Fiction logo

When I was at school

When I was in junior high, I had to run five or six miles to the only high school in town.

By Eamonn DaviesPublished 2 years ago 4 min read

When I was in junior high , I had to run five or six miles to the only high school in town . At that time , the school conditions were poor and the dormitory was not enough . The few beds allocated to my class were reserved for students that were farther away . I had to ride a bicycle to and from school every day . At that time , there were night self-study , and it was already dark when school was over . After night self-study , every time is with a few good relationships between the companion home , so all the way will not feel boring , but not afraid . That night self-study , the monitor to the teacher there to tell me self-study class trouble , after school I was called to the office a good education . Later , when I came out from the head teacher , the former classmates that often go home to each other had already disappeared . Left school by bike , just rode a mile road , bike unexpectedly broke the chain , had to push to go home . When I passed liuzhuang , the village was dark , and there were no street lamps , but occasionally one or two were still on . After Liuzhuang , it is not far from our village , probably less than a kilometer away . Liuzhuang was a crossroad , and on the other side of the road was a field of wheat that stretched as far as the eye could see . To the northeast of the field there was a large empty space , where was a graveyard . There were no pedestrians on the road , and the half moon in the sky had been blocked by a cloud , which plunged into darkness all around . I was alone on the road back to the village , pushing my bike . In order to emboldened myself , I sang two songs : brother you go west , little sister I really difficult to stay . Ha ha ! Don't laugh at me . Back then it was on every street and every home to a tape recorder . Sing two sentences even their own smile , alas ! I don't have a good voice . I can't sing like that . Well , we were good at whistling , . So I started whistling again . As he walked , a figure appeared ahead of him . Finally , I thought , I pushed my bike and ran after the figure in front of me . Apart from not far , see also slowly become clear . Dressed in white , with long plaits hanging down her waist , she must be a young woman . Here is not far from his village , and I should be in the same village ! "Hey , that guy in front ! Wait for me ! " . I shouted as I ran pushing my bike . The front did not answer , the man seemed not to hear the same , the head did not return to continue to walk . Oh By the way , he is a girl's family , I am a young man , and it is late at night , I am afraid they feel inconvenient ! I kept silent and followed her . Approaching the corner of the village , the white shadow in front of me disappeared in a blink of an eye ! Beside the road was a deserted graveyard . When I passed there , a strange sight appeared in front of me , high walls , magnificent steps , what a rich man's big house ! " I've only seen this kind of big house on TV , but this is what age , how can there be a landlord ? " . I wondered . When I got to the gate , I could hear the courtyard bustling with people , men and women , old and young . It was as if the house was having a happy event . " Whose house is this ? So hot ! Go in and see ." . I dropped my bike in bewilderment and pedaled up the steps . Just as he reached the door and was about to lift his legs out into the yard , a cold air came through the door , mixed with a strange smell I could not tell . I couldn't help but hit a shiver , at the same time found that the door of the house is black . I suddenly woke up and recalled the ghost stories my grandfather had told me . Generally , only the door of the dark house was painted black . Thinking of this , I quickly backed back , and at this time , I had just thrown their own bicycle trip . When I got up to help my bike , the big house in the corner of my eyes was gone . I looked carefully and saw a large graveyard in front of me . When did you go down to the graveyard ? I pushed my bike back onto the road . But I wonder , after all that time , it's . Why is this still liuzhuang crossroads ah . Finally safe back home , grandpa is sitting in the room smoking , waiting for me to lock the door after coming home . I gave grandpa a detailed account of what I had just seen . Grandpa filled a pot of smoke , lit it , took two strong puffs , and said : " My God ! It's a good thing you didn't go in . There used to be a landowner's family buried there . It's said to be a good place for feng shui . " . It hasn't happened to .

Short Story

About the Creator

Eamonn Davies

An avid lover of stories about ghosts and legends, I love the thrill of having my bones tingle! I hope you enjoy my story.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Eamonn DaviesWritten by Eamonn Davies

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.