Fiction logo

Unseen Passing

The passing time falls into the sea, startling a circle of ripples, rendering a halo, swirling in everyone's heart.

By Angela R BillipsPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Unseen Passing
Photo by MohammadHosein Mohebbi on Unsplash

  The passing time falls into the sea, startling a circle of ripples, rendering a halo, swirling in everyone's heart. Everyone knows that time is alive, he has wings, can be a day a thousand miles; sometimes and capriciously dragging, hesitant. And you know that time is also a cute child, will play a little nature, pampered. He has a remarkable memory, happy, sad, sweet, sour, and bitter, everything comes to mind, all in front of you.

  Memories are always warm and can filter out painful components. In the hourglass of memory, time is like flowing water, slow, light, melting, fading away. The memory, too, is slowly shallow and old.

  But, the scars left by the heartfelt past will always heal slower, right?

  It was winter. The world is getting warmer, and I'm afraid of the cold, I took off my gloves, put them on my mouth, and breathed, and couldn't see the world in front of me. The pedestrians on the road were walking and stopping, and I was waiting. I was waiting for a familiar warmth, a familiar voice, a familiar figure. The first time I saw you, I was waiting to meet you in front of McDonald's, but there was no news. She is considered a formal first BFF, although we have not met several times. I insisted on waiting in the cold wind, through the glass window, inside is another world.

  Her cell phone was not turned off, but she never answered the phone. There was no flashing alert on the WeChat page either. I was as helpless, lonely, and numb as if I had been abandoned. Every one of my friends is hard to come by, but I can't count the number of real "friends" on my fingers, and they are accidentally forgotten, like strangers. This makes me even more cautious, like walking on thin ice.

  I still don't know why she didn't come that day, because it was as if she had evaporated into thin air. I started not replying to my messages and it was like I was singing a solo. When I got angry, I deleted all her contacts. When I thought of my stiff body that day and my feet that were soaked in cold water, I felt the fragility of friendship for the first time.

  The first time I felt the fragility of friendship, I stood in the cold wind of winter, and the snowflakes were wrapping the cold city in droves. I thought of the sincere and priceless love that had passed away and wept silently.

  After that, I gradually wore out my passion and sincerity for the people around me. I was afraid of tasting that abandonment again. As if to verify my answer, society became indifferent. The news reports of tragedy after tragedy made me lose sight of the world. Our lives don't seem to be changing much, but some things are still different.

  When I was a kid, I always believed that if I treated people with sincerity, I would always be rewarded. But, it's still changed.

  Everyone is changing, every second is changing, and the next second seems to be very short, but the same confusion.

  I don't know when I became less afraid of being alone, but I've been alone for a long time, and I'm not getting weaker, but I'm getting stronger. The fact is that you will not feel that growing up is a cruel thing, but when you look back, you won't regret having grown up this way. The fact is that you can't learn to depend on others, you can become dependent on others. It may not be a good thing.

  I believe that the beautiful life is a wordless elegy, the loneliness of the heart has long been ice, and you, the most beautiful sound of the season. You are the most beautiful note of the season.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Angela R Billips

Reading is the best learning

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.