Fiction logo

Title Not Found

Pay very very close attention

By Yvonaé DessusPublished 9 months ago 4 min read
1

“ This is your case, not mine.”

“ But I need your help! I can't solve this murder by myself.”

The room full of mirrors seemed to close in on the two gentlemen as they stared down at the lifeless body of the young woman. The cockier of the two paced back and forth thinking and snorted when he noticed his uptight partner following his lead. They both crouched down and slowly reached out a shaky or confident hand to the lady’s hair.

“ She looks just like her…” the shy one mumbled. Nodding his head and with a quick pause, the arrogant one agreed, “ The resemblance is remarkable.”

In sync, they mirrored each other’s actions, not a beat missing. As the timid fellow turned his back, his conceited partner disappeared.

“ The note said one of us has to be sacrificed,” Timid whispered, “ Which one shall it be?”

They turned to one another, their reflection bouncing between the looking glass, and shrugged simultaneously before Conceited relented truthfully, “ I think it should be me.” A look of shock masked both of their features. The pacing between the two continued, “ I mean you know the killer more than me and you won't get anywhere with me holding you back.”

With bated breath, Timid replied, " W-w-why should it be you? I'm the one who found the note."

Conceited chuckled, an air of superiority laced below the surface of his tone, " Actually, I found the note, hidden behind the shattered picture frame. Lord knows you never look beyond the shadow of doubt. So, I moved it inside the top drawer, where you would see it," he paused for his own dramatic effect, a patronizing glint twinkling in his eyes, " You're welcome."

" You're... you're unbelievable!," The timid voice bellowed, shocking himself of his capability, his voice though not so unfamiliar in its fiery state. The mirrors in the room trembled and Timid cast an eerily look behind him. When he turned back, the conceited voice filled the heavy silence.

" So I've been told," He laughed, not an ounce of responsibility sung in his phrase, " But please, no more compliments. Not the time, don't you think?" Timid rolled his eyes, " If it wasn't so wrong, I would let you be the sacrificial lamb, " the timid voice whispered, " Maybe then you'll know how it feels to be second mate." It only took a few seconds for Conceited's voice to creep back up, " I do.. more than you'll ever know.."

The two voices blended together as they each uttered the defeated sentiment, " I'm sorry." Timid's strained voice vibrated through the abandoned walls as Conceited's vibrative voice reflected off the mirrors enclosing them.

They sat down on the ground, the lifeless body, who poised an uncannily spitting image to Timid's deceased wife, laid forgotten. Timid placed his head on his knees, the movement causing an unlooked for shift, and if he was paying attention, he would have seen the head opposite him do the same. “ I know you hate me. And I hate you too. You're too full of yourself, and I don't even know how I made it to be a detective. We're too different -”

" Yet, " Timid's voice took over, " we made it work while it lasted… But I must admit, you did better before I showed up. So eliminate me, set yourself free.” Together, they stood up and faced the mirror. Timid seemed nervous, so Conceited smirked to himself and nodded to show him it was okay.

“ One last time, partner? ” They asked and laughed, one voice after the other. A hand reached to their waistband and slowly pulled a gun from the belt and they positioned the gun to a mirror and one by one, shot a bullet straight at the middle, causing it to crack beautifully, the intricate uneven lines and missing pieces, did nothing to hide their tormented reflection. There was one mirror left standing. Squaring their shoulders, the bodies fused into one as they pointed one last time.

“ So long partner, set yourself free.” Conceited instructed before shy guy shook his head clear, a determined look appeared upon his face as he stared down conceited in the mirror, pointing the gun at his chest.

“ Goodbye partner.” His finger licked the trigger and squeezed. The room fell silent as timid fell dead, taking his conceited split with him.

MysteryShort StoryPsychological
1

About the Creator

Yvonaé Dessus

A pencil and paper was all I had when my voice was stolen and my depression prisoned me in the white walls of my bedroom. As I learn how to use my voice again, I came here to test out the waters. Hope you like what you see

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mike Singleton - Mikeydred9 months ago

    I love how this twists your mind, some great concepts well executed

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.