Fiction logo

Trail of Light

An adventuring bloger has found his life is ending. Before he leaves the Earth, he seeks the places where his life was changed, guided by his guardian angel.

By Alex YongPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
Like

Ariella, I wish I could’ve saved both you, and I, but it seems our time together has met its end. I walk in the circles of golden light left by the angel charged with my care. I am happy to see the miracle that saved you, if there is one lesson I have embedded in me, it is that you will always live your life to the fullest. You will never slander, or wait in blood, Ariella, everyone who meets you will know they’ve met an inspiration. I was granted a selfish request from my guardian, before my soul departs for eternity, I asked to visit the places where you changed my life.

He descended into the Earth, I followed in his golden steps, and we traverse a space devoid of sound, sight, smell, and feel. Ariella, one can choose when they live, but no one can choose when they die. I hope you are not overburdened by my loss. I would choose to save you again and again. Reliving the feeling of having the waters smash my weightless body against the stones, and blocking my access to the air I loved to breath. If anyone questions, or wonders how I departed this world, it is but a search away.

Yet, the masses would believe that my life began when my adventures gained fame and fortune. I hope you know, those passionless stories of mine meant nothing to me. My greatest adventure, my most memorable story cannot be recorded with words, Ariella, my life did not truly begin until the day you lent an ear to my tempered heart’s imperfections.

The angel began to ascend, ah, I can hear the falls, Elizabeth Falls. This was the location where my shallow existence met its deepest realization. Motivations changed when the mist of this grand fall dampened us. I focused on pictures, on the words to write, seeking angles and exposures. You stood with a glare pointed at me. Ariella, your anger caught my curiosity and your interrogation ruptured the fetter that fame bounded me with. We fought with words, and mine were as empty as the man they originated from.

You’d be proud, I stand beside the falls, listening to the songs of the fowls, watching the sun’s rays fractured by the vapors. I am untouched by the waters now, one would think I’d fear it, water took my life, but there was no fear, only awe. You’d be so proud of me, Ariella. You saw beauty in being alive in the moment, and I fret myself at the loss of followers and supporters, always seeking to exploit the places my adventures showed me.

“Have thee enough? Is there another destination child of God?”

My guardian sat atop a boulder under the falls, his incorporeal body did nothing to alter its flow. His countenance hung low, something distressed him.

“Mr. Angel, how are you? You seem burdened by something?”

“Ah, child of God, there is no burden on my old shoulders.” He stood and walked up to me wearing a bright smile, his white robes were mixed in with the mist of the falls.

I dropped my head with a chuckle. “Then… what do you say about taking me to the place where Ariella confessed?”

He looked off to the right dropping his gaze. “Come.” He began to descend into the Earth, leaving behind his golden circles of light. I followed, carefully stepping into the circles, and entered the Earth, to the realm of silence.

My thoughts were the only thing keeping me company, and I wonder how I could’ve done a thing for so long without compassion. I was envied, I was supported, and part of me found some fulfilment from it, but I grew to hate the foundation of my motivations. I have told you this, Ariella, my adventures became pleas for readers, for followers, for supporters, and I lived believing it was worth it.

My guardian ascended up towards the hills of Sweden, this was where I gibed you over your choice of fabric. Ariella, you wore a cotton undershirt, the weather here was warmer when we came. I began to enjoy your anger, I guess it was for the fact that it soon became laughter. Though, I wasn’t fully invested in the adventure, we rested, putting our packs and equipment down as I pulled out a notebook leaving a note to article about the importance of the fabrics you wear in the outdoors.

You must’ve eyed my writing, in an instant, my notebook was banished to the ground as your familiar glare bored its way into me. You gave a sneer, holding my arm as you ran down the large hill before turning and pulling us to the ground. We tumbled, I nearly lost my equilibrium, if our hydration was an issue, Ariella, you’d have put our lives in danger. But, I was lost in the moment, laughing, smiling, and shouting.

I ended up on my back, with your head resting on my chest as we stared at the puffy blue skies.

“I love you. I love this.” You spurted out the words as if they were the most natural thing to say. I am sure you must’ve felt the pounding of my heart as it looked for its rhythm.

How brave are you? To speak those words, to reach out to me, not to spur out the common messages my followers gave, but to point out something I denied. You claimed I didn’t seem happy, and asked if you could take me on an adventure. I took the challenge to show you, and my followers, exactly how ‘awesome’ my life was. In honesty, it was a publicity stunt, one I will never regret, Ariella, you truly are an inspiration.

“Have you enough? Is there another destination child of God?”

My guardian stood over me, his face lost in thought. Why was my angel so distressed?

“Mr. Angel, think I could see my funeral? Is it too early, I feel it’s only been a few moments since I passed?”

“Come.” His wings dropped along with his head as he began descending. “Time doesn’t matter for us.” He said before we entered that silent realm.

Your face was buried in your sister’s shoulders as the crowd around you began speaking.

“I’m happy he found you, his stories were always exciting, but they were missing something, I suppose a heart is the cheesiest way to put it. It wasn’t until you showed up that his stories grew that missing heart.”

“I… I couldn’t have said it better. Ariella, thank you, because of you, his writing has helped so many.”

“It wasn’t your fault, Ariella. I know he would choose to save you over and over again.”

What… what do they mean about my writing changing?

I never felt that my writing changed, if it did, it must’ve changed for the worst, I took so little time editing my words because my adventuring partner kept scorning me if I spent too much time writing. But everyone thanked you, it must mean you did more than help me, you helped me help others. Ariella, I don’t know what they mean, but listen to them, don’t feel guilty, I would’ve saved you again and again.

I heard a trumpet sounding up above.

I can’t remember. I can’t remember anymore, where did you confess your love, where did you change my motivations? A… what was your name?

“I’m sorry created child, thou time on this Earth has exceeded what the Most High as allowed. I must lead thee to thou ascension.”

“Mr. Angel… what’s happening?” I stared hard at your face, you finally showed it, you’re walking to a stone in the ground surrounded by many other stones. You held, a…a-a marigold flower, a plane ticket. I’m following you, whoever you are, you captivated my mortal life, please Most High, one more minute of this Earth, let me but lay my eyes on this moment.

“Thy home up above is a place void of tears. The Most High has begun wiping thy tears, thy memories of this world will fade.”

I continued to follow you. You placed down the… plant on the dirt mound in front of the buried stone, it was surrounded with paper barely legible, buried in the dirt, why?

“Look what you’ve done, stupid. Everybody is going on an adventure in your honor.” Your hoarse voice, who are you, why are you in so much pain? What was that paper you placed atop the plant?

I walked up, you scooped a bit of dirt, weighing down the paper, I could read some of the writings, Cheap Flight, flight 815, destination Guatemala City, seat… the rest was covered. I examined the surrounding paper, they all had flight numbers, all to different places. You, what’s going on?

Why do you weep, your tears are overflowing, your body shakes like a thin branch in the wind. What was so significant about the paper you’ve placed here.

I fell to my knees, trying to grab you, but my body and yours cannot touch. Who are you? I am not leaving, not yet, I will not forget, I will not forget this world, focus, what is the importance of Guatemala City… Guatemala City … Guatemala City … our next adventure!

A warm hand gripped my shoulder. No… what was I thinking about? Who is the weeping girl beside this mound of dirt?

“Thy life was a lighthouse, Child of God, I prayed for the call to save thee. But this death shall lead many to a good life.”

“Holy messenger, is it possible for me to return to the Earth? Can I be someone’s guardian?”

“Indeed, it is possible.” He released me and began walking up into the skies, his trails of golden light shimmered and spun, attracting my steps towards the now deafening trumpet call. I’ll come back, whoever you were, I’ll return.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Alex Yong

I am a full time mechanic, most of my free time is spent learning about my career. To break the rut of the system, I started writing, I devote an hour a day for it. My favorite thing about writing is nothing breaks unless I want it to.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.