Fiction logo

Vision of an Apocalypse

Starting the world again.

By Marilee BurttPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Vision of an Apocolypse written by Marilee Burtt

I was travelling in my vehicle, when suddenly I felt a little weird. So I stopped on the side of the road. I started seeing pictures and I felt like I was watching a movie of horror and I couldn't turn it off.

I saw explosions that blew up the infrastructures the gas, the domestic water supply, electricity companies.

OMG! Houses exploded, one by one, those that were on the domestic gas line, so many people died from those explosions.

Trees and other plant life had died, birds that dropped out of the sky dead, fish in the ocean, rivers and lakes had millions of dead fish and other water life that died. The land had become to dry and salty from lack of water, the radiation from the Nuclear Bombs that no farmer could grow grains, vegetables or fruits. The farm animals that had died from the Radiation Exposure. Those that didn't die, the Cows, Sheep, Poultry, Pigs due to no feed for them they were starving and the farmers took the rest of them to the abettors, but even that too was horrendous as they had no power to operate their machinery. The killing that had to be done, it meant that they had to slit their throats like they did before electricity was invented. The cries and screams from the animals was unbearable, and the farmers were devastated to be part of that way of killing animals.

The supermarkets shelves were empty people panicked and those that didn't heed the warnings to stock up on tin and dry package foods went hungry. There was no dog or cat food and so people couldn't feed them, some killed their pets for food, while others just dumped them.

What had caused this disaster, Nuclear Weapons and the world's technology stopped working. There was no fuel for our vehicles plus they too were rendered useless. The lucky ones had bicycles or solar powered vehicles at least they could get around and help where they could.

It rained and burnt our skin and we couldn't go out without covering ourselves with thick clothing. It was going to be a problem having no drinking water because that too was affected by the Nuclear Bombs. A plan was agreed upon that wells had to be found quickly as the water under ground would be the safest to use.

As the weeks and months wore on, the cats had eaten most of the small creatures they could find. The dogs packed up together and after they had eaten the cats and when food became scarce, they turned to humans especially small children as a food source. What man said about dogs being man's best friend, certainly did not apply as we are now the hunted.

I was looking out of my window when I saw Adults, teenagers and small children running and screaming trying to get away from a large pack of Dogs. I saw a small girl child that couldn't keep up with others running in fear of these hungry dogs. She was wearing a red heart that was dangling from her neck. The large pack of dogs had position themselves, stalking her. I proceeded to go outside to rescue the girl child. I heard a strong voice telling me to go back inside and told, it was not my concern. Where the voice came from I do not know but I obeyed the command.

Inside, I looked out of the front window and I watched the dogs rip into the child. The screams were horrendous, I cried and cried, I really wanted to save that little girl child. After the dogs were gone, I went and picked up what was left of her dead body off the road, her beautiful red heart was a locket and inside was a picture of the little girl child, I held so dearly because I want to remember this small girl child and keep her close to my heart. No one cared that she was left behind, I cared and I was upset that no Adult picked her up and run with her.

That day; I witnessed a horrendous killing of a child, the worst thing ever to experience and the feeling of being so helpless, it will haunt me to the day I die.

The elderly survivors had to teach the young ones how to do things the old way, there was no electricity, no fridge, TV, Mirco-wave nothing that used power. It was like the world starting over again. Some of us that prepared and stored food supplies and water helped those that were in need. Rationing we endure for a long time. Some of those dogs were trapped, killed so others didn't starve to death.

Those that survived the Apocalypse helped one another and there was a presents of peace, you could feel how strong the peace was.

The peace didn't last long as people were becoming angry, fighting, stealing but I didn't judge them for we had all been and still going through many things. We went from having everything to having nothing, we were suffering together and this new start of ours is a hard life road.

Quite a few years later, plant life started to grow, they didn't look like they use to, for they were different, sort of strange but they were green, growing to say life is returning. I heard birds chirping for the first time in many years, they had return but as hybrids.

Like the Rosella Parrots, Lorikeets and Australian Ringneck Parrots, indigenous to each state, were coloured differently before Nuclear War, now they all look the same in colour as Hybrids. The Hybrids now were not restricted to the north, east, west and south now they can survive anywhere. The sound of the birds was like beautiful music, other species of wildlife hybridised also but sadly all the reptiles disappeared and became extinct.

In the Vision of the Apocalypse I saw three quarters of the world's population die. It took many years for the rain to stop burning the skin on our bodies but hope was there for us to start over.

It was decided that technology was evil and so we decided that we would never raise that evil again. The technology created the Nuclear Weapons and they poisoned the earth, the game between countries for power to rule the world, in the end an Apocalypse that destroyed everything we knew, our way of living and caused mass extinctions right around the world. Those creatures are lost forever.

What has happen can never ever occur again. We have been given a chance to start over for a better world and in my hand is that beautiful red heart that is our reminder of what happened. We as people of this Earth could have stopped the powers of Governments and YES most turned a blind eye and a deaf ear.

Little Girl Your Beautiful Red Heart is our Vision of Hope and may the heavens treat you like a little Princess.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.