Fiction logo

Unforgettable

Part I

By Nena OvoxoPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like

I never had the best luck when it came to relationships. Most of the guys that approached me were nothing like they painted themselves to be. I lived in a small town in Texas, not far from the main cities. It was a town where everyone knew everyone, and nothing major ever happened. It was a crisp first day of fall, I went to the local coffee shop downtown, nothing too fancy. I ordered the same thing I always ordered, ‘large pumpkin spice chai tea latte with a shot of expresso’. Nothing out the ordinary, till he walked in…. He was tall, slim build, light complexion, thick dark hair, with multiple tattoos. He wore a grey tailored suit. He looked around the café, as if he was looking for someone. I couldn’t help but to stare at him. Unexpectedly, we locked eyes. He grinned. He walked up to me, and asked what my name was… Unresponsive, I couldn’t help but stare at him. His eyes where this caramelized color, that reminded of the first leaf to fall. “ma’am?” he looked at me with some slight concern since I couldn’t get any words out. “yes?” I responded. “I saw you across the room and wanted to introduce myself since I’ve never seen you here before.”. Structed by his appearance, I couldn’t do anything but stare and have utter word vomit. “Eva. My name is Eva”. With this low country tone, he goes “Nice to meet you Eva, my name is Kamryn.” He reaches out to shake my hand, but I froze. With my schoolbooks in one hand, and my coffee in another, I couldn’t help but question so much. ‘Why approach me when there’s a bunch of people he probably never seen in this café.’ “Where are my manners?” he states. As I stand there confused and in utter shock, he walks to a table, pulls out a chair and ask, “would you like to sit down, those books look heavy?” He approaches me, takes the books from my hand, places them on the table, and offers me to sit down. As I sit, I tuck my hair behind my ear, and continue to stare. As he sits, he laughs, and starts to look over my books on the table… “I’m assuming by the stack of books, you’re in school for criminal justice.” With hesitation I answered, “yes, I am”… As he continued to look through the books, and look at my face, I couldn’t help but question what was going through his mind as he looked over my direction. As I sat there confused, I couldn’t help but ask him, “is there a specific reason you approached me? Not that I mind, just wondering sir.” He busted out laughing and smiled, “no need to call me sir, seriously. And I approached you because you stood out in the crowd. Plus seeing the stack of books, made you look like a geek.” Slightly offended by this, I exclaimed, “I am not a geek!” He laughed. As though I made some type of joke for his amusement. Sitting there with a smirk, something about him was extremely mysterious. Though I had so many questions, I couldn’t help but wonder who is and things that ran through his head. “Well Eva, I’m sure you have a long day ahead of you, and lots of studying, I’m going to let you be. I’ll see you later.” He chuckles as he gets up from the table. And even though he was a complete stranger, I couldn’t help but blurt out, “When?!” He smirks. “It’s a small town, don’t worry. We’ll see each other again, real soon.” As a sat there confused, he walked out the door with a smile.

As the day continued, I couldn’t stop thinking about him. He left me with so many questions and some major concerns that made me wonder. Did he know me from somewhere and pretended not to know me? Has he seen me before considering how small this town is? Where exactly is he from? I couldn’t stop asking myself questions about this mysterious man… Later that day, I decided to hang out with some friends to get ‘him’ off my mind. Hope and Kaylyn where two of my best friends, and I couldn’t help but spill my guts about ‘you know who’. “How in the world does someone just start a conversation, and doesn’t even explain who they are?” questions Hope. Kaylyn sits with not only delight, but amusement as well. “How is this even remotely funny Kaylyn?!” I asked with much confusion. “Think about this, you meet someone in a coffee shop you go too, literally everyday. You carry though books, INDEED like a geek because you carry them more then a pastor with a bible…” she states. “hey!” I shouted, as she is not wrong. “you don’t talk to anyone unless you’ve known them for long period of time….: she continued. “She’s not wrong Eva”, Hope says. “He by forced, unintentionally, made you socialized without you realizing it because he could tell what kind of person you were just by your appearance”, she continued to say. As I sat there, trying to deny everything Kaylyn was saying, I couldn’t help but wonder what exactly he saw. Hope and Kaylyn laughed, as I sat there completely spaced, confused and slightly concerned. “It’s not fair how well you both know me”, I exclaimed. As we walked through the park, we continued to talk about our day, per usual, and they couldn’t help but to ask about the mystery that is Kamryn. “How does he dress, Eva? Is it like the guys around here?” asked Hope. I stopped to think, and realized how different he did dress compared to the other guys in toys. “Well, he wore this grey fitted suit, with cowboy boots. But they looked like regular dress shoes if you didn’t look too direct at them.” As we sat on the bench, Kaylyn yelled out, “is he yay high, with tatted lips on his neck?!” Confused I answered, “yes?”. Kaylyn schrieks. “Do you realized who that is?” “Should I?” I asked. “That’s the Chief Deputy Sheriff son!.” With confusion, I couldn’t help but say, “ huh?” She laughs like I said something funny or comical. “He’s the Chief Deputy Sheriff son. He’s very well known because of him. I might say also, he’s very handsome. And when I say he, I meant the dad.” Kaylyn and Hope laughs. “Kaylyn!” I exclaimed. Though I couldn’t help but think about everything she said.

As I depart ways with Hope and Kaylyn, I go about my night as usual. Watching my favorite tv show, I hear a knock on the door. Considering I live alone, and it’s late, I was concerned and slightly scared of who it could be. I look through the peep hole, I see nothing. “hello?” As no one responded, I slowly hesitate to open the door, since I didn’t know what would be on the other side of the door. To my surprise, I see a batch of sunflowers and roses on at my door step. Concerned of whom it’s from, a card was attached. “It was great meeting you, hope to see you again soon. – K”. Shocked by the surprise, and romantic gesture, I couldn’t help but be slightly freaked because all I could think about was ‘how the hell did this man know where I lived?!’ Looking around the halls, I grabbed the flowers, brought them in and locked the door completely. Nervous and slightly scared for my life, I showered and made tea for bed. As I lay in bed reading my book, I couldn’t help but think about what Kaylyn said today, could she be right about this mysterious man. Who is he?....

End of Chapter 1

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.