Fiction logo

A Piece of Cake

And more

By AnnPublished 3 years ago 3 min read

As I sat waiting on Mark to show I thought of all the pain I have been through the last year; the abuse, loosing a job, being broke, and feeling alone. I started a new job a few weeks ago and with the first paycheck I paid bills and with the little I had left I decided to come to a small Mexican restaurant to treat myself. I asked Mark if he would like to meet me there. He said, “Yes.”

I didn’t want to be by myself. I wasn’t sure if this was a good idea. I wasn’t sure about Mark. I barely knew him. I met him at work. He seemed to be nice. I wasn’t attached to him though. I didn’t care at this point. I just got out of an abusive relationship to where I have permanent eye damage, lost my job due to cut backs, got evicted, and was alone. Just found a new place to leave. My tolerance for ugly, mean, controlling, arrogant;etc. person or situation was very low.

When he showed up we ate and visited. I got to know him better. I think every sentence he said started with I. “I’m a chemical engineer,” “I’m a chemist,” “I’m the one who served in multiple countries,” “I’m the one who is smarter,” and so on he talked. After twenty minutes I was ready to go.

He ordered me drinks, when I didn’t want them. I told him I don’t like a lot of alcohol. That’s when he said he was a chemist and he knows what he is talking about and knows my body can and can’t take it. I was so pissed off. I didn’t say anything I just thought, this dumb jerk is a chemical engineer, but by that I guess he thinks he is a chemist and bio chemist and that he know how everyone’s body reacts to stuff.

When we were done with the meal, the waiter asked if we would like some dessert. “No thank you, I’m full,” I said.

“She would love some dessert,” Mark said to the waiter.

“Mark I don’t want any, I’m full. If I eat dessert I’m going to be sick,” I said to Mark.

He didn’t respecting anything I had to say the whole time. He then asked the waiter, “What do y’all have for dessert?”

The waiter gave a list of the desserts they had which included a big slice of chocolate cake. The chocolate cake is what he chose.

“You going to eat it? Because I don’t want it,” I said.

“No, it’s for you,” he said.

“You know I didn’t want any dessert. I said it several times. So it’s not for me,” I said rudely to him.

“I want to see you eat it,” he replied.

I just sat thinking, should I leave. The chocolate cake came. Mark sat across the table from me. The waiter put it exactly in the middle of us, then Mark pushed it toward me. “Eat up,” he said.

I picked up a fork to take a bite, then it came to me with other hand I pushed the plate all the way across the table till the fell in his lap. “Help yourself,” I said as I got up from the table to leave.

I didn’t bother to see his facial expression or if he had a response to what I just did I didn’t care. He was so rude and self centered.

I prayed my next experience with chocolate cake will be better and sweeter.

Humor

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    AnnWritten by Ann

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.