Fiction logo

Training in Tibet

a fictional short story

By Dyllon RodillonPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
7
Training in Tibet
Photo by Raimond Klavins on Unsplash

"Steady your breathing, concentrate, control your heart rate" my teacher instructs me. I'm seated on top of this frozen pond, in the mountains of Tibet, basically naked, in December. On the outside I'm trying my best to keep my composure, but internally my body is screaming that it's cold. Thanks body, I wasn't aware it would be cold outside today. I'm really trying my hardest to resist shivering. I am the master of my body.

For the last few years I've been traveling all across the globe to learn as much as I can about well everything. Martial arts, escapology, criminology, chemistry, biology, you name it I've been studying it. Of course I learned as many dialects as I could so I would know what's going on around me. English, Spanish, French, Russian, Mandarin, Japanese, Arabic, Hindi, Yiddish, Tagalog, you name it I can speak it. That was the first hurdle to overcome but thankfully in time I've become fluent in over 40 languages.

Then came my martial arts training, both armed and unarmed combat. I made sure to only learn from the absolute best. I studied: Karate, Judo, Muay Thai, Taekwondo Lethwei, Krav Maga, Ju-jitsu, and Arnis just to name a few. My body was constantly sore, my knuckles were always bruised and bloodied, and every muscle in my body was worked to its limit everyday. But I knew that pain was necessary, and better yet over time I learned to love the pain.

Most recently I've training the connection between my mind and my body, they have to be perfectly in sync for me to accomplish my goals. I knew anyone can be as strong, as fast, or as big as they come. But if your mind and body aren't in sync you'll never be able to reach your full potential. So here I am on the last legs of my trip working on one of the hardest things I've done so far. Tummo meditation, which explains why I'm here nearly naked on this pond. I need to learn how to control my body temperature.

With my eyes closed tight and in my meditative state. I envision my body on fire, I'm not in pain. But I can: feel the heat, see the light, smell the smoke, hear the crackle of a bonfire, and even taste warm food in my mouth. Without realizing, it starts to work. There's steam coming off my body and even the ice I'm sitting on starts to melt and my body sinks. "You have done it, Bruce! You are ready, your training is complete. It's time for you to head home." With a giant smile on my face I give my teacher a hug. He's right, it's time to go home. I start packing my bags, so I can head into town and make a call for a flight back home.

Making my way into town, I find a payphone. I make a long distance call back to the Eastern seaboard of the United States. A familiar voice answers "Wayne Manor?". "Alfred, it's time. I'm ready to go home". I respond. "Very well Master, Wayne. I'll prep the jet in no time."

Thank you for your time, I hope you enjoyed what you have read today, feel free to subscribe. I have plenty of different articles on many different topics, if you so choose to check them out. Also if you would be so kind, I would greatly appreciate a heart. Lastly; if you really feel so inclined tips are always appreciated but by no means required.

Short Story
7

About the Creator

Dyllon Rodillon

Jack of all trades, master of none.

Feel free to use my link to sign up for vocal+

https://vocal.media/authors/dyllon-rodillon?via=dyllonrodillon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.