Fiction logo

Vacant Lessons

July 2 Daily Prose prompt: Character has a lot of hard lessons to learn

By Christine AntoscaPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Vacant Lessons
Photo by Julien Riedel on Unsplash

Emma sat across the table from her boyfriend of six years, Noah, wondering why he was being so quiet. He was the one who set up this date, and now, he hadn't said a word to her since they got here.

He's going to propose to you, her best friend's words rang through her mind as she stared into Noah's eyes. She had told Rosa about tonight's dinner, confused as to why Noah suddenly planned it. She didn't think a proposal was possible at the time, but now she was wondering if Rosa was right about the whole thing.

Noah looked nervous, she could see the sweat on his temples.

"Noah?" Her voice was quiet.

"Umm...Right. Sorry. There's been a lot on my mind," Noah said, nervously looked around the restaurant.

"I understand," she reached across, placing her hands on top of Noah's hands.

Noah moved his hands away. "I...I really don't know how to tell you this, and now wasn't the time I was planning on it. I was hoping it could wait until after dinner. But it can't."

He is going to propose to me! Emma was excited. She waited for Noah to get out of his seat and get down on one knee, but that time never came.

"Emma, look, I know we've been together for a long time. And I love you. Believe me, I do. The thing is...it's not working out."

"You're...you're breaking up with me?" Emma couldn't believe it. "But why? We've been together for six years. How could you decide you don't want to be with me anymore just like that?"

"This wasn't a decision I took lightly. I've been going over it in my mind for years.""

"For years? Yet, you couldn't tell me. This is unbelievable. I should've known you were just like the others."

"Emma, let me explain," Noah began.

"What's there to explain? You strung me along all these years, making me think this relationship was actually going to go somewhere. How wrong was I?"

"This. This right here is why I want us to break up," he said.

"What are you talking about?"

"Emma, look. I hate to be the one to break this to you, but you're emotions? You really react to them in an unhealthy matter."

"I do not!" Emma slammed her hands on her table.

"Really? Because that's how you're acting right now."

"And how did you expect me to react? You just told me you want us to break up. To think, I thought you planned tonight to propose to me." Tears started to well up in Emma's eyes.

"Propose? Where would that even come from? In the years we've been together, when have you ever heard me indicate we would get married?"

"Oh, I don't know. Maybe it's because when a couple has bee together as long as we have been, the girl usually tends to believe the boyfriend will soon propose." She got up from her seat.

"Emma, where are you going?" Noah toned his voice down.

"Home. I refuse to spend another minute with someone like you."

"Don't be like that. At least stay for dinner and then I'll drive you home."

Emma shook her head and grabbed her purse. "I would prefer to walk home. Goodbye, Noah," she said, heading out of the restaurant. She stopped when she reached the lobby and sat down on the couch, wiping the tears that fell from her eyes.

I can't believe he dumped me. She didn't know which was worse, the actual dumping or the reason he gave her for doing so. I'm not emotionally unhappy. He sprung this on me. How else did he expect me to act?

The anger for Noah started to subside and then she was angry at herself for going against her better judgement when she met Noah six years ago. Until she met him, she always kept her heart closed from any guy who showed an interest in her. It wasn't until she started to compare her life to her friends, those who were in steady relationships, she let her guard down and got with Noah.

No more. I refuse to let anyone play with my heart again. I rather be alone than be with some guy like Noah. She waited until she was calm and the tears were dried before leaving the restaurant lobby. It was a long way home, but she wasn't in the mood to wait for a cab. A long walk was what she needed to get Noah off her mind.

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Christine Antosca

I am a freelance writer who writes novels as a ghostwriter. I am also a poet. I love to read. Writing poetry is my passion because I really can put my emotions into words when I’m writing poems.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.