Fiction logo

Under a Frozen Pond

And scared

By AnnPublished 3 years ago 3 min read

Marcus wrapped his arms around me it felt so warm. I couldn’t remember when it felt this good to hug someone. Then he looked at me, grabbed my face, and kissed me. That kiss ran chills throughout my body. “I love you,” he said.

“I love you too,” I replied.

Marcus and I had been dating for years. We were finishing our date, we stood at my door step, and right before he left he got down on one knee, and asked me to marry him.

I said, “Yes!”

We kissed some more and he went home. Over the next few month we planned our wedding. The day came, we got married. It was really nice. It small wedding just close friends and family at a small chapel.

Things were good at first, Marcus helped around the house, we went out regularly, he was loving in every way, showed affection through out the day, and easy to talk to.

Then one day, as we were talking, “You the dumbest person I know,” he said.

What he said caught me off guard. He continued to put me down. I thought to myself maybe he just had a bad day. “Hey Marcus, you having a bad day or did something happen?” I asked him.

“I don’t want to talk about it,” he replied.

Later, I would find out his day was ok he was just being ugly. As time went on he got uglier and meaner. One night as we laid in bed, I started to kiss on him while he was on his phone. I was hoping by me kissing on him he would want to get off his phone and love on me in return. “Leave me alone” he said.

“Ok,” I said.

I rolled over and went to sleep. I was so hurt but I didn’t want to fight. As I drifted off to sleep, “Why you even bothered getting in the bed with me, if you were just going to go to sleep?” he said so rudely.

I didn’t say anything, I wasn’t going to argue when I was just kissing on him and he told me to leave him alone. I got up to go into another room. Next thing I knew he got up too went by the door of our bedroom. When I got to the door he just pushed me down, then just stood over me, yelling at me. I wasn’t sure if he was going to hit since he pushed and I couldn’t get up sense he was standing over me.

He was so cold like a frozen pond and I was in the pond and could get out. I just laid there and prayed he would let me get up and leave me alone. Next thing his phone rang, he answered his phone it was his mom. I was so glad she called, she could tell something was wrong with him. He got a attitude with her, “Where’s Rachel?” She asked.

“She’s here, but she can’t talked,” he told her.

“Please,” she replied.

“No,” he said.

She could tell something was wrong. She hung up with him. He was still so cold. After about 20 minutes there was a knock on the door. It was the police doing a welfare check. Marcus had answer the door they heard me crying came in saw the my face and the brushes on my face. They arrested him. Before they took him, he kept apologizing, the cold frozen look on his face was gone and I did feel like I was trapped under a frozen pond.

Short Story

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    AnnWritten by Ann

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.