Fiction logo

Video Footage of Missing Girl

The Vocal + Assist Unreliable Narrator Challenge

By Maureen Y. PalmerPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
11
Video Footage of Missing Girl
Photo by engin akyurt on Unsplash

This story is part of the Vocal + Assist on Facebook Unreliable Narrator Challenge. You can learn more about it here:

~~~

The footage shows a girl, recognizable as Carly Miller, who was reported missing 3 weeks ago. Police statements have repeatedly expressed fears for Carly's safety. The girl sits, harshly lit, against a cement block wall, and begins speaking slowly and flatly.

"Hi. I am Carly Miller and today is November 6."

She holds up today's newspaper. The wrist shackles clank.

"This message is to let you know that I am safe. My captors have treated me well. I am in good health. They give me water. They give me adequate food. They let me sleep. I'm not too cold.

They always give me medical care when I need it. They don't hurt me. They don't beat me. They haven't injured me. I don't have any wounds or broken bones. I'm not in pain."

A shadow flickers in the room, and she flinches. Shakily, she continues...

"However, they told me that I will be killed unless $1 million is paid for my release.

And don't involve any cops, or else I'll be killed."

She sobs.

"Please pay my ransom. I'm scared. Please. Please, help me. Please."

She stares into the camera.

...

A beat.

She unlocks her handcuffs and stands up.

"That should do it."

She pulls off her wig and reaches toward the camera.

--END OF FOOTAGE--

HorrorMicrofiction
11

About the Creator

Maureen Y. Palmer

Reading • Writing • Murder!

I'm an avid reader and aspiring author, currently working on my first mystery novel. Here, I write essays about reading and writing, as well as short mystery/thriller/horror fiction.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Caroline Craven4 months ago

    Great story! I didn’t see the twist at the end! Great stuff!

  • Great job!!! Congratulations in placing as a runner up!!!

  • Grz Colm6 months ago

    Congrats on runner up Maureen! ☺️🎉🎉

  • Novel Allen6 months ago

    One whole million, very ambitious youngster this one. I hope she survives.

  • Rachel Deeming6 months ago

    A scam! How awful. Nice story. Or rather not nice at all really. Excellent entry.

  • Mercenary little kid, isn't she? Or not?

  • Whoaaaa definitely did not see that coming! Loved your plot twist! Fantastic story!

  • Grz Colm6 months ago

    Lol this was funny and well-written! Great job Maureen. 😊👏

  • Great story. Thank you Maureen.

  • Mother Combs6 months ago

    Enjoyed reading this.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.