Fiction logo

What happened on 06/19/20

Chapter2: 09/07/17

By Dumbbruce_vocalPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
What happened on 06/19/20
Photo by Todd Aarnes on Unsplash

Jess takes a sip of coffee "So 9th grade was difficult to say the least. moving to a new area, finding new people to hang out with, and dealing with my parents trying to better their relationship came with its problems". Jess looks at the window seeing the raindrops hit the windowpane "It feels like yesterday that I stepped foot in that Godforsaken school.

Its 6AM and Jess mom comes knocks really hard before walking in seeing a sleeping Jessica with nothing but a thick comforter over her "Jessica wake up you don't want to be late for the first day of school?" Jess turns her body now facing away from her mom before groaning hoping that her mom leaves. Jessica's mom crosses her arms trying her best not to get irritated this early in the morning "Jessica please don't do this I know this is hard but, I promise it's not that bad. I checked out the school last week and everyone there is really nice besides, the school was nice enough to find you a friend that offered to show you around now please get up your dads taking you today.

Jess takes a deep breath before slowly getting up "Fine whatever makes you happy". She would slowly walk to the bathroom and does her usual brushing her teeth, washing her face, and putting her hair in a somewhat decent ponytail. After 30 minutes she goes to her room and digs through the many unpacked moving boxes before finding a decent long sleeve t-shirt, blue jeans, and her usual van slip-ons. She finishes getting ready and looks at herself in the mirror quietly judging herself before slowly heading to the kitchen.

Jess slowly walks into the kitchen and makes herself a bowl of cereal and sits down waiting for her dad to get ready and take her school. As Jess eats, she thinks about how things are going with her mom and dad. The last couple of months haven't been the best for their marriage well what am I saying it's never been good due to the fact my dad been in and out prison. I think the last time my dad went to prison for weapon and drug possession say he was holding for a friend but, I think it's bullshit. When my mom picked him up last time, she made clear next it's a divorce I never seen my dad plead so much it was actually kind of pathetic.

As Jess finishes her cereal, she hears a couple of stomps before seeing a 6ft, scruffy bearded, bald, brown eyes, sorry excuse of her father. Before he could say good morning Jessica hops out her chair leaving the bowl and walks to the truck. Her dad her dad doesn't say anything and gets and cleans the bowl for here and heads out to the truck. "You're really going to act like this early in the morning." Her dad asks her as he unlocks the car and they both get in. "What am supposed to do act like everything fine we both know how this going to work you're going to get fired on your first day and I'm going to get in trouble for taking out the anger I have for you on someone else so, please shut up Justin and drive." you can tell that here dad wants to snap at her but, he knows that's not going to anything but make things worse, so he starts the car and stays quiet for the whole ride to Jessica's school.

They eventually get to Jessica's school and pull into the front of the school "you want me to walk in with you?" Jess shakes her head no and gets out putting her backpack over her shoulder and heads straight to the office. she walks into the office and walks up to the women at the front desk "Excuse me I'm new here and I was told someone was going to show me around today." The lady looks up and adjust her glasses "It's too early for this sit down and I'll get to you when I get to you." Jess expression changes and does what she says all while mumbling under her breath. "I ought to slap those glasses off your face." The lady quickly looks up "What was that? Cause I'll makes sure you won't go anywhere and just stay here all day." Jess holds her tongue and shakes her head "nothing just nothing." The lady gives her a stern look " Mhmm thought so." After that Jess knew she was in for a treat.

"So, wait she yelled at you for asking a question." Laureen looks at Jessica with slight confusion. "Yeah, that wasn't the worst thing that happened that day but, one moment I have to use the restroom I've been holding it in since I got here." Laureen laughs a little "Yeah go ahead I'll be here." Jessica smiles before heading to the bathroom. Laureen looks down at her phone and scrolls through her Instagram seeing what everyone else is doing but as a couple minutes go by Jessicas phone starts going off in her purse like multiple people are trying to get a hold of her. Laureen isn't nosey so she just lets her phone and waits for Jessica gets back. As for Jessica she's not do so well as soon as she got to the bathroom she throws up in the toilet and starts pulling her hair in frustration. "What the fuck was I thinking something told me not to go." She goes to the sink and cleans herself trying to pull herself together before putting on a smile and walking back out.

Young Adult

About the Creator

Dumbbruce_vocal

Just an average person trying to make something of himself.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Dumbbruce_vocalWritten by Dumbbruce_vocal

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.