Fiction logo

We Can't All Be Heroes

The Alone Collection

By KnyghtmarePublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
We Can't All Be Heroes
Photo by raquel raclette on Unsplash

Scalding water burned the back of my neck as I stood in the blank bathroom. The brass footed tub was a stark white. The plastic shower curtain teased transparency, but was just opaque enough to not be seen through. The clean white of the sink sparkled underneath the blinding bright light of the single florescent bulb illuminating the room. The toilet sat across from the sink, the shower across from the solid white door with a brass knob perfectly cleaned to gleam as if it were still new. A window let natural light in from behind the shower. The small glass opening was the only thing contrasting the light gray walls. The only sounds in the room were that of the water hitting the basin of the bathtub and the loud fan that kept the perfectly reflective mirror from getting fogged over. Of course, due to the length of my shower, it got dirtied anyways. I ran my hands through my hair, my mind taking me somewhere I'd rather be.

Standing atop a black spired castle. Next to it runs the large green river of the land. The ground itself is very dark, as if scorched by a raging fire. Horns protrude from the top of my forehead, curving back over my skull. Instead of the soft skin I have that reddens underneath the water, my skin is naturally red and much, much tougher. As I look out from the balcony of my tower, I see the battle being fought below, and my mouth curves into a smile, exposing the sharp canines of this form. Both sides fight for me, despite being bitter rivals. One side fighting to protect their leader, the other fighting to destroy everything I've built.

A chuckle escapes from under my breath. In the room behind me, green fires burn on sconces, setting the black room to very sickly lighting. The longer I watch those fighting below, the more I watch those who fight for me fall. My army is losing, dying faster to the opposing side. This was not surprising. My chuckles fade as my focus engages more to the scene below. My army has been fighting for so long. They've protected me well, but of course the other side would prevail. I am the villain. I was destined to lose, but that's okay.

A small group breaks off from the attacking hoard, sneaking past my crumbling defenses and into my spire. I had sent every combatant I had to the front lines. Within my castle, I was alone, but now I have the company of enemies. I wait. I listen. My pointed ears twitch at the slightest sound throughout the castle, but I cannot hear them.

The heavy iron doors heave open behind me, revealing the party of four that had broken away from the main group, here to face me. I turn, my black eyes meeting theirs, which are still so full of life. I smirk works its way onto my face as I meet each of their faces.

"You expected us?"

Another small laugh breathes out from my lungs before I answer, "Of course. What kind of story would it be if I got to win?"

Their expressions wavered as they looked between one another before meeting my eyes again, their weapons adjusting in their grips, the one who stood at the front cautiously asked, "Will you fight?"

As our eyes met, their hands whitened as they gripped their weapon harder and I let out a tired sigh, "I believer there has been enough bloodshed today. Spilling mine will end that below."

The group once again glanced between each other in more obvious confusion as the leader cautiously began taking steps towards me. An opal glinted off the light just right on the hilt of their sword to make me smile once again. The beauty of a hero.

I bowed my head ever so slightly as they approached, letting them see that I was not going to fight back this time. I sad smile works its way onto my face as I mutter, "For every story of a hero, there is also the story of a villain."

The leader lifted the blade up over his head and easily slashed down into my neck, the metal glinting off the unhealthy glow of the fires and making it a beautiful last sight.

The perfect white countertop of the sink became decorated in red spots. A trail of them leading to the tub where the fogged curtain rested partially open. As I lay in the shower, the warm water showering down onto me, I could feel none of it. I looked down for a brief moment to look what I'd done and then my eyes closed. The only thing I felt was so very alone.

Series
Like

About the Creator

Knyghtmare

Just a person with a lot of thoughts and not enough time

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.