Fiction logo

Harbingers of Testing Times

Apocalypse has a new meaning

By Lana V LynxPublished 18 days ago ā€¢ Updated 16 days ago ā€¢ 1 min read
6
Image by DALL-E

An elderly wanderer was walking along a country road and suddenly saw three beautiful women riding horses toward him. As they approached him, the wanderer asked, "Who are you, fair ladies, and where are you going?"

The one in the middle responded, "We are the four Horsemen of the Apocalypse."

"Horsewomen, not horsemen," the one on the left corrected her.

"That sounds stupid, horsewomen," the one on the right smirked.

"C'mon, stop it. I hate it when you two are bickering about this politically correct stuff. We are the four Horse Riders of the Apocalypse," the middle one said to the man.

"Are you, now?" the old man said in disbelief. "I thought the four Horsemen of the Apocalypse were Conquest, War, Famine, and Death. You beautiful ladies look nothing like them!"

"Oh well, thank you," the middle one responded, blushing from the unexpected compliment. "Indeed. Our names are Hope, Faith, and Love."

"Hmm," the old man contemplated. "Hope, Faith, and Love, are you? Then what happened to Conquest, War, Famine, and Death?"

"They were unavailable and God decided to change His game. Wanted some variety from the macabre, I guess. So He sent us instead."

"Hmm," the man thought a little again. "Hope, Faith, and Love. I like it! And who's the fourth one?"

"Jezebel?" Hope responded and looked back.

"She promised to catch up. She got delayed in the village again, if you know what I mean," Faith smiled and winked at the man as he added stride toward the village.

"Break your leg, old man!" Love added as they rode away.

LoveMicrofictionHumorFantasyFable
6

About the Creator

Lana V Lynx

Avid reader and occasional writer of satire and short fiction. For my own sanity and security, I write under a pen name. My books: Moscow Calling - 2017 and President & Psychiatrist

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen9 days ago

    Oh this is great, made me chuckle. He better watch out for Jezebel over in the village. Should have stuck with this three, the old coot. Men, what's on their minds I wonder.

  • Interesting take Lana!

  • "She promised to catch up. She got delayed in the village again, if you know what I mean," I don't know what she means šŸ˜… If you don't mind, could you please explain it to me?

  • Paul Stewart18 days ago

    LOL...I absolutely loved this, Lana. It gave me a big smashing smile and laugh. I loved the irreverence of this, that in such a small bit of writing you gave the characters a lot of sassy characterisation. The line about Jezebel...lol. Brilliant stuff!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Ā© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.