Fiction logo

We've all seen them, but something strange happened shortly after my grandfather died...

You may have seen a portrait in a film or television program or in your own experience. It is a photo of a familiar family member or friend, but it has turned into black and white. The picture is still the same familiar person.

By Eamonn DaviesPublished 2 years ago 3 min read

You may have seen a portrait in a film or television program or in your own experience . It is a photo of a familiar family member or friend , but it has turned into black and white . The picture is still the same familiar person . Remember that grandpa just died , the New Year's day when the family will put the portrait on the table , put on tribute , incense every day . Things are from the beginning of incense , at the beginning to see grandpa's portrait , I did not feel afraid , or in accordance with grandma's instructions , to grandpa incense . That day after incense , I went out to play , and nothing happened , but at night when I dreamed , I began to dream of grandpa , he was the same as before , nothing changed , but always fell down , every time I tried to pull him , is unable to pull him , this is the first night . The next day , or the same incense , night dream is like grandpa fell into a hole , I still want to pull him , pull him . After each incense , I will dream of grandpa , is about the same situation , every time powerless to let me mentally and physically exhausted , I dare not incense , also dare not to put grandpa portrait of the room to go . Although I did not say this to grandma , but grandma still felt , grandma later put grandpa's portrait up . When I don't burn incense , I can't dream of my grandpa . Every time I finish incense , I will dream of my grandpa . One day after grandma put away grandpa's portrait , I had a dream again . There was no grandpa in this dream , only grandpa's portrait and aunt's portrait . There was no photo on it , but only one word . Until now I have not understood the meaning of this dream . This dream is repeated in the next story , and in the second story it becomes even more elusive . The second thing is continuous dreaming . Everyone has dreams , good or scary , but continuous dreams are harder to do . My continuous dream is not a series of things , but each thing is not next to each other , but strange string together , as long as the first dream one day , then the next two days will inevitably dream a second dream and a third dream . The first dream was that I had a third eye on my forehead . I had never read the list of the gods at that time , and my eyes were normal and horizontal , small , with pupils and whites . The owner of the shop is my primary school principal . I bought a small toy there , a small toy tank . Although it didn't look like a shop , I thought it was a shop in my dream . The third dream are the word dream mentioned above . These three dreams , in sequence , come to me from time to time . I don't know . I'm just curious . Postscript : It has been more than 20 years since my grandfather passed away , but I still feel guilty about my grandfather , and I still don't understand what he wants to express in his dream . When grandpa left , I was too young to see him off . Later when the incense , I was too afraid to do a good heart . I hope grandpa doesn't blame me .

Short Story

About the Creator

Eamonn Davies

An avid lover of stories about ghosts and legends, I love the thrill of having my bones tingle! I hope you enjoy my story.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Eamonn DaviesWritten by Eamonn Davies

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.