Fiction logo

What Had Happened Was…

A Microfiction

By Real PoeticPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
What Had Happened Was…
Photo by Johnson Wang on Unsplash

Pencils were flying everywhere. Bad words were pouring out of children’s mouths. What planet am I living on again? I remember a time when kids had respect for adults and themselves.

Some parents in this generation are really failing their children. I told Harley I was going to tell his mother how he kept interrupting during reading class today.

(It’s necessary to mention that these kids are in fourth grade, and they can’t read or write; it’s saddening. Parents put the electronics down and pick up a book! Your children will become slaves without knowledge.)

Anyways, that bad kid looked up at me without a care in the world and said, “Tell the bitch!”

I was in shock!

The only thing I could do was stare up at the clock and count down the last sixty seconds until school was over.

When the bell rang, Harley threw his backpack over his shoulder and ran out to the carpool line, where his mother was waiting. Trying not to spill my coffee, I quickly hurried to the passenger side, and I signaled for her to roll down the window; she eventually did.

I said politely but with urgency, “Good afternoon Ma’am, your son was very disruptive in class earlier. Do you have a moment to come inside and speak with me?”

Harley’s mother looked me dead in the face and rolled up her window, while flicking me off. Harley bursted into laughter. I could tell that he knew what the middle finger meant.

I wasn’t going to be a doormat any longer, so I threw my coffee cup at her beat down car, and I screamed loud enough for all of the other parents, students, and teachers to hear, “Your son can’t read words, but he sure can read your bitchy behavior!”

And, that’s how I got fired during my first month as an elementary school teacher…

Microfiction

About the Creator

Real Poetic

Welcome to my imagination. ✨

Thanks for reading!

[email protected]

Instagram: therealpoetic

-R.P. ❤️

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

  • Grz Colm7 months ago

    😂😅👍

  • Novel Allen7 months ago

    I would get fired everyday if I were a teacher, maybe disbarred, can teachers be disbarred. Kids are so rude, parents are afraid of them I think. I saw a 4 yr old throw a fit. Mommy saying 'you are in public, behave'. Really, it begins at home. Tough love and boot camp.

  • Tiffany Gordon 7 months ago

    👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾 I Absolutely love it! What goes around comes back around! ya heard? lol 😂😁

  • Whoaaaa, I loved this story so much! One day, Harley would flip her off and she's gonna hate it. Such people should never become parents! Tell her to keep her legs closed! Tell her husband to keep it in his pants! I digress. My favourite part was when she poured her coffee on the car!

  • Mother Combs7 months ago

    Great story!

  • Babs Iverson7 months ago

    Awesome!!! Love it!!!💕❤️❤️

  • I have felt this in many situations, and my reactions have been slightly different but I have always come out feeling better in myself. Great story

Real PoeticWritten by Real Poetic

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.