my family. I will always wear it around my neck.

Journal Entry Number Six:

We are preparing to exit the bunker today. Our oxygen masks are on our faces and the oxygen tanks on our backs. We have packed enough food and water to last for several days. It will be sad to leave this new home we have built for ourselves but we are all worried something has happened to Father so we must go off in search of him.

Journal Entry Number Seven:

It has been a long day. We are all settling down to rest and sleep for the night. No sign of Father as of yet. We walked about twenty miles north of our bunker. Mother says tomorrow we will head east. The trees are bare of their leaves. The ground is full of ash and soot. The air, I fear, will still be unbreathable for many days to come. There is a beautiful light in the sky that was never there until now, though. As soon as we find Father we intend to investigate.

Journal Entry Number Eight:

We are soon to be heading east in search of Father some more. The lights in the sky seem to be getting brighter. And stronger. They are beginning to resemble oceanic waves of light...beautiful colors...

Journal Entry Number Nine:

We have settled in for the night. It is night, we think. The waves of light seem to have blocked out the sun, and yet the stars still peak through every now and then. Still no sign of Father. We have travelled as far as fifteen miles today. Mother says that we need a little more time to rest tonight. Tomorrow we start going south. The lights are stronger towards the south.

Journal Entry Number Ten:

We've started walking south today. The trees this way have more color to them, but brighter than they were before the bombs went off. And different colors than mere trees on earth had. Blueish green colors. The leaves kind of blend in with the trees as well but still have a distinct shape to them. And there is grass yet there is no grass. There are patches in the earth with little tusks of grass growing up with a reddish sort of hue. It is kind of beautiful. The waves of lights in the sky are getting more prominent. Like the earth turned upside down and the ocean is the sky and the sky's the ocean without the water. Mother keeps looking up, more mesmerized by these lights each time. My brother has gone quiet. That is unusual for him. I am worried these lights are affecting us in negative ways.

Journal Entry Number Eleven:

Mother says we have to keep walking south. I think she is hypnotized by the lights. My brother has a dazed look on his face. He hasn't spoken a word in almost a day. We settled in for the night last night. Still no sign of Father. I keep telling her maybe we should head back to the bunker. I'm worried we are running low on oxygen. Our food and water sources are almost depleted. Mother and my brother don't seem to want to eat; they barely sleep. We just keep walking south. The waves of light are getting stronger. I fear for them but I don't say anything. We just keep walking...

Journal Entry Number Twelve:

It is day number six of our trek now. We are still walking south. Mother claims if we stop we will never find Father. She thinks he is where the lights end. We haven't stopped to sleep or eat in two days. Her and my brother don't even act like themselves anymore. Their eyes are glazed over and their faces are pale, but she insists we keep going. The lights are even more beautiful. Almost ethereal. And the waves are not of this world. We are beginning to slowly start to see where the lights began. It is quite beautiful!

Journal Entry Number Thirteen:

We have come upon an opening where the waves of light flow out of. Mother has a new nervous energy about her, none like I have ever seen before. We are going to investigate what is under the ground where the lights flow. It is some kind of a tunnel. We can see Father at the end of this tunnel. He is here! We have found him at last! Oh, I am so happy. We can finally rest. He says he has something to show us. Some new friends to meet. He has the same glazed over look in his eyes as well. These friends though, they are not ordinary. They don't look like us. They seem more iridescent. Father says they are safe. He says they are here to take care of us. That Mars and Jupiter collided with Earth and that the beings from Mars tried to kill us earthlings so these iridescent beings from Jupiter are here to protect what is left of our world. That when we heard bombs detonating it was really our three worlds colliding; we were never in danger of radiation poisoning.

Journal Entry Number Fourteen:

I miss my old life. I miss my home. Mother and Father don't seem like themselves anymore. My brother is paler than usual. He still has a glazed look in his eyes. I still keep the locket Father gave me around my neck. The unearthly beings want to take us out of this tunnel. Mother and Father beg me to follow them. I am scared but I will go. I should eat but I don't feel hungry anymore. Father is excited to be leaving this tunnel soon. He tells me all will be well. I am not so sure it will be.

Journal Entry Number Fifteen:

We are leaving this underground tunnel. The beings protecting us have a safer place for us to go. A place they say is like no place we have ever witnessed before with our own eyes but we have to drift into a deep sleep. We are being led to some pods. My body is beginning to feel as if I am no longer a part of it. I wonder if this is how my brother, Mother and Father felt. There is some kind of gas pouring into my pod. I am feeling very sleepy. My eyelids are getting very heavy. This will be my last entry into my journal for a while. I wonder what it will be like when we reach our destination? Father tells me I need to rest for our long journey ahead. A bad feeling makes my stomach flutter with anticipation. I am trying not to worry, to just be calm and allow the gas to overtake my senses. If anyone ever finds this journal please search for us. I have to sleep now.

The End

CB 06/14/2021

Sci Fi
2

About the Creator

Chrissy Barnhill

Of In @ com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.