Fiction logo

Vicarishame - 3

I was not the one who did it but still felt ashamed

By Lana V LynxPublished 14 days ago Updated 11 days ago 3 min read
7

"Have you seen his office today?" my colleague, who'd become my boss several months before, asked me stepping into my office on that fateful Monday. His big eyes were even larger than usual from the shock.

"No, I went straight into class in the morning, and just passed by his office now without even looking in. I know he is not there, haven't seen him today yet."

I thought about that for a moment: I should have seen him, we teach at almost the same time. Perhaps he also went straight to his classroom?

We don't refer to him by name anymore, ever since we had a big fallout when he showed us his true narcissistic self. It's always just "him" or his last name now.

"Come have a look," my boss says.

His office is right next to mine on the right side, so it's a 5-step walk. We enter and my heart sinks. I gasp for air with my mouth open in shock.

"What the f...?" is the only thing I can say.

The office is completely empty, cleaned out of his personal stuff. All our offices are equipped with basic functional furniture: an L-shaped work desk with a standard office chair, shelving for books and papers. We make them our own with our personal stuff and equipment. When he moved in, he brought a sophisticated gaming chair and top-of-the-line noise cancelling headphones along with a lot of other video and computer equipment. It's all gone, the office was as clean as the day before he moved in.

"But... I was here most of the weekend," I say. I practically live on campus now that my son is in college in another city. "He must have packed up on Saturday night or very early Sunday morning before I came in. Otherwise I would have seen him. Moving out is not a 5-minute deal."

I'm still processing, in shock. We all knew this day would come, and my boss warned me of this, but I am an incorrigible optimist when it comes to people's ethics and the sense of duty. I didn't have "He'd quit three weeks into the semester" in my bingo cards.

"He quit by email," my boss tells me. I don't know if my mouth can open even wider from the shock.

"Did he write it to you???" I ask.

"Nope, to the dean. I wasn't even copied on it."

I shake my head in disbelief. "But... the students? Who is going to teach his classes?"

It's really hard to manage things like this in the middle of the semester. There's a reason academia works on a semester and academic year basis, and people are supposed to honor their contracts by teaching out until the end of semester, if not the full year.

"We'll have to manage," my boss says. "I have some ideas. I think we will be able to cover his courses until the end of semester and then we'll plan from there."

Soon, we are joined by two other members of the department and our human resources officer. Together, we strategize on how to cover for his classes and to reassure students (some of whom are in uncontrollable panic mode, I am told) that we will make sure they get the knowledge and skills they were supposed to get through those courses.

We all feel a little better after we've developed this preliminary plan. I take a deep breath.

I look around the empty office once again. "I am not the one who quit, but why do I burn with shame?" I say.

"I know, right?" my boss echoes.

"It's the curse of all decent people," our human resources officer says. "I guarantee you, the only one who doesn't feel bad about this is the one who quit."

Vicarishame - A feeling of vicarious or second-hand shame a decent person experiences while witnessing a wrong or embarrassing action committed by someone else.

Here are some other stories from the same "vicarishame" series. In the first one, I coined the word for the Vocal wordsmith challenge:

In the second story, I give an illustration of how it can feel in real life:

Short StoryPsychological
7

About the Creator

Lana V Lynx

Avid reader and occasional writer of satire and short fiction. For my own sanity and security, I write under a pen name. My books: Moscow Calling - 2017 and President & Psychiatrist

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Shirley Belk10 days ago

    Lana, our program had an instructor just up and leave halfway through the semester. She also had a clinical group (taking students to the hospital for practical experience.) I had my group and also took hers that semester. She should have been ashamed...I was just angry with her, not ashamed for her, though. One very selfish woman chasing a man who didn't care across the world she went. I like the thought you gave to these three pieces, and I'll remember the new word, too.

  • This is an interesting word! I've definitely seen this with Leaders, but my mastery of the English language is non-existent haha. Well written and it is really relatable!

  • I've seen so many people do this in all of my 3 previous jobs. But the one I remember very vividly is this one because I was unintentionally an accomplice 😅 This happened in 2018 when I was working in a law firm. It was during lunch break and everyone had gone out to eat. I always eat at my desk as I always bring food from home. Suddenly, one of the lawyers came up to me and asked me to help her to carry a trunk of books to her car. I helped her without even pausing to think. The next day, I learnt that she quit without giving any notice. She was actually clearing out her desk when she asked me to help. I was an unintentional accomplice 😅 Anyway, back to your story, I feel vicarishame for the people who do this too!

  • Rachel Deeming13 days ago

    This makes me so cross! What a thing to do. And what a way to do it. You feel embarrassed, don't you, as a human and in your department, that it reflects badly on you.

  • A great and well written piece.

  • Andrea Corwin 14 days ago

    Gosh, Lana, this statement is SO TRUE (and I know, I've seen it in my many decades!!!): "It's the curse of all decent people," our human resources officer says. "I guarantee you, the only one who doesn't feel bad about this is the one who quit." I can guess what he did!

  • JBaz14 days ago

    A compelling read. Leaving us wondering what horrific thing did he do.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.