Fiction logo

What Really Happened

Chapter 1

By Kayla Dawn HanzenPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
What Really Happened
Photo by Liam Truong on Unsplash

“Go to the library now!”

“What’s going on?” I ask.

“Don’t ask questions, just go!”

When I got to school that day, everything was destroyed. Fires everywhere, buildings turning to rubble, streets torn out of the ground, everyone running around. It’s all chaos. Not to mention the heat, it’s always been hot in San Francine, but today, it seems hotter than usual. Nobody seems to know where to go. I am definitely not going to the library.

People are running around like chickens without their heads. They keep bumping each other. The chaos is causing people to fall over and nobody will help them up. I thought the people here were better than that. But who am I to talk? I’m not even helping. I guess we are all too caught up to notice those around us. The only thing my ears can focus on is the screams and stomping feet as everyone is running around frantically. As I run to my destination, the streets are passing by very quickly. I am lucky to know this area, because I am running so fast the streets blur in my vision.

The library is on Main Street. Whatever is going on is going to happen on Main first. There will be more people and that’s where the officials are. It doesn’t seem like a good idea to have everyone gather at the library. Call me dumb or stupid or whatever, but I feel safer in the Haunted House at the edge of town. Some other people do too. It’s like half the population running to the edge of this small town.

When I got to the Haunted House, I jumped at the skeleton guarding the door. I thought I might get in trouble. Yeah, that’s definitely smart. Thinking about reputation before safety. I go in anyways and head to the second floor, while everyone else trails to the basement. That’s when I jump at the sound of my ringtone. I thought it was a part of the haunted house at first, but then I was not able to answer due to timing.

I’m a musician. I’ve played guitar, piano, viola, cello, and ukulele for years. I guess I’m alright, just not the best. My boyfriend always tells me “you play better than anything I’ve ever heard, besides your voice.” He is too sweet. Tyler Jesse Smith is one amazing fellow. He has dark brown hair that looks black except in sunlight. His eyes are so soft and blue. You can see his soul when you look in them. The best quality is his smile. He got his braces off four or five years ago, so his smile is perfect. He has always been able to smile and light up the whole room.

My phone goes off a second time and scares me just as much as the first. I still don’t answer it. The third time it rings, I answer. It’s Tyler.

“Hello?” I say.

“Kathy, where are you?” Tyler practically yells.

“The Haunted House.”

“Why? Everyone was told to go to the library. Kathy, they are counting us, making sure everyone is here. What should I tell them?” He says frantically.

“Tell them that almost half the people in San Francine came to the Haunted House. I’ll explain everything when you get here.”

“Okay. How did you know I would go to see you?” I can hear the smile behind his voice and I’m smiling too. It’s little moments like these that make everything worth it, even in the harshest times.

“Would you leave me to fend for myself while you are two miles away?” Tyler is protective over me. It’s adorably gross.

“I’ll be there in a few.”

Then the line is dead. I will find a place to hide until Tyler gets here because I am terrified. I did not think anything like this would happen.

“Have you heard anything about what is going on?”

“I was hoping you have.” Tyler replies.

“I’m in a haunted house, as far away as possible from everything that is going on. Does it seem like I would know what is going on?”

Tyler checks over me to make sure I am not hurt. There was an incident a couple years ago. I was playing softball and I hit a single, the ball went to the outfield. The opposing team tried to throw it to first base, but overthrew it, so I stole second. I thought that I wouldn’t make it, so I slid. They still overthrew it, so I stole third base. I slid there too. They overthrew it for that last time, or so I thought. I stole home plate. Another overthrow. I couldn’t complete this run without a few battle scars, so I slid and tore up my knee. It wasn’t even bad enough for a band aid, but I went to the emergency room anyways. I got twelve stitches. I guess sliding three times in a row isn’t good for your knees. It healed within two weeks. Now, I continue to play volleyball, softball, and basketball. Well, I did until the town fell apart.

When Tyler is done checking for minor scratches, he pulls me tight and holds me.

“I’m scared.” I whisper after a few minutes.

“I know. Me too, but whatever this is, we will get through it together. I promise.” He reassures me.

“You guys are too cute.”

“What the he-” Tyler and I say at the same time.

“It’s me. Mayor Susanna. You both look like you saw a ghost.”

“Well, you could have warned us you were here.” I say.

“I just got here. After Tyler told me that you and about half the population came here, I decided that I should come and check on everyone. Speaking of which, where are they?”

“Down in the basement.” I say.

“Let’s go.” She says.

“Kathy, do you mind explaining why you came here instead of the library?” Tyler asks.

“While we walk.”

We finally get to the basement. It’s dark, cold and damp down here. You can clearly see everyone standing in a circle and talking. Somebody says something offensive, so they burst out in an argument. I look at Tyler and he gives me the same look I give him. This can’t be good. We walk up to them, catch a little of what they are talking about. It doesn’t make sense though.

“I swear I saw them. Zombies crawling up walls and perching on roofs.”

“There are no Zombies. There are only attack ships. I saw them moving in.”

“You are both wrong. They are airplanes that have bombs on them. I saw them.”

“Nobody believes you, drunk.”

I look at Susanna begging her with my eyes to do something before someone gets hurt.

“Okay everyone.” The Mayor interrupts.

“Mayor Susanna!” The guy that called the other a drunk asks.

“We are not completely sure what is happening, but there are definitely no zombies. The ships would be too far away to do this much damage and the airplanes, there is no way they would get through our air force. We can’t jump to conclusions. Facts are going to be our best friend. We are doing everything we can to save your homes. The firemen are working as hard and fast as they can.”

“We should be helping.” Someone suggests.

“We should be, but we would get in their way. We would be more useful down here, where it’s safe.”

“What do we do in the meantime?”

“I’m sure Kathy can figure it out. I need to go to town hall to get some supplies and find out what is really going on. Tyler. Kathy. I need to talk to you”

“What are you doing? I’m sixteen. I can’t take care of them. Somebody else would be so much more fit for this job.”

“Kathy, I need you to stay calm. That’s how you keep them calm. Tyler is going with me so I’m not traveling alone. I would be a target since I’m the mayor.”

“I lead music, not people.” I storm off in a tantrum and Tyler follows.

“You have two minutes to pull yourself together!” Susanna yells.

“Tyler, please don’t leave me to do this alone.” I plead.

“You can do it, Kathy. I know you can. You are a remarkable woman and you can do anything.”

“I am not a leader.”

“Just think of every person here as one note in a symphony. Lead them like you would lead your symphony. I have faith in you.”

“What does that even mean? People make the symphony beautiful by playing their instruments. Not-”

“Tyler.” Susanna interrupts.

He gives me a quick kiss on the forehead and then he’s gone. I realize that could have been the last time we see each other. Stop overthinking Kathy. You have a group to lead.

Adventure

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    KDHWritten by Kayla Dawn Hanzen

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.