Fiction logo

Short story for the green light challenge

viewer discretion advised: language

By Dyllon RodillonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
4
Short story for the green light challenge
Photo by Ihor Malytskyi on Unsplash

"Jordan! Wake your ass up!" I hear from the distance. "What??" I respond back. "Get your shit together, let's go. You're gonna put on a little demonstration today." My superior states. Begrudgingly I head over to my locker and start putting on my flight suit. Let me rewind a little. My name is Hal, I'm a pilot from Coast City. Being a pilot is in my blood, my father was also an astonishing pilot. But: I'm the best there was, the best there is and the best there ever will be. And yes I stole that line from Bret "The Hitman" Hart. But I don't care, facts are facts. I am that great at my job. Luckily no one here watched professional wrestling growing up.

Nowadays I get free range to pretty much do whatever I want when I'm in the sky. As long as I put on a good show and really flex my flying abilities. All jokes aside no one can touch me. At first everything is going swimmingly, just another day at the office. There truly is no place I feel more at peace than up in the sky by myself. The sun is beautiful and weather is just right, I couldn't ask for more today.

Then out of nowhere this painfully bright green light zips across my nose. Whatever it was it was so fast, even I couldn't react quickly enough to evade. Thankfully I wasn't hit. However, I was pretty much blinded for a few seconds. Once I got my vision back I saw that light crash land near the shore behind a small mountain. There was a pretty big impact crater and something metal was clearly in the ground. But why was it green?? I can't think of any craft that emits a green light like that, let alone something that bright. The only instances I know of is when idiots think it's funny to try to blind pilots with a laser pointer. But this certainly wasn't a laser. "Jordan, what the hell was that??" HQ asked "We barely picked it up on our radar. Whatever you do, do not engage. Stay away from the wreckage!!". Yeah, kiss my ass I'm going to land and see what this is. I can take care of myself. Also I'm not gonna let them sweep this under the rug before I can figure out what the hell just happened. Court Martial me, zap my brain with some Men In Black Neutralizer, I don't care.

Well shit, I have absolutely no idea what I'm looking at.. I have to be dreaming. But I swear this is ship is not from Earth... I know that sounds crazy. there's just no way that's possible, but you have to believe me. I've spent my entire life on various Airforce bases domestic and overseas. This craft is certainly not from Earth. It's this weird like, pod. But it's just the pod, like the stereotypical escape pod from the movie "Space Balls" or something like that.

I see this humanoid creature with purple skin seated in a clear chair. He's wearing this weird black and green suit, with a ring on and that ring is blowing bright green. The same color light I saw pass my plane. There's also this giant logo on his chest that matches his ring, but I've never seen this symbol before. At this point I'm absolutely pissing myself, I won't lie. But clearly he's in pain and drastically hurt. Carefully, I make my way into the ship. Not knowing what I can do, but hoping there's something I can do to help. I can't just leave him alone and clearly in pain. But sadly I'm too late.

With his dying breath, the creature tells me "My name, is Abin Sur. Hal Jordan of Earth, you have been chosen..". Then he removes his ring and holds out his hand to pass off his ring to me. Okay, what in the actual the fuck is going on..??

Thank you for your time, I hope you enjoyed what you have read today, feel free to subscribe. I have plenty of different articles on many different topics, if you so choose to check them out. Also if you would be so kind, I would greatly appreciate a heart. Lastly; if you really feel so inclined tips are always appreciated but by no means required.

Short Story
4

About the Creator

Dyllon Rodillon

Jack of all trades, master of none.

Feel free to use my link to sign up for vocal+

https://vocal.media/authors/dyllon-rodillon?via=dyllonrodillon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.