Fiction logo

We Need To Talk

Sammy Speaks Out

By Misty RaePublished about a year ago 4 min read
10

Depression is tough. And when it's seasonal it's even harder.

Winter is difficult, the long cold days, the darkness, the isolation, it's often almost too much to bear.

Jazzie was no stranger to the "Winter Blues." She always felt lower during the cold season. She did what she could. Light therapy. Dying her hair. Diet changes. But it didn't do much. She never liked winter and as she trudged through midlife, each year, it felt a tiny bit worse.

The cold felt colder. The snow felt more oppressive. And the brief warmer days felt like the second coming! She knew better than to get excited. She knew better than to think 48 hours of sun and warmth scattered sporadically within 3 weeks wasn't a sign of Spring.

She knew. But that was her head, not her heart. The sun and above-0 temperatures made her heart soar. They made her feel alive! They made her want to do cartwheels in the park instead of hiding at home.

And then the weather shifted again. Frigid temperatures and calls for yet another legendary dump of the white stuff.

She sat in her sunroom, dejected, as her 6-foot windows display the sun, melting winter's offering. And a squirrel. It was the same squirrel that hung around this winter and last.

He, or she, Jazzy wasn't sure, had a bushy tail and keen eyes. They hung around on the pine tree right beside the deck.

But today was different. Today, they came to the window.

She almost didn't hear the faint tap, tap tap. If she hadn't been sitting there, wallowing, she probably wouldn't have.

Jazzy looked up at the west-facing window and there it was. It seemed to beckon to her. It was -13, she wasn't going out. She stared until it gave up and disappeared.

Only it didn't.

It jumped up on the loveseat.

"It's almost over," a faint squeaky voice said.

Jazzy shook her head, wondering if maybe she'd lost her mind. The squirrel sat on her furniture, straight, tall, and proud.

"Yes, you hear me," the animal continued as if it knew, "My name is Sammy, Sammy the Squirrel."

"What, what..." do you want?" Jazzy was incredulous and slightly scared. Animals didn't talk, but at least this one was small. She could take care of it, if things got out of hand. A good broom would take care of Sammy.

"You'll never catch me with a broom," Sammy taunted as if she read her mind, "I got in here without you noticing, I can get back out."

"What do you want?" Jazzy shrieked, her voice showing way more terror than she intended.

"Chill, baby, chill, "Sammy's brown eyes sparkled and her brown tail filled out, "that's what I'm here for. It's all good, baby, all good."

Jazzy stood, dumbfounded.

Sammy continued. "Why do you think I'm out here? I don't come out here for fun and games. I'm a ground squirrel."

Jazzy shrugged and stepped gingerly toward the sofa, "What do you want?"

"God, humans are stupid!" Sammy spat, sighing with a heavy exasperation, I'm here to tell you it's almost over, you just need to be patient."

Jazzy shook her head. She didn't want to be patient. She'd suffered through winter for yet another miserable year. She'd shoveled show. She'd braved temperatures that would freeze exposed skin within seconds to take the dog out. She sat inside, dejected, day after day, locked inside both mentally and physically, a prisoner to the elements.

She felt paralyzed. The hope of the promised spring coupled with the continuing misery of winter left her stuck. She couldn't move. No left or right. No up or down. Just small teasers of hope followed by crushing disappointment.

"I still don't get your point," Jazzy shrugged.

Sammy laughed. It was a surprisingly hearty guffaw for her size. "Tomorrow is the end of it. We'll get a dump, a big one, but it will melt fast."

Jazzy nodded, she'd checked the forecast and knew about the coming storm. She bought comfort food in anticipation, dill pickle chips.

"Why are you telling me this?" she asked, stepping a little closer.

Sammy scurried back a bit. She didn't like to be touched. "Because I get it. I know. I feel like absolute garbage all winter. Slim pickings in the nut department, slippery trees, freezing ground, icy air. You think I don't feel it? I do."

"I didn't know."

"Now, you do," Sammy spat sharply. She softened, "I'm just here to tell you, I've heard from the Network, and this is the end. Spring is coming."

Jazzy shrugged. "What network?" She couldn't believe she was talking to a squirrel.

Sammy rolled her big brown eyes, making it painfully obvious. "The animal network, silly, she snickered, "I talked to Gilbert Goose, who never would have come back here from his condo in Florida if spring wasn't coming. I talked to Bernice the brown bear who happens to be awake from her hibernation. And, I talked to Bertram Beaver. He just smells it in the air.

Jazzy sat beside her new pal. "How long?"

"Give it a week, 10 days at the most," Sammy replied, grinning, "Now, would you mind opening the door? The hole under the deck really is a tight squeeze for me."

Short Story
10

About the Creator

Misty Rae

Retired legal eagle, nature love, wife, mother of boys and cats, chef, and trying to learn to play the guitar. I play with paint and words. Living my "middle years" like a teenager and loving every second of it!

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Testabout a year ago

    Haha, lovely and amusing!- Anneliese

  • Dana Crandellabout a year ago

    Well done!

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Awesome!!!💖💖💕

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    I've always loved squirrels. I was just telling my daughter the other day that I wish I still had my glass squirrel pendant.

  • Loryne Andaweyabout a year ago

    This was such a cozy and hopeful read. Thank you for reminding us spring is on it's way 🤗

  • Roy Stevensabout a year ago

    Fantastic Misty and timely too! I've managed to come to a separate peace with winter over the years, but it just hangs around long after the welcome is worn. "Animals didn't talk, but at least this one was small. She could take care of it, if things got out of hand." Possibly my favourite line so far this month- love it! LOL We have tons of Sammy's around too, but the cats keep them in line. "We Need to Talk" runs like a well-oiled machine with great vocab choices and clever arrangement. Nice!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Great one. I hope Sammy's right.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.