Fiction logo

Unchanged

Was it something I said

By Amariah BrownPublished 12 months ago Updated 12 months ago 4 min read
1
Unchanged
Photo by Ashton Bingham on Unsplash

"None of these are giving lime." I said tossing the swatches at the wall. Crying won't change the color of the wall, the wall wont change what happened, but I was hopping, I needed it to help. Melanie walked up to the door way and leaned giving me a pitiful look. "None of these greens are right." I said as if that explained why I was standing there surrounded by green swatches. She sighed as if she were about to speak but I quickly held up a hand, "Whatever you are going to say...Don't. " I said pushing her slender frame out of my way. At 5 foot 11 Melanie has never been small but with how angry I was, I was sure her height would mean nothing if I decided to put my hands on her. I would never, not even after what she did, but I could and would spend the rest of my life fanatsizing about hurting her. I won't though. I need to put this energy into something productive, and this house needs to be remodeled. As soon as I find a mint green for the front room. "I need to find the perfect green." I thought to myself as I paced the hallways of the house. I could feel Melanie walking towards me, shes a glutton for punishement. That is the only reason she would follow me around knowing I won't allow her to speak to me. I never want to hear her voice again, and never was to soon.

A week earlier

Melanie-

Shelli rolled on to her back as if she felt me watching her sleep, and smiled softly, "good morning baby." she said reaching up to kiss me. I grabbed her hand placing kisses on her palm and wrist. "G'morning. How long have you been awake?" I whispered to her. A slight blush took hold of her, "I don't wanna say. I didn't want out time to end." she said. I stared into her smoothy honey brown eyes before kissing the freckles that dotted her nose. "Our time is eternal Shells." I said between kisses. Shelli grabbed my face, "But it isn't Mel, and every second counts so lets not waste any more of them." she said rolling on top of me. The sound of the door opening halted our movements, as our eyes collied with the intruder at the door. "Melanie?" He asked confused. shit. I pushed Shelli off of me and on to the floor, unfortunately between me and my husband. "What... what is this?" he asked not moving from his spot in the doorway of our bedroom. "Melanie... what's going on?" Shelli asked wrapping her small body in the sheet. "What are you doing here? The work trip?" I mumbled. The three of us exchanged looks in silence before Shelli stood up. "Sir I'm so sorry. I had no idea she was seeing someone. I...I'm leaving. I'm so sorry." She said taking a hesitant step towards the door. My husband brushed past Shelli and walked up to me. Its like he didnt even see her. I looked at him terrified at the rage I saw in his eyes, "Shelli Run!" I screamed grabbing on to him. It was useless. He tossed me off of him and grabbed the glock he kept loaded in a box by the bed. I ran after Shelli, ready to use my body as a human shield if needed. My husband was faster though knocking me aside as he took aim at Shelli right as she reached the front door. No scream left my mouth as I watched her body flail to the ground. My husband came to a stop over her body, but I couldnt watch. Her whimpers echoed through the house but the next shot never came. I opened my eyes and to my horror I saw my husband standing with a rebar through his eye. "Shelli what have you done?!" I screamed as my husband dropped to his knees, and collapsed. "He... He shot me. I didn't mean to.. I just reacted." she said scooting away from his body. "Call 9-1-1!" I cried over his body. Shelli crawled to the door, and attempted to leave me with this mess. The addrenenal began to pump and I just reacted.

Now

Shelli

This house is ugly, but I am up to the challenge of making it a home. Melanie and her husband never got around to finishing any of the projects they started, not surprising. This house has always been a reg flag but I was blinded by love, and paying for it. I grabbed some sand paper and started on the stairs and soon enough Melanie was hovering around me watching silently. Her husband had painted the stairs but didn't sand the finish off it before hapazardly slapping a coat of paint on them. "Gotta sand off this shit before I repaint." I said between huffs. "If you aren't going to help, go away." She left, of course, I didn't expect her to help. She wasn't interested in helping just driving me fucking crazy to the end of time. I was able to get the stairs sanded after awhile, and decided to try to look at the paint samples again. Unsurprisingly, Melanie showed up again looking forlorn, and probably wondering why I always made it back to this area. She won't ask me because she knows I won't answer. She deserves this. She lied, she cheated, and then she murdered me.

Short StoryMysteryLoveHorror
1

About the Creator

Amariah Brown

I had an idea for story and then I just started writing. Join me on this journey, and leave your thoughts!!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.