Fiction logo

To Open or Naw

by Tanjanika Lewis

By Tanjanika LewisPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

“Hey Mr. Sinclair… Mr. Sinclair are you okay?”

“Please sign here.” He said with a vacant look in his eyes.

“Okay but you know this is not my house. I’m just house sitting until the Smith’s come back from Hilton-head.”

“Please sign here.” He said handing me the electronic signature pad without a single change to his blank expression.

“Mr. Sinclair you have got to stop smoking at work.” I say after signing.

With that, he extends his arm at an odd angle, almost as if he had double jointed elbows but not quite.

“Mr. Sinclare, are you okay? Like really, blank twice if something weird is going on.” I say waving my hand in front of his eyes.

Without answering my question he shoved the package into my chest, I had to take a quick step back to avoid getting impaled by one of the brown paper covered corners. Taking the package, I closed the door without saying anything more. Sitting the package on the table in the foyer, I went back to watching part three of Troll Hunters. I’m pulled from a dreamless sleep by a loud popping sound. Realizing its now evening time I start the process of putting the house to bed. Knowing I need to start with kitchen I pop in my wireless headphones, turn on my cleaning play list and head in. I stop dead in my tracks when I see the package sitting on the granite corner top. Turning to the front door, I visually check the locks. Yep, both bolt locks are on and the bottom lock is turned. Looking back at the package, I make a mental note to call my grandma and ask about lucid dreaming. Putting back in my headphone I make my way to the sink to wash the dishes.

I’m rotating my wrists and stretching my muscles by the time I am done with the kitchen clean up, who knew a kitchen that looked relatively clean could take so much to actually clean. If I didn’t know better I would assume they have never wiped these counters or swept under these cabinets. Don’t get me started on mopping. After cleaning the mop water bucket I decide a soak in the huge claw foot tub was defiantly earned. House sitting for the other side has it’s benefits.

I thought watching my favorite show at the moment on a seventy-five inch television was going to be my favorite part about this house sitting job but as I sink into the warm water, I think no, no this is my favorite part. With my eyes closed I reach for my exfoliation cloth on the edge the tub and my hand bumps something solid. My heart is beating in my throat as I slowly open my eyes to find the package balanced on the edge of the tub. Moving slowly as to not agitate whatever is in this box I lift myself from the tub and wrap in a towel. It isn’t until I entered the guest room that I draw a breath. Putting on my clothes as quickly as humanly possible I mentally search my body for any indicators of what I should do next. I could leave, that thought causes a pain in my chest and stomach to flip. I could stay, this thought causes a floating feeling in my belly and chest. So, I’m suppose to stay.

I kneel down and light the candle on the small table in the corner of the room and begin to pray.

"Yahweh, I am requesting that you bring forth my grandmother Nellie Mae Meggs Ceasar, I need to speak with her desperately. I acknowledge that her soul is a part you and you are her and I am eternally connected to you in all ways. I just need you in her form now. I need the wisdom you have given to her being. I make this request as your humble servant. In you son Yeshua’s name I pray."

I feel a gentle breeze on the back of my neck, turning to face the breeze, I can see her.

“Mommie, thank you for coming. I don’t want to waste this time we have been granted.” I say turning to her fully and touching my head to the floor in effort to honor the holiness of her presence before pulling my legs around to sit criss cross apple sauce at her feet.

“No time with you is a waste my Brown Sugar,” she says caressing my cheek. The shy smile blooms on my face before she continues, “ What is it that has so troubled you have asked for me.”

“There’s a box, a package that has come to this house and Mommie, I don’t want to sound crazy, but it’s following me. Like really following me around. I need to know if its mine or if it belongs to the owner of this house. I also need to know if it is cursed or blessed.” Just then I feel something weighted against my left knee, I know it is the package so I don’t break eye contact, I just point to instead.”

A deep warming laugh comes from my grandmother, but when she speaks I know it is I Am speaking “ Child you have been praying to learn more about your roots, I send you answers and you run from it? Within that box is neither blessing nor curse but it is yours. I will not tell you weather to open it or not, that decision is solely yours little one. I will tell you that if you do open it your eyes will be opened and you will not be able to forget nor ignore its revelation.” With that she smiled and warm breeze caressed my cheek as she faded from sight.

Looking down at the box next to my leg I contemplate what I Am said. A revelation. With my hand in to he top of the box, I realize it is warm to the touch. The thought of opening it causes my heart to float. I blow out the candle before picking up the box and heading down stairs.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Tanjanika Lewis

Hello all. There really not much to say here. I'm just a girl who has a lot of stories in her head and I would like to share them with you. I hope you enjoy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.