Fiction logo

Turquoise Moon: Part 1

By: Karly Krull

By Karly KrullPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

It was a rainy, Autumn Saturday morning as Jane walked to the local coffee shop Sip n' Chill. Jane was wearing her favorite Green Day band tee with her new skinny jeans and vans. Jane then approached the front door of the coffee shop and went inside. She ordered her favorite Fall drink, a pumpkin spice latte' and sat down in the corner by herself. She was just on Facebook talking to friends and listening to The Red Hot Chili Peppers and then she looked up and someone caught her attention. A beautiful woman around her age had walked in alone as well and Jane overheard her order the same drink, a pumpkin spice latte'. The other woman sat a table away from Jane so, Jane being the outgoing woman she is decided this was her opportunity to make a new friend.

She went over to the other woman's table and sat down with a friendly smile on her face and introduced herself. She said, "Hi I'm Jane I noticed you were sitting here alone like myself and thought you might like some company." The other woman replied, "Oh that's so thoughtful of you! I would be delighted if you joined me. I'm Jessica nice to meet you." Jane was a lesbian and although she thought Jessica was very attractive didn't want to come on to strong or give the impression that she was hitting on Jessica because, of the chance that Jessica may not be of the LGBTQ community like herself Jane politely asked, "What brought you here alone Jessica?" Jessica replied, "Oh my boyfriend is just at work and I needed to get out of the house." Jane replied, "Oh so you live with your boyfriend then?" Jessica replied, "Yes, it is a nice relationship but, it has it's ups and downs." Jane smirked with a little chuckle and said, "I know what you mean."

Although, Jane already knew what coffee Jessica was drinking because, she had overheard she asked to keep the conversation going. Jane said, "So what coffee are you drinking?" Jessica replied, "A pumpkin spice latte' I live for Autumn and this kind of coffee." Jane replied with a smile, "Same I am also drinking a pumpkin spice latte' and I love Fall!" Jessica replied, "I know right! I love this time of year because, the cold crisp air and Halloween!" Jane said, "It seems like you and I have a lot in common", as she laughed. Jane then said, "We should hang out sometime." Jessica's phone then began to ring. She said, "One second it's my boyfriend." Jessica answered the phone and said, "Hey baby what's up?" Her boyfriend then said over the phone, "Not much just getting off work, what are you up to?" Jessica replied, "Just drinking a pumpkin spice latte' you know I live for them!" Her boyfriend replied, "Oh yeah I know you do I can't wait to see you at home!" Jessica then got a blank expression on her face and replied, "Same baby! See you soon!" Jessica then turned to Jane and said, "Sorry I had to take that I haven't talked to my boyfriend all day." Jane then said with a straight face, "It's cool I understand." Jessica smiled at Jane and said, "You're right though we should hang out sometime. I'd love to get to know you better." Jessica ripped a blank page out of her journal, wrote her number on it and handed it to Jane. Jane smiled and said, "It was really nice to meet you." Jessica replied grinning happily and said, "Same Jane. Text me sometime." Jessica then walked out of the coffee shop on the way back home to be with her boyfriend as Jane pondered on what had just happened. She wondered if Jessica was just being polite or if something more was about to happen. She didn't want to get her hopes up but, she was happy either way.

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Karly Krull

I am open-minded, a free spirit and mother of Viktor Karl 10/9/17‍ 👶💕 Oats Mr. Sprinkles🐈🐈Always good vibes ✌️☮️ Writing is my passion! ♥️#heartlikeahandgrenade

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.