Fiction logo

Up from the ashes

The Carshak

By William KingPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
End of Days (Mixed Media- W.B. Gravil 2001)

The road is long. Long, and tiring. Sometimes, even the heroic get weary, I think to myself.

From my perch in the high steel of a crumbling tower I can see the shadows of the travelers grow long in the punishing mid-day sun. They shouldn’t be here. It’s not safe. Nowhere is safe, but it’s definitely less safe here than anywhere else.

Yes, even the heroic get weary, that is true. I am, however, no hero. Maybe I was once, but no more.

“Morons,” I say out loud as the column of travelers shuffle along in the heat. I slide down from my seat and run along a dusty street. All around me the relics of another world, a world left to rot and decay, litter the barren landscape. Giant hulks of metal, twisted into ungodly shapes, rise up from the ground. I run between these metal “trees”, the only trees that I have ever known.

If only I can get to them in time, I think to myself. The sun was already approaching the horizon. Soon, it would slide beneath. Soon, it will sleep. Then the horrors will begin for real.

My leg wraps make a soft crunching noise as I dart between the stacks of stone that may have once been buildings. I am close to them now. I can hear the sound of their animals making soft noises and the sounds of their feet on the ground. They are wearing hard boots. The noise of their laboured footsteps in the heat is like a beacon in the deadly quiet of the day.

Even through the rubble of whatever ruined structure separates us I can hear everything I need to about them. There are five of them. Two clearly are men. Two are women. One is different. The steps are lighter, less drag...Strange.

The sun’s march to the horizon was nearing completion. It wouldn’t be long now. I have to be quick, I thought.

Clambering over some rubble, I changed my direction. I need to hurry.

Sometimes, even the heroic get weary.

I am getting closer. I can feel their movements now. A crumbling wall is all that separates us now! Through the dirty remains of what must only be the glass of a window I can finally see them.

I was right. Well, partially. Two men and two women. They have with them a pack animal and what looks like a goat. Where is the fifth person? The questionable one? I look left and right trying to see! Then, there she is. A Child! When did someone have a child?

There had been no children in this area for so long! And yet, there she is. Small and yellow headed. The hot wind has blown her covering aside and a sparkling at her neck catches my attention. A small heart-shaped locket dangles near her throat.

In the distance, as the sun sinks to its slumber, the undismissable sound of a ferocious shriek erupts as the Carshak rises from it’s bed.

DAMMIT, I breathe my curse.

I reach to my side and unsheath my weapon. Accelerating my steps, I vault over the wall and sprint toward the travelers. In the haze of the fading light I can already see the fiery trail of the Carshak’s footprints.

The moronic travelers, seeing me rush forward, gasp and shrink back. I reach them, weapon ready, almost as quickly as the Carshak does. The first blast of it’s fire hits the ground in front of me. I knock an arrow into my bow and fire at the beast.

“Run,” I shout at the man. My arrow hits the beast in the breast. It will not stop him. I knew this already. I only meant to give these travellers a chance to escape.

I should have stayed where I was. Safe, I was safe.

The Carshak gaping maw opens and a fire blast incinerates the closest of the two men. There is nothing left of him. The Carshak doesn’t eat what he hunts. He kills simply to kill. The women now panic and start to scream. The animals have run. See, I think, sometimes animals are smarter than people.

My second arrow flies and strikes the Carshak in it’s head. He turns his attention to me.

Pfak!

I loose a third arrow. It hits the Carshak again in the breast. The beast opens his mouth to belch his fire stream at me.

“Enough!” A small but powerful voice interrupts. A flash of ruby red light startles me. The Carshak turns it’s head toward the sound.

The small girl child stands with her covering open. The heart shaped locket is open in her hand. Fire runs down her hands and surrounds her. The hot night wind blows her blond hair about.

The Carshak bows his head and retreats with a whine. It gunts in my direction as if to say, “Next time!”

I look over at the girl and her eyes have become fire. My knees buckle and I collapse.

“The road is long. Long, and tiring. Sometimes, even the heroic get weary.” I hear a voice say. My eyes close in sleep.

“Thank you.”

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

William King

Gen X Dad, Musician, Writer, Artist and Visionary. These are the thought that invade my mind. I share them with you! Do you feel lucky! YOU SHOULD!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.