Fiction logo

True Love's Kiss

Monday 1st July, Story #183/366

By L.C. SchäferPublished 2 days ago 3 min read
True Love's Kiss
Photo by Ryan Moreno on Unsplash

Two men stood outside the hospital, staring morosely over the carpark, a wary tension between them. Alex held a cold pack to his face, and Michael had one across his knuckles.

"We're friends," said Alex, gingerly touching what would blossom into an impressive black eye.

Michael grunted. He wanted, and also did not want, to ask for details.

Alex did what many guilty people do: he filled the silence.

"I did something stupid," he admitted. "I was having a tough time, and Viv gave me a hug, and... Well I thought she was making a move, you know? So..."

Michael froze in place, like he was built out of icy edges. Glaring with every pore, jaw tight. He flexed his sore hand.

"Look, it doesn't matter, because she stopped it OK? Nothing happened, because she stopped it. She's refused to see me ever since."

He doesn't know. Michael came to this realisation slowly. The guy has no idea she's been dreaming of him, how much he's got under her skin... How much time she's been spending with him inside her head.

"So... you're friends," he said, voice terse. "How good friends?"

Alex shrugged. "Pretty good. We were kids together. Grew apart for a while. Reconnected. You know."

"But you never dated?"

"Nope. Never even kissed. Wasn't on the cards."

Michael stared moodily at his hand. It was starting to swell despite the ice pack.

If when she wakes up, there's going to be that gap, isn't there? Widening. How are we going to get past it? Does it even matter if she doesn't wake up?

"Do you like dogs?" Michael asked.

"Yes..." The conversational whiplash was almost as obvious on his face as the black eye.

"Ever played that game where two people call the dog and see who it runs to?"

They walked back to her hospital room without a word. Michael tried to still his churning gut. Scared this wouldn't work. Scared it would.

This is my fault. I sabotaged the machine, fried her brain and put her in some kind of coma. This might work. It's worth a shot. I owe it to her. If it does works, then we'll figure it out.

+ + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + +

Word count excluding note: 366

Submitted on Monday 1st July at 23:40

*Quick Author's Note*

First, and most importantly:
thank you so much for reading my story! The ha'penny that Vocal will toss in my hat for your eyeballs landing on this humble piece will be well-spent.

If you enjoyed this one, the very best compliment you can give me is to share it, or read another!

A Year of Stories: I'm writing a story every day this year. This one continues my 183 day streak since 1st January.

Please do consider lending your support to the other creators who are also on this madcap "a story every day" adventure. They are putting out excellent content every day!

Rachel Deeming

Gerard DiLeo

Please do leave me a comment: I reciprocate as many as I can. Leaving a comment makes that easier.

The story behind the story: I always try to write these so they can be enjoyed as stand-alone stories, but you can also read this as a follow on from these:

Thank you!

Thank you again, most sincerely. Especially if you are one of the wonderful people who has been staunchly reading these daily scribbles since the start of the year. I see you, and appreciate you very much indeed!
😁

+ + + + + + + + + + + +
+ + + + + + + + + + + + + + + +

familyShort StorySeriesMicrofiction

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

  • Fly Alone2 days ago

    Hope she wakes up 😒

  • Whatttttttt???? I really wanted Michael to leave Vivienne!

  • Caroline Craven2 days ago

    Gosh, this is addictively brilliant. Can’t imagine his she’s going to feel when she wakes up.

  • Grz Colm2 days ago

    I really like the transition to “Do you like dogs?” And thus what that might represent! 😄👍 Also, I thought you didn’t like Snow White?! Jokes! Hope you have been travelling well.

  • John Cox2 days ago

    Oooh! Me likey where this is going!

  • Sarah Wilcox2 days ago

    Incredibly crafted! I love the stand alone and being able to know the more I was craving with the follow ups!

  • Wow! Hope she wakes up! 😎 very well written!

  • This is such a well-told story that makes me cringe in so many ways! Great work LC!

L.C. SchäferWritten by L.C. Schäfer

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.