Fiction logo

Walking on Sunshine

Originally sung by Katrina and the Waves. Written by Kimberly Rew.

By Lamar WigginsPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 7 min read
13
Walking on Sunshine
Photo by Vidar Nordli-Mathisen on Unsplash

This was written in response to the Oneg and James summer writing challenge extravaganza. You can find the prompt ideas and complete rules here.

This song (the version is from the musical of the same name) reminds me of summer no matter what time of year it is. It's also a great mood enhancer. If you ever find yourself in a bad mood, play it and watch the transformation. The following YA micro story was inspired by this track...Enjoy.

____________________________________________________

"Hey! did you forget something young man?" The cashier abruptly said as I prepared to walk out the door with my bagged items dangling from my hand.

"No, looks like everything is here."

He smirked, then proceeded to rub his index finger and thumb together, the international sign for money, moullah, greenbacks!

"Oh, Shit! my bad. I forgot to pay! Sorry, my heads been in the clouds all day. I just met a girl!"

"Well good for you! I should have known with that Permagrin you've got going on. Hope you don't forget her name when the time comes... Hey! You alright there, boy?"

He was waving his hand in front of my face. I stared right through him because I had forgotten her name or was too excited to recall it.

"I'm okay, and her name is...is... it's Sunny! How did you know I forgot? Never mind, thank you and keep the change, I gotta roll!"

I ran out the door and went straight home to get ready for my first date with Sunny. After the much-needed, invigorating shower, I looked at myself in the partially fogged up mirror and began practicing my sexy faces. It's something that guys do all the time, well, I hope they do or else I'll sound like an arrogant fool. Women are great at deciphering the looks you give them. I was confident as ever, not a shy bone in my 21-year-old body.

We planned to meet at Darby's Cove, a popular stretch of beach in Santa Monica. The boardwalk was a half mile long with plenty of bars, restaurants and few sporting shoppes to enjoy as well.

I ALWAYS arrived early to everywhere I went. That day was no exception. I pulled up in my 2018 red Mustang, parked like a boss, got out and just looked around at the sights. People were having a great time tossing the frisbee, some were playing volleyball, and some were splashing in the shallows. The sun was high in the sky and bright as ever. I even blew it a kiss. The water shimmered with thousands of sparkling ripples, each one of them, happy in their liquid skin. Who could've ever asked for a better day than that!

That was until Sunny pulled up in a yellow convertible Volkswagen Beetle, with a dude in the passenger seat. A DUDE! The pleasant scene in my head full of joy, Hip-Hop and first kisses, quickly turned into a grey, dismal, forgotten pickle. What the f*** was a dude doing with her? I thought it could be her brother or cousin. I didn’t know, I just knew that it killed the vibe and grounded my rocket ship to heaven.

Sunny's long, shaven legs exited the car. Her blond curls bounced in slow motion with every step. She was gorgeous, a babe and I was going to have a chance to impress her. But first I had to find about the dorky shadow that followed her.

"Hey, Kyle... how are you? This is my friend Jared. I forgot to tell you, I was meeting a few people here, is that okay?"

With half a smile, what else could I say except, "Yeah, that's fine. The more the merrier." I was lying through my teeth. It was not fine! I thought this was going to be exclusive. I wanted to come up with a reason to leave. I mean, how was I supposed to woo her if I wasn't the main attraction. I wasn't being self-centered, it's just that, getting to know each other is the point of dating, right?

I decided to stay and went with the flow. Soon, a few other people that I didn't know showed up, taking even more attention away from us. There was no us.

"Hey! why don't you guys get acquainted, Aaron and I will be right back!" Sunny said, as if nothing was wrong. She left me with Jared while she went to do whatever with Aaron.

Jared was actually cool, He made me laugh a few times and I was more at ease. We had a couple beers, all the while I kept looking around for Sunny to return. Somewhere during our conversation, I must have said something encrypted because Jared had a light bulb moment.

"OH MY GOD! You like her, don't you?" Jared said with surprise!

"Well, duh. This was supposed to be our first date! But she is everywhere except here."

Jared laughed his ass off for a long time. He fell to the ground and rolled a couple times, holding his sides. I felt completely left out of the joke. After he calmed down, I asked,

"What the hell is so funny, bro?"

He looked at me and began laughing again, then said, "you're not going to believe this, but Sunny thinks your gay! She was hoping to set you up with me!"

It was then my turn to laugh until reality bit me like a rabid dog. This guy had been diggin on me the entire time. I had a lot to learn about people. I explained to him that I wasn't gay and that I thought I was going on a date with her. It was all a set-up, a big misunderstanding. I had to think back to my conversation with Sunny earlier that day that led to her asking if I wanted to hang out that night. I had just met her for the first time ever at the dentist office. It was no use but I’m sure I said something silly that led her to that line of thinking.

“Listen, Kyle. I’m only gonna tell you this cause I think you’re cool. You don’t want to date, Sunny. That girl can’t stay in one place even if she were superglued to the concrete. She’s not the type who wants to be tied down anytime soon. The guy she just left with, Aaron, is her ex, one of many from the last six months. He still wants to jump her bones but she just uses him cause he can get the best weed… Kyle, you there. Earth to Kyle!”

All I could do was stare right through him. I was caught in a devastating dream that involved me breaking up with a girl I never even dated.

“Oh, yeah I’m here. That’s some crazy shit there, bro! She seems like the ideal chick to date.”

“Don’t get me wrong! She is a blast to hang out with but an absolute disaster to date. But you didn’t hear that from me!”

Out of nowhere, Sunny comes back. She looked high as a kite with her perfect lips and dimpled smile.

“How’s it going guys” she said while loudly chewing gum. Jared answered,

"You’re not going to believe this but-"

I quickly grabbed his hand and finished his sentence.

“- Uhh, Jared and I was just about to take a walk on the beach, right! Jared?”

I nudged him a touch, he wasn’t sure how to react. He looked at our hands clutching and quickly figured out what I was doing, and said,

“Yes! Um, right, we were just about to do that. I’m so glad you introduced us. You're the best friend ever, Sunny!”

“Yes, I am, thank you very much! Look at how cute Kyle is. If he wasn't gay, I would have asked him out in a heartbeat."

I didn't know if I had just dodged a bullet or If I was going to miss out on a chance of a lifetime. I was so conflicted and torn, but ultimately satisfied. Like Jared said, she would have dumped me anyway.

I led Jared to the shoreline and kept asking him if she was still watching. As soon as she walked away from our camp on the beach, I let go of his hand.

"Thanks man, sorry I had to do that. I know you were about to tell her that I came here for her, but I think it's best we leave that alone for now. How do I keep finding these whacked-out chicks? Oh well, there's plenty at the bars over there... So, what's your story, man. You don't act gay!"

"Typical straight guy remark! Let me teach you how gaydar works. You see, first you have to know the look, then..."

Jared and I continued walking the beach, laughing and joking around. I never saw Sunny again that day, she was off doing whatever with whoever. I'm sure Jared told her the truth by now. As for me, I'll just keep walking on sunshine until the right gal crosses my path.

By Nicholas Mullins on Unsplash

Thank you for stopping by.

Now! I would love to see Matt Fromm and Real Poetic take part in this challenge. Or the next one in the series.

MicrofictionYoung AdultLove
13

About the Creator

Lamar Wiggins

Creative writer in the Northeast US who loves the paranormal, mystery, true crime, horror, humor, fantasy and poetry. Take a chance, you'll be thoroughly entertained.

"Life is Love Experienced" -LW

LDubs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  4. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Ashley Lima9 months ago

    This is a very sweet story about a misunderstanding. I think it fits the song well. I love how the two male characters still ended up getting along after all was said and done. Made it seem like a genuine friendship was brewing. Nicely done :)

  • Naomi Gold9 months ago

    This was so wholesome. I love that you went with YA. It fit the song and the feel of summer quite nicely.

  • Sunny is a nightmare, lol! Kyle definitely dodged a bullet, thanks to Jared. I'm so glad those two became friends! Loved your story!

  • Sara Wilson9 months ago

    What an unexpected twist lol.. I loved this. Great work 👍

  • James U. Rizzi9 months ago

    What an excellent idea doing a YA piece, so much of our best summer memories are caught in our youth. You’ve captured a serious amount of nostalgia with this, along with incorporating such a classic and well fitting song. Love it thanks for participating

  • Mother Combs9 months ago

    Good story

  • Veronica Coldiron9 months ago

    Oh Lord! I can't say I didn't see that coming. LOL! I was pleasantly surprised by the ending! Great music choice too! 😉🎶

  • Tiffany Gordon 9 months ago

    This was so cute Lamar! I love the song choice as well! BRAVO!👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾😊

  • The story of my life, lol, but without all the handsome or cute to go with it. It seemed most everyone who knew me only casually assumed I was gay--either that or a woman due to my long curly hair. The number of times I got called "Ma'am"--well, let's just say I lost count. Usually, when I turned around to face them they realized their mistake, but one guy behind the counter at McDonald's didn't register anything--so I just went ahead & ordered. If I had been of a mind to take advantage of it, I could have when I was in college. The number of women who saw me as a challenge, wanting to be able to say that they were the one who converted me was staggering. Okay, there may have been a couple, but still, lol.

  • Oneg In The Arctic9 months ago

    Many twists in this story! Great job :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.