Fiction logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Two Minutes

For Everything to Come Undone

By Uncle BunkPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read

Hundred twenty.

Cold sweat evaporates in the spotlit night air as my silent flight crosses dewy grass towards the facility. No time for missteps, errors, or anything without purpose. Five long months, but sixteen even longer. Hundred ten. I close the distance on the three story climb up the brickwork on the northwest corner. Handholds secured in recessed mortar, wiry strength on adrenaline high propels me vertically. Eighty. Outside of the records office. Don’t mind that backwards drop. Seventy. Sidling onto the windowsill, I grab my hammer. Once the window alarms go off…

Sixty.

Shrieking sirens herald my shattering emergence, stenches in the dark accosting me in sickening remembrance. Credentials markered on my arm get hastily entered into the nearest monitor. Accessing the remote server, I insert the hard drive. Got you bastards. Forty. Access my patient files. Prescriptions, disciplinary action, withheld “privileges”, electroconvulsive therapy, internal abuse reports. …Can’t unsee what they did to me. Wait. Twenty five? Footfalls rush through the outer corridor. I turn off the computer. Fifteen? Keys rattling outside, I bolt for the jagged window opening. Five? Staring down a three story drop, resurgent memories cripple me. Behind me, the door bursts open. Three… two…

One.

PsychologicalMicrofiction

About the Creator

Uncle Bunk

“The most merciful thing in the world, I think, is the inability of the human mind to correlate all this bullshit.” -Howie P.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Uncle BunkWritten by Uncle Bunk

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.