Fiction logo

When Jisoo met her crush

Will she confess or go on pretending

By Fiction 'Ai' WriterPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
When Jisoo met her crush
Photo by Cam Ferland on Unsplash

It was a normal day for Jihoon, as normal as anything could be, he woke up at seven in the morning and had to leave home by eleven in order to make it on time to school. He didn’t have much of anything to do in the house besides cleaning things and cooking food; which was all he ever did.
So while his parents were out he was stuck doing his own thing, he took care of the dog that was in their yard until eight, so he wasn’t too tired when he went inside and started making dinner.
That all changed though when he heard footsteps approaching outside their house. When the door swung open he couldn’t believe what his eyes were seeing, there stood Jinyoung in his kitchen, a bright smile on his face. “Hey, I made breakfast! Hope you like eggs.” The man said before handing him a plate with two pieces of toast on it.
Jihoon blinked slowly, then looked back at him again, still not believing what he was seeing. He was about to ask who this guy was but before he could he felt a small tug at the hem of his shirt.
“You must be Jihoon. It’s nice to meet you.” Jisoo smiled brightly, reaching his hand out to shake. Jihoon stared at her hand for a few moments, taking a moment to process everything that was going on, then he reached out and shook her hand. “Ya, why are your hands so dirty? Why are you wearing the same clothes every day? And why are you standing in my doorway? Did you break into our house?” Jihoon asked as he walked over to the sink and washed his hands.
“No, no, I came here yesterday. My mom told me where to go. I promise I didn’t break in. I was just running errands and I forgot my phone because it ran out of battery. You see my dad is in the hospital and we can’t get the number of his room number or even where exactly the hospital is, so my mom sent me here to ask your mom for help. I’m sorry if I worried you. I hope you don’t mind, I also made some breakfast. I hope you like eggs and toast, I thought you might need something to eat after that run. Sorry if the meal is a little messy but I only managed to cook it because the kitchen was already clean and well stocked.” Jisoo said sheepishly as she sat down on the couch beside Jihoon.

Jihoon shrugged, looking down at his plate. “I guess you’re right about the mess, I am pretty hungry but I wouldn’t be surprised if I find some eggshells or other gross bits on my plate when I look. It seems to happen a lot with me.” He muttered under his breath, not sure why Jisoo was sitting so close to him. “Uh, where should I put these, I’ll take them to the table first.” Jihoon asked as he pointed at the plates, his voice slightly raising.
“Oh, you can put it on the side, I don’t want it sitting there.” Jisoo laughed. She then proceeded to grab one more plate from the cupboard and handed it to him.
Jihoon nodded and took both plates and placed them carefully on the counter. “So, where are your parents right now? Do they live together?” He asked after he sat down at the other end of the couch.
Jisoo frowned as she looked away from him, her fingers playing with each other. “They aren’t really living together anymore, they kind of split up a few months ago. They live in the same apartment building, I think that’s how they met…” Her voice trailed off as she finished talking.
Jihoon looked at her curiously, wondering what exactly she meant by that last part of her sentence. His curiosity quickly got the better of him though, he wanted to know why she said that. “Are they okay?” He whispered, hoping not to startle her. She let out a loud laugh and shook her head.
“They’re perfectly fine, I would say. Mom and Dad are just a little bit different.” She smiled as she answered him. “Well, if they’re alright then that’s good enough for me, I think they seem pretty cool.” Jihoon replied happily. Then he noticed her looking at him with wide eyes and immediately regretted speaking. “Ah, nevermind, I shouldn’t have said that.”
When she saw his face, she broke out into a huge grin, her eyes shining. “Thank you, Jihoon hyung.” She said softly, almost inaudibly, causing Jihoon to blush a little.

Jisoo’s sudden change in expression confused him, but Jihoon pushed that thought aside for later as he looked at her once more. “Why do you call me hyung?” .... She said without thinking, "I've always had a crush on you".

Young Adult
Like

About the Creator

Fiction 'Ai' Writer

An amateur fiction writer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.