Fiction logo

Unfulfilled Promise

The beginning

By Joseph whitePublished 3 years ago 3 min read

The year is 2153, and the earth has become a mutated wasteland where humans can barely survive. Most of the big cities lay in ruins, most overrun by vegetation, some of it, very deadly to the humans that have survived in this world. How did the world end up like this you ask, about 5 years ago, a meteor broke apart while entering the planet’s atmosphere and when the pieces hit ground, well, let’s just say that the black sludge that poured out was a very bad thing. If you think large man-eating plants is bad, well, that is nothing compared to what the black sludge did to the people it came into contact with, it changed them into brainless, blood thirsty, animals. These creatures have no conscience and will kill anything and anyone, I should know, my wife was killed by her own brother after he came into contact with that crap. After killing her, he still had enough intelligence to run for his life. So, I have been tracking him for the last 2 years to avenge her and put him out of his misery. My name is Jackson Riker. In this day and age, most people now live in walled off cities for protection, but, a very brave few still travel the world. Some, like me, do it for revenge on the creatures that took our loved ones, some fools actually do it thinking that it makes them heroic, as if by traveling the world they can take it back from these creatures. That’s not the case. Seen too many good people die from thinking along those lines, but, most people would call me insane, stupid, or say I have a death wish, and in truth, they may be right, I just might be all those things and more. Anyway, I tracked my brother-in-law to what remains of the World Trade Center in the Ruins of New York City. Been searching the place real carefully, cause those beasts like to hide in ruins like this. I have spent the last two hours going through the place, searching rooms, some cases killing some creatures taking refuge in this old place, but, this last room, an office of some type of big shot if I had to guess, has something very peculiar in it. I have found a body, in which the chest has been opened, with claws and teeth by the looks, and the organs on the inside be missing. That’s not the most interesting part, though, the man was grasping a heart-shaped locket and a letter. The letter reads this:

“To the one that finds me, I have been hunted by two beasts over the last two years, one of them my wife, and some man I have never seen before. Please take this locket to what is left of California. On the back of this paper you will find a map, it will lead you to the resting place of my ancestors, this locket belonged to one of them. You will find the shape of the locket on a specific grave, please put it there. If you happen to come across beast that was once my wife, and her new companion, please end her misery for me.”

Well ain’t that some shit, it looks like my quest just got more dangerous, and complicated. From what I can see, the creature accompanying this poor soul’s former wife is non-other than my own brother-in-law. Well sense his wife and my brother-in-law happen to be traveling together, I guess I will do my best to honor this man’s last wish, but holy hell, I gotta go to California, that is one hell of a long trek. Well I guess I should take the heart-shaped locket and the map and be on my way, never a good idea to stay in a place like this for two long. Well Richard, if things go well, I will be seeing you soon, and hopefully, putting an end to this. Time to go.

To Be Continued….

Series

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Joseph whiteWritten by Joseph white

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.