Fiction logo

Wandering Dark

Homecoming

By Waters DragonfriendPublished 2 years ago 17 min read
Like
Wandering Dark
Photo by Milan Surbatovic on Unsplash

I cannot believe I'm back here. I can’t do it; I won’t do it. I should leave, turn right around, and walk out the gates.

Half turning, Iana looked to see if Mrs Poole was still watching her, she gave a small salute as if to say running hadn’t occurred to her. Not that Mrs Poole was fooled. She’d known Iana for too long. Looking up at the imposing fortress in front of her, Iana wondered if anything had changed. Would Vi still be here? Would they let her back into the same class as her friends? Looking at the military grey roof and the off-white walls she laughed grimly to herself. The cops were right of course. She was running from an institution, just not the one they expected.

Slowly, Iana made her way to the headman’s office. I hope I can make it through this Where is Vi, I hope she doesn’t know I’m back yet.

“Well, well, look what the cat dragged in? Or was it the pigs?” A tall boy sneered in Iana’s direction and the crowd around him half-heartedly laughed. Trent was an unpopular kid, attacking a true outcast was the only thing he had left to him.

So far, not so bad, I must remember to rip his teeth out for him someday. Gripping her folder tightly Iana continued to move slowly through the throng, looking for all the world as if she was here by choice and going to see the principal was her own idea. Keep your chin high, don’t look ‘em in the eyes and the beasts won't attack. She hoped.

The school compound seemed more like a jail than anything else. There was a security fence around the entire perimeter, complete with barbed wire at the top. The paint was peeling on the walls, but the metal detectors were state-of-the-art. The mindless drones that were the bulk of the populace preferred to congregate in front of the school to watch people going through, hoping to catch someone out with something embarrassing – or worth trying to steal later.

Approaching a table near the entrance Iana sat down to remove her shoes. It was a poor compromise, but she had chosen the humiliation of taking her shoes off in public. Steel caps were allowed on school grounds, but a knife wasn’t. I will not be unprotected in this hole. Maybe I can find a way to disguise my knife in my shoes…

“Eliana Black, I thought you’d done a runner for good this time?”

“Kesh, how have you been?” Coming back wasn’t a total waste. Keshwyn had been one of Iana’s only friends throughout her entire life.

“Ah well, you know. The love of my life deserted me, and I’ve been pining ever since. Got done ditching school and dad took my keys for ‘an indeterminate period” Running his fingers through his hair Kesh did his best impersonation of his father's stern face and then grinned. “Rumour has it you’ve had a run-in with a tougher opponent than my dad though?”

“Why, what have you heard?” Panic shot across Iana’s face.

“It's all over school, the cops drove you back to the home, Ryk’s telling everybody, you must’ve known he would, kid doesn’t know how to keep his trap shut.” Looking confused Kesh picked up Iana’s folder as she made her way through the scanners.

“Oh, that, yeah. I wasn’t careful enough. Slipped up once and they found me. Fed me some crap about being a minor and taking me home” Iana’s face twisted at the word home. Before her friend could ask anything else, Iana asked him about the other person on her mind. “Have you seen Violet yet?

“No, I won’t see her till third, does she…”

“No, and you can't tell her until I’ve worked out what to say” Sitting down to put her shoes on Iana glared at Kesh until he sighed.

“It won’t be that bad El. She’s mostly over being mad at you.”

“Not a word” Iana rearranged her jeans over the tops of her boots “I mean it – and my name is not El.”

“Whatever" Kesh rolled his eyes before offering a small smile "Hey El? I’m glad you’re back. I know you aren’t but…I’ll stick by you” Making a face Kesh turned towards his class just as the first warning bell sounded. Iana all but ran the rest of the way to the office block.

****

“Miss Black, Headmaster will see you now”

Taking a deep breath Iana stood up and straightened her shirt before moving to the office.

“Sir.”

“Sit Eliana” The principal indicated the chair in front of him without shifting his eyes from his screen.

Several minutes went by. Iana counted them along with the ticking clock behind the headman’s desk. 267, 268, 269. Iana counted still higher until the headman decided that was enough sweat time.

“You’re back I see, and what do you want with me?” Leaning back in his chair the principal tried to give the impression he didn’t know the whole story already. Unperturbed Iana replied as truthfully as she could

“I’ve come back to return to my old classes. I only missed half a semester, and I was further along with my studies than the other kids were.”

“But why should I let you” it wasn’t really a question “you’re disruptive, rude, insolent, violent. You’ve spent more time escaping detention than you’ve been present”

“Sir, I know I disappoint you, I disappoint everyone, but…I’m under lockdown at the home and the only condition on me being allowed out is to come to school. I’m not 18 for another six months so I figured I may as well finish it out while I was at it.” Trying not to plead took effort, trying to keep the disgust from her face was impossible.

“I see… Mrs Poole said she was going to be strict. I didn’t think she had it in her where you were concerned.” Headman went silent for a few moments, pretending to think. “You will hand in the assignments you’ve missed to me by the end of the week. You will complete all new assignments a day early.” The principal looked back towards his computer.

“But sir!”

“This is not open for negotiation Ms Black. If you wish to be treated as an adult then you shall work like one. Do not waste my time any further.” The dismissal was clear this time and Iana had no choice.

“Thank you, Sir” Gritting her teeth Iana walked back out to the main office, trying not to stomp her way there.

“Miss Black…,” Iana stopped, half turning to look at the headman “Do not cause trouble.” The headman narrowed his eyes at her briefly before turning back to his work, dismissing Iana completely.

When she reached the admissions officer Iana stopped to gather her schedule and assignment listing for the time she’d missed. “I wouldn’t ask your friends for help either” the kind woman behind the desk looked up. “Headman and Mrs Poole cooked this up last night and their assignments have been pulled out and memorised by the teachers. I believe they will compare your answers with theirs.”

“Thanks, Mrs Grey, I’ll keep it in mind. I’d better run, I can still catch the end of my English class.”

*******

Hmmm, so this is where she goes to school? I can see why she left. But still, we each have a cross to bear. She better learn to carry hers rather than hide from it. I hope she’s up to this.

****

Concentrating during English class was easy. Concentrating on the topic of discussion was impossible. When Iana arrived, the teacher was discussing the differences between different poetry styles. Briefly, Iana wondered if she’d made a mistake, she didn’t recognize the teacher. Then she heard Trent and Ryk start and knew she was in the right place. Not for the first time, she wished she could be homeschooled, but that would mean having a home.

“Ahem,” The teacher cleared her throat “Can I help you?” Iana took a moment to consider before she answered. First impressions were important with new teachers. Taking note of the horn-rim glasses, sensible shoes and dowdy grey suit Iana brought herself up to her full height as she walked toward the teacher.

“Good Morning, I’m Eliana Black. I’m returning to class after an extended absence. I apologise for being late, I understand teachers do not like interruptions” Iana extended her hand out to complete the formal introduction. She could see the woman weigh her option in responding, watched determination for control settle over her features.

“You are not forgiven. I do not allow students into my classroom after the final bell has sounded, you can report to the principal’s office for tardiness.”

Some people refused to take the easy option. “If you prefer, although you should be aware that the reason for my tardiness is that Headmaster and I were in a meeting until a few moments ago. But if you like I can let him know you don’t… approve of my being late, Mrs.…?” A teacher’s job was hard enough, and Iana knew she was damaging whatever credibility the new teacher had managed to build. But Iana had her own hide to think about.

“Simmons” The stone-faced woman replied curtly, face going red. “Sit”

Grinning as she turned away, Iana scanned the room, her old seat was still vacant, probably thought it was tainted and moved towards it. She glanced at the text open on the desk next to her and lifted the cover slightly, making note of the name and author. Settling in Iana seemed on the surface to be all ears for what Mrs Simmons was saying, diligently taking notes. In reality, Iana was mentally making a note of how many assignments she would need to complete within the next week. One English, two Numerical, one History, two Anatomy, two Alchemy and one Cultural Studies. That was the norm, at least for a half-semester at her level. Plus, she would need to complete any that may be in circulation now. Iana half-listened to Mrs Simmons while contemplating staying awake for the next week to get it all done. Iana sighed as she turned her thoughts towards her other best friend.

The last time she’d seen Violet was almost 4 months ago. They’d been shopping. “What do we need all this stuff for again El?”

“I need a break Vi, I need to get out of that godforsaken home and be able to live a little. I’ve been taking care of myself forever and it's about time they let me go.”

“So, how are hematite and sulphur going to help that?

No matter how much magick Violet studied she just never clicked with it the way Iana had.

“Hematite will ground me into my new freedom, the sulphur is to help me cut ties. It's not traditional of course.”

“You never are” Violet grinned

“I want to cut ties to something that disgusts me, so I’m using something disgusting to do it.” Very few people accepted the way Iana’s mind worked. Violet never questioned it, which earned her the right to use the girlish half of her name.

“You’re not leaving though, are you? Just going to get yourself out of the home and find your own place? Since you don’t want to live with me”

“Your folks don’t want me” They’d had this conversation before “and I won't force them to change their mind!” Violet had suggested that once she’d seen how powerful Iana’s spells could be. She just didn’t get the free will concept.

“You didn’t answer my question.” Violet would get suspicious soon

“Of course, I’m staying, after all, school is almost done. Why leave now when I’m so close” It was the extra months after school before her name day that she was running from. Almost another year at the group home was unbearable.

“I’ve got everything, let’s go” Forcing a grin Iana tried to look convincing. Violet didn’t need to know the full truth; it would only upset her.

*****

The morning passed in a haze of classes, writing and essays. She was eating her lunch and trying to think of a way to appease her best friend when she felt a pulse. Reining her reflexes in was almost impossible. Instead, Iana turned to find the source of the pulse and looked straight into steel grey eyes.

“Vi…”

“You’re back, planning on telling me any time soon Eliana? Or did you think you could bully Kesh into lying to me for the rest of the semester?”

Violet Sying was normally the kind of girl who was overlooked, simply because she was too nice to cause trouble and not given to sensationalism. Today though Iana could sense her best friend struggling to maintain her composure

“Vi, I’m s..”

“Don’t say it, you’re not. If you were sorry, you’d have told me, warned me….” As Vi began to vent Iana’s eyes started to play tricks on her. She could see a swirling mist of colours extending out in front of Violet, purple and black mostly.

“And now you aren’t even listening to me! Unbelievable” the pitch in Violet’s voice snapped Iana back to reality. Before Iana could say anything, her friend had stormed off,

Some friend you are Black. Clenching her jaw Iana forced herself to focus on her assignments, ignoring the avid stares and gossiping whispers of the onlookers.

Settling back into her routines at school was easy enough, aside from having a best friend who barely spoke to her and another who was now going out of his way to avoid them both. Throwing herself into the haze of enforced education was a consistent distraction at least. The time began to pass in a blur and often Iana found herself alone, her mind occupied and her eyes unfocused. It was during these moments that Iana noticed the coloured mist. Mostly it was when the other students were fighting or arguing, the colours seemed to swirl out in front of them, mixing with the other mists, almost taking part in the fight itself. Watching Ryk get into yet another fight with the football team one afternoon, Iana was mesmerized by the red and orange colour show going on around them, so mesmerized she missed the arrival of someone new on the bench next to her.

“What are they about to do?”

“Huh?’ Iana shook her head.

“What are they about to do?” the stranger repeated his question.

“Are you blind? Ryk’s about to get pummeled.”

“No, what move are they about to make? The exact step they are using next, surely you can tell.” The man was wearing dark glasses and a trench coat, all of his attention focused on the schoolyard fight

“I may be many things but psychic ain't one of 'em” Iana moved to pick her bag up and leave when the stranger grabbed her arm.

“Watch them, look at the mist and tell me what it’s doing.”

"How do you know about… let go of me” Trying to break free Iana somehow ended up with the stranger behind her, holding her arms tight.

“Open your eyes and think about what you are seeing. What does the mist mean?” The man was speaking directly into Iana’s ears, but the words sounded distant to her. The air around her seemed to throb, colours pulsing.

Suddenly, Iana found herself stumbling into the middle of the fight. She could hardly walk straight, let alone think. All she could see was a wall of colour coming at her, followed by Ryk being thrown into her. Hitting the ground, she was still trying to clear her vision when she saw a spike of red pass through her middle. Within seconds she felt intense pain as a boot landed on her ribs. Gasping for breath she felt someone haul her to her feet and hold her arms, they were saying something and laughing. She only heard static. Just as she watched another smaller spike aim for her face, she heard an order, Down! Wrenching her arms free she dropped just in time to miss the nose-breaking punch.

"Fight the mist" Iana heard the stranger's voice in her ear again, his breath hot against her skin.

Fight the mist? The order didn’t make any sense; how could she fight something that wasn’t really there? She couldn't see well enough to judge their next move. Trying to see through the red haze, Iana didn’t see the kick from her left, nor the punch from the right and before long she was down on the ground again. Losing a fight was not common for Iana and she was starting to worry when the words came again, "The mist is the real fight, act on what IT is doing." Seeing another red shape flow towards her Iana twisted to avoid it and felt her attacker brush past her. Reacting quickly Iana lashed out and her elbow connected with the back of a skull. Ducking under another coloured blur, Iana straightened quickly to throw the boy who’d just slammed into her. She then snapped her arms up to block a black and green blow coming towards her face and was jolted by the force of a pipe coming down on her forearms.

As quickly as she had found herself in a fight she had no part in, it was gone. When her vision came back to normal Iana was greeted with the sight of Mrs Poole and the Headman glaring at her.

*****

Iana spent most of the night trying to make sense of the fight. The 'why' was simple enough. When you walk into a fight you don’t belong in you are gonna get hammered, her reputation simply makes it all the more inevitable. An easy-to-flare temper was how Headman put it. No matter how she tried to avoid it they simply kept coming back. Having basic defence skills simply did not deter them from trying again, usually in greater numbers.

The mystery was how she survived the fight intact. At best Iana considered herself a brawler. Surviving those blows from half a dozen footballers, all bigger than her, should have been next to impossible, and trying to deny that she had known what they were going to do before they did it was foolish. Precognition was something Iana barely knew the theory of, and had certainly never practised. Her skills lay in manipulation, not observation.

One thing was certain, Iana enjoyed the fight. The feeling of deflecting every blow without effort was thrilling. The power she felt as their defeat spurred her victory became all she could focus on. Realizing that all she needed to do was accept that the mist showed the next few seconds of the future took a battle and turned it into a dance she had no choice but to win. I am untouchable.

Replaying the fight scene over and over Iana felt the need to get out of the confines of her room. She could try to pick the lock or steal some keys, and she would another time. But taking the window exit was normal. Old habits and all that.

Roaming the streets bought a new sense of recklessness and a new question. Who was the voice inside her head? Iana had never believed in any power greater than herself and that of her keeper Mrs Poole. Vi’s quiet insistence did nothing to sway her in that. The darkness of the streets was suited to Iana’s questions. She wanted to pass by unseen while she thought things through. Folks in the streets during the midnight hours never wanted to be seen. While she roamed, she considered the man in the trench coat who appeared before the fight started. It seemed logical that he was involved with the mist and the headspace invasion but that logic in itself seemed crazy.

Scuffling nearby snapped Iana back to herself. Peering into the alley she spotted a faint glow, a lighter shade of black. Trusting her instincts Iana launched herself off the nearest crate and attacked. A flash of light highlighted the bloodied teeth of the man poised to strike at her. Screaming Iana turned and fled the way she’d come, seeking the relative safety of a busy street. She did not hear the quiet laugh she left behind.

Young AdultFantasy
Like

About the Creator

Waters Dragonfriend

An adventurous woman, teacher and writer. I have a broad range of life experiences and a desire to connect. I'm passionate about telling stories about people. I'm currently working on a psychological thriller/horror. So many ideas!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.