Fiction logo

Waste of the Wasteland World

Death do us part

By Nym WildePublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like

Struggling to breathe, I gasp for air and dig my nails in the earth, barely crawling forward as an Antrod pulls off my red oxygen mask. Its robotic arms, the shining and glimmering reflection in this bleak world of a desert wasteland, use to fill us with hope until they overpowered us, our creation, now a sign of the only disaster to come. As I fell onto a sand ridden rock, three things occurred: firstly, a large thud as the right side of my face caused me to colour the rock red; the heart- shaped locket that Julia had given me, unclipped, and Julia the burning red flame of my heart was ripped away by the Antrods- screaming and pouring pleas under the blazing sun to anyone listening failed, as no one was near us for what seems an eternity away.

' Julia', I whimper with my last breath.

A squealing Lazmar woke me up. Its squirrel hands had placed a green oxygen mask on me when next lay next my red one, smashed to pieces by an Antrods robotic foot. The Lazmar starting signing to me in Auslan- the ancient language that is the only way all humans and hybrids can communicate- that we must leave quickly. His human legs moved relatively slow compared to his bushy tail that shook violently as he shuffled towards what I assume to be a haven.

' I was able to help so quickly as I was watching from afar' he produced a sigh, his tiny squirrel hands trying to keep up

' I saw them take someone'

Julia!

' We need to find her'

The Lazmar ran a hand through his ears and starting squeaking to himself whilst walking over to a chair in his underground home.

' They will kill you'

' She is worth it' I sign, hoping the desperation is showing in my eyes.

Raising from his custom chair, allowing for his never-ending tail, he shuffled to the dark corner as I examined his room. A dome- like shape, with only a few custom chairs and a kitchen alongside the entryway, which we blocked off with a large boulder upon arrival. The dome was just tall enough to fit his tail in at its proper extended size. Appearing by my side, Laz, which I had decided to call him, hands me black clothing with a big hole at the back. As soon as I point at this, he squeaks and pulls it away from my grasp. I cling on, contorting my face and raising my eyebrow. Laz slides it out and tugs at my hand. I follow and in the dark, which soon becomes blinding although the sun was present, thinking so I stepped back hesitantly. Pulling me forward again, I push past the fire and see ominous black handed swords on the ground, and clothing, which I gather were made for a Lazmar. Starting to stitch the back of the hole together, I examine the swords. Something shakes the dome, and sand falls on our heads. My heart may of think of stopped beating, but my hands grip the sword tighter.

' The Antrods, they have found us' we both turn and sign to each other.

Another thump sounds, crushing Laz's home further. Laz looks at me and skurries away towards the further darkness. Looking back at the ever caving roof, I decide in haste to follow. Down a narrow path with holes above us to allow for light, led to a thump above where sand plastered my face red. Spitting and cursing aloud, Laz looks back at me. Upon seeing my lips move with a struggling face, he shook his hands in the air in a questioning matter, and I shook my head in response. Continuing to run and trip over little rocks would cause us to slow down to help the other up, narrowly escaping our death. Looking ahead at the end of the everlasting tunnel, I could see a small Lazmar growing larger each time my foot hit the ground. Meeting the Lazmar at the end, Laz squeaked to him in haste. The crumbling roof-top seemingly not to worry him, as he rose his paws in the air to create a barrier around us. The roof shook and I winced, preparing for the downfall, but none came as the sand began to scatter around us. Checking everyone was alright, I rose from my hunched stance, protecting my face but again returned to it as we hovered down underneath the ground. I saw an enormous world underneath, of every hybrid I know of and more and so many Lazmars I believe were running the beautiful oasis. Without introductions, I stood near a Lazmar who was 4 foot tall and wearing armour with one of the black- handled swords that I had seen in what use to be Laz's home. Too fascinated by the Lazmar's height and build, I turned back to see the marching of Laz and the Lazmars, although an army, towards a wall that somebody must have cloaked. Running towards them as the sound of their marching grew, we walked outside in the blazing heat. Wearing the black clothing that helped us blend in with the dying world around us, the waste, as from above or when an Antrod was close, we could lay on the ground and pretend to be an oil spill. We wielded our weapons and marched towards our inevitable death. As soon as we were safely away from the paradise, we walked to Laz's ruined home to discover the Antrods were waiting for us. Cowardly I hurried away as the Antrods attacked as in the distance I could hear Julia pleading,

' I was stupid going outside, please let me go; I promise to stay hidden from now on.' Standing in a metal cage behind a dune, she seemed to be pleading to nobody.

' Julia!'

She had on a blue oxygen mask, the colour of a slave.

' Daniel!' Pointing toward a dune, she screamed, ' Watch out!'

An Antrod appeared and began to run toward me. Jumping on top of the cage then onto the Antrods head; I twisted it and pulled it clean off. Something I had learnt in self- protection classes when I was 12. The body fell onto the cage rendering it futile. Julia quickly escaped, and we retreated past the finished fight that the Lazmars had won and were celebrating amongst themselves, towards the cloaked wall, where we hugged, producing pools of tears and said that we would never leave each-others side again and never go outside ever again.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Nym Wilde

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.