Fiction logo

Trinkets

Even death loves life

By Joseph PeelPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
Trinkets
Photo by Amy Shamblen on Unsplash

I love to collect the things that once were. My home filled with the trinkets and memories from those who have passed. From the beginning of their clock, all the way to the end of their time. I have collected the odds and ends of what humans have created. Not really of great importance for anyone, but in my defense, I had nothing better to do.

Life sends me gifts each day, even so I assume it’s her. She sometimes sends a few, and on the disastrous days she sends me many.

I take these gifts and I give them their own special room. Built by my own hands.

The gift would have a painting of you, that I hang up high on the wall. The gift would come with books, and in those books would tell me everything about you. From there I go and take the things you left behind and store them in your own special room.

When I finish making the rooms, I would go through them all and read about all the things you have done. I even have my own movie nights, to watch your cinema movies, I have a few favorites. I admire and adore all that you have created during your time on Earth.

Although I get very preoccupied adding new rooms to my home. I sometimes go to the edge, and stare past the gates overlooking your world. I’m not allowed to go through the gates; it’s against the rules. Even so, I would stand there speaking into the void, hoping for a response, but I’m not sure she could hear me. “I love your gifts!” I would shout into the darkness. No response.

Admittingly, I have never seen, heard, nor have met her; Except, I know she must be wonderful. Everyday she sends me gifts, and I love every single one of them, all unique, and different. I would tell her at the gates, reassuring her that each one is taken care of. Never a response.

I’ve always admired the humans, their ingenuity, control, creativity, emotions, and love. It’s intriguing how you humans express and share love amongst yourselves. I often wondered if it always must be so chaotic.

Then that’s when it happened. I went by the gate after building what I thought would be my last room for the day, gifts poured in. Not by the tens, hundreds, not even the thousands, but by millions. Just flowing, rushing through I simply didn’t have time to take it all in. “Wait!” I shouted. More poured through without any sign of an end. “Please, wait a moment!” I was swept by presents far across to my door. Then, it stopped all the sudden.

Gifts were piled so high, I climbed up to the top, and I couldn’t see down to my home.

“Wh-What is happening?” I stammered as loudly as I could. “Why so much?”

No response.

I climbed down, walked through the gates, and leaned over the edge to listen for you humans. Nothing,

I could only see a shadow cast over your world.

“What happened?” I repeated. Just silence.

Was it all gone? I thought to myself.

I spent many moons taking care of the gifts, I didn’t partake in any of my usual habits, just kept building room after room. I did not have interest to stop and admire the stories anymore. All your stories seemed to end the same way. Just suddenly. I slept, worked, skimmed through your books, and worked through all the gifts. Although, with that much time passing there were no more boxes coming through the gate.

Once finished, my home had grown so much in size. I now have over seven billion new rooms, and I didn’t know where to start, to admire each of your lives. The new rooms were not as decorated and polished as the old ones. I felt bad, but there was just so much of your lives to go through. The morning after I completed my work. I stood by the gate and noticed there was one gift left.

The gift was smaller than usual but weighed the most on my mind. When I opened it, there was a box and a note,

My work is done, and I will miss your voice through the gates. Thank you for taking care of my trinkets.

-Life

In the box was a heart shaped locket. Once, I opened it I could finally see her, peering at me through the gates. She was the most beautiful creature I held before my eyes. Her eyes were bright like an everlasting light shining through. Long, dark hair flowed past her waistline, wisping between the void and the gates. She wore a gown that didn’t seem to hug onto her body like you humans seem to call fashion. Instead, it hung on her shoulders flowing out as to fill as much space as possible. This was truly the best gift I have ever received.

I loved to collect the things that once were. My home filled with the trinkets and memories from those who had passed. From the beginning of their clock, all the way to the end of their time on Earth. I have collected the odds and ends of human creations. Except, without you humans, and no more of her gifts, I decided to go down to Earth. I carried her locket everywhere with me around my neck. As I walked it would tap lightly on my sternum seeming like a bell with every movement I made. Exploring through the streets, diving into every home and showing her all the things’ humans had created. I would even place the locket down on one side of a dinner table, as I sat on the other end, and tell her their stories. It was picturesque, like the perfect date. We even shared movie nights, and strolls through the park taking in the beauty of the world, as the humans once did before.

Moment after moment, I hoped to see her around or to get a glimpse of her wonderful light, but to no avail.

I always admired and adored all that you humans have created. The best thing that you’ve ever had was love.

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Joseph Peel

WrSt

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.