Fiction logo

To Con a Pig

Simple folk aren't always dumb folk.

By Mark GagnonPublished 23 days ago 1 min read
Top Story - April 2024
38
To Con a Pig
Photo by Lucia Macedo on Unsplash

Mo, Larry, and Curly were simple country pigs. They lived in a small town called Sty, where nothing much changed from day to day. Their homes were humble abodes constructed of straw and sticks, much like their neighbors. Every day was like the day before until it wasn’t.

Curly was in a nearby copse, routing around for truffles when a sinister-sounding voice startled him.

“Hello little pig, I like truffles too. Actually, I’m the best truffle hunter in the world. Ask anyone, they’ll tell you I’m the best!”

Shocked by the interloper’s presence, Curly could only squeak, “But you’re a wolf! You eat pigs.”

“Not me. I would almost never eat a pig. Pigs are beautiful. I’m here to help you and your friends make Sty great again. Wouldn’t you like that?”

“I think it’s doing well already. How will you change it?”

“Introduce me to your friends and I’ll explain it to everyone.”

Having a trusting nature, Curly brought the wolf back to Sty and introduced him to Mo and Larry. Mo was the skeptic of the three and immediately wanted to know what the wolf had in mind.

“My plan is simple but beautiful. First, I will huff and puff and blow all your flimsy houses down. Then you will clear away the debris and I will build the greatest golf course the world has ever seen. When it’s all complete, everyone will come to work for me and I will let you live in the servants’ quarters for a low rent.”

Mo huddled with Larry and Curly before replying to the wolf,s offer.

“We’ll go along with your plan under one condition: you build the brick clubhouse with rooms for us to live in first.”

The wolf grinned his toothy grin, and construction was soon underway. The pigs had visions of a grand new home, and the wolf drooled over thoughts of pork every night. Construction completed in record time, the three pigs scurried into their new home, locking the door behind them.

“Let me in,” howled the wolf, “or I’ll have my lawyers sue you.”

The pigs just laughed. They weren’t stooges, the wolf never bought their land.

This is for L.C Shafer Fucked up Fairy Tails challenge. 363 words.

Microfiction
38

About the Creator

Mark Gagnon

I have spent most of my life traveling the US and abroad. Now it's time to create what I hope are interesting fictional stories.

I have 2 books on Amazon, Mitigating Circumstances and Short Stories for Open Minds.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (31)

Sign in to comment
  • Kathleen Warren17 days ago

    I had so many thoughts as I began to read this. It sounded so familiar, especially after the wolf promised to help make Sty great again. I just wish it were all just a fairy tale. Good one, Mark!

  • The Writer 20 days ago

    some will not believe

  • Lily Séjor20 days ago

    That’s a funny one. That wolf reminds me of someone… vaguely. 😏

  • ROCK 21 days ago

    Haha 😂! I love pigs! And congratulations on Top Story also!

  • JBaz21 days ago

    Congratulations, well deserved top story sir

  • Cathy holmes22 days ago

    Yay piggies. That was great, Mark. Congrats on the TS.

  • Dana Crandell22 days ago

    This is genius, Mark! An awesome entry for the challenge and a very worthy Top Story! Well done!

  • Paul Stewart22 days ago

    This is like the very best fairytales....deceptively simple to scan...with deeper meanings underscoring everything. Loved that the pigs were named after the stooges and how you managed to put together such a smooth and well paced little tale in 363 words. Well done Mark on a fine entry to LCs challenge and an awesome Top Story!

  • Belle22 days ago

    Fantastic! Congrats on Top Story!

  • Nice story

  • Lamar Wiggins22 days ago

    Ha! Stoopid wolf! Great take on the 'fucked up' challenge! Smart pigs make the best bacon! Which is all I can think about now. Congrats, Mark!

  • Congratulations on your top story.

  • Heather Zieffle 22 days ago

    Congratulation on TS! Great take on the challenge!

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Kendall Defoe 22 days ago

    Very sharp and clever, sir!

  • Gerard DiLeo22 days ago

    Well done!

  • Christy Munson22 days ago

    Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Shaun Walters22 days ago

    Great job!

  • L.C. Schäfer22 days ago

    This is amazing 🤩

  • Matthew Fromm22 days ago

    lol this was well done and gave me a good laugh. congrats on the top story!

  • That looks like that pig, Wilbur, from Charlotte's Web.

  • Rachel Deeming22 days ago

    I'm with D.J.. Clever, Mark!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)22 days ago

    Back to say congrats on TOP STORY!!!!!! 🎉

  • Lindsay Sfara22 days ago

    What a twist to this story! Well done!

  • Hahahahahahahahaha dumb wolf! 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 Loved your story!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.