Fiction logo

What happened on 06/19/20

Part 1: 08/12/12

By Dumbbruce_vocalPublished 2 years ago 3 min read

It was raining like it always does in this town as I made my way to the coffee shop to meet up with one of my longtime friends Jess. I close my umbrella as I enter the Coffee shop and make my way to an open booth before texting Jess, letting her know I made it and I'm waiting for her. I finish the text and put my phone away and begin playing with my fingers nervously. I haven't seen Jess since middle school, and now we both start college next month. Me and her were damn near inseparable to the point we were like sisters. Yeah, we had our arguments, but what pair of friends don't.

I look at my phone again checking the time and my messages somewhat doubting she would come, but before I can process that thought I look up and see a girl that's about 5'9 with a black hoodie that's 2x her size, long dirty blond, grey sweatpants, and a pair of somewhat worn-out grey vans yell my name. "LAUREN"! I wave my hand over kind of embarrassed before she sees me and walks over.

She walks over to me and once she does, I get up and she exchanges the biggest hug any could ever give before letting go. " Oh my God it's been forever how have you been"? I take a minute to fix myself "I've been good, I just been busy with packing lately." Jess nods her head before doing a strange glance in confusion " wait you're not going to Black Forest ''? which is a community college a lot of people go to in my area. I shake my head " No, I got an offer to go to a school out of state in Rhode Island". Jess's expression on her face changes a little " oh". "Yeah, it was a full scholarship and I had to take it". Lauren notices a change in emotion in Jess and tries to change the subject " hey want to take a seat". Jess nods and they both take a seat.

" So, catch me up, how was high school I'm guessing Hay Farms was a lot better than Bullring"? Jess chuckles a little before holding the rest of it in thinking carefully on what she should say. "It was different to say the least; I had to make new friends and also deal with my parents' bullshit, but that's beside the point. I'm guessing the Bullring was all that they said it was".

"Not really, it was just rich kids showing off their parent's money, but it wasn't all bad. I was able to meet a lot of really cool people. I should introduce you to them sometime".

As Lauren talks Jess focuses on the TV that currently is showing a breaking news segment of a body that is currently showing a body being found. Lauren notices and turns her head before putting her hand over your mouth "Oh my God Alvarez" Jess shakes her head a little before looking back at Lauren. "Wait, you know him? Lauren turns around and grabs a tissue trying to the tears that already ran down her face. "Yeah, after you moved, I met him shortly after and we became really good friends. In fact, he's the reason on how I made it through high school. why do you ask"?

Jess calls over a waiter and orders two coffees before responding to Lauren. " Yeah, we ran into each other a couple of times; nothing serious just helped me out on occasions". Lauren blows her nose before letting curiosity get the best of her "wait what do you mean on occasions".

The waiter comes with the coffee Jess ordered before Lauren takes a deep breath "Do you have any plans for tonight? '' Lauren puts a little sugar and creamer into her coffee before looking up at Jess shaking her head no. Jess sips her coffee adding nothing to it "Ok we're gonna have to take a trip down memory lane back to 9th grade. I like to call that my adjustment period".

(Hey guys this was really fun to write, and I hope you had fun reading it. Check back soon for chapter 2 more is reveled. The one thing I ask is to support me by following me at Instagram at just_dumbbruce and my friend that helped edit this story at violent_dawn_6.)

Short Story

About the Creator

Dumbbruce_vocal

Just an average person trying to make something of himself.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Dumbbruce_vocalWritten by Dumbbruce_vocal

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.