Fiction logo

๐“ฆ๐“ฑ๐“ช๐“ฝ ๐“๐“ท ๐“ค๐“ท๐“ฑ๐“ธ๐“ต๐”‚ ๐“œ๐“ช๐“ท...

๐“ฃ๐“ป๐“ฒ๐“ฐ๐“ฐ๐“ฎ๐“ป ๐“ฆ๐“ช๐“ป๐“ท๐“ฒ๐“ท๐“ฐ: ๐“ก๐“ฎ๐“ต๐“ฒ๐“ฐ๐“ธ๐“พ๐“ผ ๐“˜๐“ท๐“ณ๐“พ๐“ผ๐“ฝ๐“ฒ๐“ฌ๐“ฎ๐“ผ & ๐“ฃ๐“ฎ๐“ท๐“ผ๐“ฎ ๐“˜๐“ถ๐“ถ๐“ธ๐“ป๐“ช๐“ต๐“ฒ๐“ฝ๐”‚ (๐“Ÿ๐“ฎ๐“ญ๐“ธ๐“น๐“ฑ๐“ฒ๐“ต๐“ฒ๐“ช/๐“–๐“ฎ๐“ท๐“ธ๐“ฌ๐“ฒ๐“ญ๐“ฎ) & ๐“ข๐“พ๐“ฐ๐“ฐ๐“ฎ๐“ผ๐“ฝ๐“ฒ๐“ฟ๐“ฎ ๐“œ๐“ช๐“ฝ๐“ฎ๐“ป๐“ฒ๐“ช๐“ต

By Arin ThatcherPublished 2 years ago โ€ข 6 min read
Like

The manโ€™s shaky breath could be heard behind the ancient cedar that was strained with age and the past confessions.. Hate, crime, sin.. All of which ached at my ears and tightened at my throat. The smell of coffee on the nervous, blubbery man could not escape the cage like box that had become my second home.

โ€œF-Father I have sinned greatly-โ€

โ€œAs many others have, speak unto me and wish for God's forgiveness.โ€, I merely recited from a fragment of mind before the rosy cheeked teacher mumbled away about โ€˜seducingโ€™ a student of his. Disgust filled my head and hoped that god didnโ€™t shed a light on the manโ€™s action unless it were to shame; I had to rid myself quickly of such a vile feeling before continuing.

โ€œDo you understand that by giving your body, not only to a child, but committing adultery is a serious sinโ€ฆ Not only that but a crime.โ€

โ€œYes sir. But all I ask is forgiveness.โ€, the manโ€™s sweat could be seen glaring off the hint of light peeking through the confession door. A sigh filtered past my lips and my eyes shut wishing it would not be so easy to send him off with a โ€˜god forgives you of your sinsโ€™. This wasnโ€™t the worst thing he had heard through that barterโ€ฆ A far older man had once waltzed into my church after hours to beg for forgiveness; although it was not begging, far from it.. It was more of a demand than anything else. I could still recall that day vividly. To rush the pig-like man out of my church to ponder over the sickening memory I bowed my head after ushering a prayer to the heavens to forgive me from being so impatient.

โ€œGod forgives you for your sin but I want to warn you carefully and strongly advise you to bear honesty upon your shoulders and receive your consequences bravely. You mustn't fear such consequences because you are due them, if you do not appeal to receive them then God will be sure to give them unto you unwillingly.โ€

โ€œY-Yes sir.โ€

โ€œYou may leave. Allow the next person to step forth, thank you.โ€, I mumbled again as my heart felt lightened after such a warning. Of course, God may have been looking down upon me in my ill heart for such a warning but I felt as if I should have done what was morally right. I was left in silence for a moment as the thickly built man squeezed out of my stands to fetch yet another.

โ€œI killed them all.. A smile was on my face and I do believe they deserved it. Killing a Jew should be right butโ€ฆ Jesus Christ has shown his side to me. I need forgiveness before I leave the face of this Earth and transcend in a different form.โ€

โ€œGod would be hesitant to let you in-โ€

โ€œHe will let me in. I am asking for forgiveness arenโ€™t I?โ€

โ€œGod does not give forgiveness so willingly. You have taken souls from this Earth too quickly and for unjust-โ€

โ€œYou will give me forgiveness or so help me god-โ€

I snapped back into reality to hear the beacon speak so shallowly of himself and his needs. My eyes peeked through the partition in which oftentimes I did not allow my eyes to seek through. Curiosity is what took away human immortality.. Took for our sins. That is what my father advised me not to doโ€ฆ Curiosity will allow Lucifer to clutch onto you like prey and pull you down to the depths with him. Now, my father is probably in a boiling bath with satan now due to how he ran the church into the ground. Ill words still shared from past members of my name which quickly coaxed me to take a trip down to the courts to file a legal name change.. I took up my gentle and kind hearted motherโ€™s name instead. My brown eyes met dazzling green eyes and a pairing body. A hard swallow and I leaned back.

โ€œPlease. Tell me why you are here..โ€

โ€œMy thoughts run wild Father-โ€

โ€œAh, ah.. Introduce yourself. Father, for I have sinned.. Then state your sin. You are seeking forgiveness are you?โ€ I spoke carefully before the man took a deep breath.

โ€œFather, for I have sinnedโ€ฆโ€, the man hesitated before I moved back into view, catching those eyes meeting mine.

โ€œYou can go ahead. There is no one else out there now, correct?โ€ I spoke in a soothing tone before the reddened face nodded.

โ€œYes father. Can I be honest with you?โ€, the man spoke with hesitance in his voice.

โ€œOf course.. Go ahead. Honesty is far more important than to lie and be aided in forgiveness by false words.โ€

โ€œWell, like I said before.. My thoughts travel. I thought it was a phase but they just donโ€™t go away and havenโ€™t gone anyway since I was in college. They were the worst in college and they quickly led me to act upon them-โ€

โ€œI apologize to interrupt and assume but have you come here to plead forgiveness for giving into homosexuality?โ€, I spoke so formally yet I myself knew the same. My father grew me on a tight leash and once he had passed onโ€ฆ I went on a frenzy. Something I wished to keep godโ€™s eyes from seeing but as many believed, homosexuality wasnโ€™t necessarily a sin just like sex wasnโ€™t. As long as it was within good faith and not for advantage."

Silence quickly befell my confessing green eyed-youth. I redirected my eyes and spoke confidently, โ€œWithin this church, MY church.. You have not to worry over such a nonsensical rule or sin.. God forgives you but would you like to add anything else?โ€, I looked back over after leaning back but the strangerโ€™s fingers slipped through the wall that divided us.

โ€œThenโ€ฆ You have something to say father.โ€, the man spoke before chuckling and my heart drummed.

โ€œIโ€™m flattered but- Iโ€™m sorry. Excuse me-โ€, I almost pleaded myself before those green eyes peeked over.

โ€œMy thoughts are of you. But Iโ€™ve come to take something that belongs to meโ€, the man spoke and I felt my spirit leap from my chest into my loins.

โ€œA-Again, excuse me.โ€, I spoke almost as quickly as a free weight hit the ground. Letting myself out to the empty stage of my church. My face reddened from both the heat of the booth and embarrassment that I gave into curiosity so quickly. Soon enough I felt a hand spin me around or at least what I thought was a hand had turned into a claw. It dug into my wrist and spilt red across the glorious carpets of my castle, of my beliefs and thereโ€ฆ Those green eyes befell on me yet again. A toothy smile and I knew I had fallen for the unspeakable.

โ€œL-Lucifer..โ€, a whisper passed my lips before my words were taken from me.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.