Fiction logo

Unsung

What did she do?

By Rebecca CantuPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

PROLOGUE

No one ever told me that life was easy. I was always told, "Work hard. Pay your bills. Keep up with the Kardashians!" Lol, and that's the funny shit...the more depressing thought though is...No! No, I won't get into that. However, now I find myself in a complicated situation...I have this thing, this object that could literally kill you, if you are not already dead, mind you...

AND I HAVE NO IDEA WHAT TO DO WITH IT...

So, you tell me but before you decide...let me tell you what actually happened...

Chapter 1

"Something blue." Mom states, as she places her artificially grafted orchids formed in a daisy chain across the band of my veil.

"You know, Celeste, that I too wore these same midnight orchids on my wedding day. Your Gram-Mamma created this particular flower," Mom reminisces with tears in her eyes that practically begged to drop but doesn't quite make it beyond the mascara and lash extensions.

"Yes, Momma. Thank you for this beautiful legacy...something blue, one of four traditions right? However, it doesn't count for something old?" I questioned calmly, because Father knows, we don't want to set her off.

"Oh, no sweetheart, your aunt has the "old", however I refuse to let anyone trump me in this little tradition," Momma scoffs as she is looking down on my daddy's sister who just entered the room.

"Matter of fact, here is your dear Aunt Stella, whom I am sure has "the something old" for you, seeing as she is ancient herself. "

"Momma!" I exclaim as Aunt Stella makes her way towards me, "This is my day! If you can't find it in you to act civil, then GET OUT!"

"Celeste, child. Stop scolding your mother on my behalf. All of this, THIS pomp and ceremony means nothing in the end. TODAY, today is about you child, so let it be. Yes?" Aunt Stella says gruffly but with authority as she stares down my mother.

"Yes, well...I will see you in the sanctuary darling," Mom states timidly as she backs toward the door.

"Aunt Stella, I do believe that my mother is scared of you. " I offer as a means to diffuse the awkward situation that Momma left us in.

"AS SHE SHOULD BE," my Aunt thunders across the room.

"Why, Auntie, whatever do you mean?" I ask with both humor and trepidation in my voice.

" Something old, something new, something borrowed, something blue. These are insignificant unless the one object encompass them all!" My aunt recites, while she reaches over and snatches the orchids from my head.

"This is meaningless!" She states as she throws my Gram-Momma's orchids to the floor and she places something in my hand, "However, child, this...this will be your future. It's time...find it's home and all will be res..."

And that is how I received the locket...I only wish that my Aunt Stella lived longer than 30 seconds after giving it to me.

Because it wasn't just my world shaken...it literally was everyone's world.

Chapter 2

"Celeste, WHAT DO WE DO?!" Monique screams, as our world yet again rumbles and starts collapsing in on itself for the fifth time in three months.

"RUN!" I scream at the top of my voice, hoping to save as many as I can.

"Where?! Tell me where we can be safe? Topside is a wasteland and down here we starve!!! Where do we run CELESTE?" Monique screams at me from across the cavern.

"Run deeper, Monique! Get away from me! I have mapped out all these anomalies across the world...and guess what?!" I sob uncontrollably as I ask this very difficult question.

Monique stills, "Don't ever expect me to go there!! BECAUSE, I won't!" This world was al--,"

"MONIQUE, SHUT UP! I know what I am saying to you is true and I DON'T need the idea of validity or argument you want to bring!!! Just gather everyone you can and get the fuck out!!"

"But, Celeste..."

"GET THE FUCK OUT, NOW!!" I scream in her face because I can feel the agony that is about to happen in my bones.

Monquie gives me a measured look, nods her head and starts screaming, "Everyone, leave everything and FOLLOW ME!"

As people start gathering around her, confusion written across their faces, Monquie looks at me and nods saying, "Remember, Celeste...and remember what she has done and how. Today, we RUN...perchance tomorrow we fight!"

And that's how I started an apocalyptic war...which, to a certain extent, was already happening but history won't remember that. I just finished it...unfortunately.

Series
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.