Fiction logo

Timeless Brick

If walls could talk, I guarantee there’s a million things they would say.

By NadiaPublished about a year ago 5 min read
Timeless Brick
Photo by Anastase Maragos on Unsplash

If walls could talk.

If walls could talk, I guarantee there’s a million things they would say.

I know there’s a million things I’d love to say. But of course, walls can’t talk.

Knock Knock.

There he goes again. Like clockwork. That’s Michael. Every weekday morning at 8:15 he knocks on the door so him and Rosa can walk to school together. Last day of Junior year. They’ve been doing that since they were 10 years old. I watched them both grow up and go through every single growing pain. I saw them go through puberty and breakups and makeups and everything in between. Yet, I’ve seen the way Michael looks at Rosa. Little does she know that he’s completely in love with her. I know deep down she’d love nothing more than to be with him. I wonder what’s going to happen when they both leave for college. Poor Rosa. She is utterly oblivious. He hangs onto every single word she says. But he can’t tell her, and neither can I because, of course, walls can’t talk.

This apartment complex has been here for years. I remember when it was first built. 1988. I was covered in horrible wallpaper at that time...paisley. Still brings back painful memories. The music was good, though. The very first tenant to move in was a family. They had a teenage daughter. Rebecca. She went through a rebellious phase and the parents were always fighting. Sometimes it was about money, other times the wife was jealous for some ridiculous reason. Usually, they fought over silly things. They never really seemed happy. Now that I think about it, maybe that’s why Rebecca always played her music a little too loud. I don’t blame her. I wish I could have told her to hang in there, but of course, walls can’t talk. They moved out a few years later…but they left the wallpaper.

I once had a single living here. Stanley. He was a simple man. He worked all day and would come home to a glass of brandy. He always smelled of cigars. I didn’t mind him much, but the smell was awful. He was the one that took down that dreaded wallpaper. God bless him. I remember one day he was on the phone, livid. Apparently, he was supposed to get a raise at work, but he ended up not getting it. Stanley was always grumbling about money. He never seemed to have enough of it, yet he always walked around with the nicest clothes, nicest shoes, and a fancy watch on his wrist. I never understood that about him. He never married, had no kids, and had all the money in the world, yet he also never seemed happy. I wanted to tell him to stop complaining and to stop smoking cigars, but of course, walls can’t talk.

After Stanley I went through a brick phase. A few tenants came and went and they all loved the look of my solid brick. “Vintage” is what they called it. It was nice to see that some people still had good taste. To this day my brick is still in great condition, considering the years it’s been. Sure, there are a couple of cracks and chips, but every wall gets chipped away at with time…and toddlers. Toddlers can definitely ruin walls.

I remember the early 2000s. I had an elderly couple living here. Craig and Margaret. They were nice. During their time the apartment always smelled of freshly baked cookies. They had this leather recliner that Craig loved to lounge on. It clashed with the rest of the room, but he refused to get rid of it. Their grandchildren loved to visit them. They had 5 of them. I remember one time one of the kids, Russel, drew on me...with permanent marker. Margaret simply laughed…I was furious. At least she cleaned it off. They seemed content, but not really. I overheard them talking about how they wished they had spent more time with their children. They said life was simply too short. I wish I had told them to make the most of the time they had, but of course, walls can’t talk. Unfortunately, they both passed away a few years later. The apartment was empty for a while after that.

The next tenant didn’t move in until 2010. Carly. She was young; 22 years old. Sweet girl. She was a college student and she worked at the local coffee shop. I remember the apartment always smelled of espresso during that time. I enjoyed her company. She was a simple soul. But she spent way too much time looking in the mirror criticizing herself. She was always complaining that she was too big or that her clothes never fit her just right. I always wondered what the big deal was. Carly had a lot of boyfriends, but none of them stuck around. She also never seemed happy. Sometimes she’d come home crying that some guy never called her back or that she was never good enough for anyone. I always wanted to tell her to get it together, but of course, walls can’t talk. She graduated two years later and moved away.

2013 is when the current tenant moved in. Rosa’s family. I hope one day Michael finds the courage to tell her how he feels. This has been 10 years in the making. Michael is a great guy and Rosa is a lovely girl. They deserve to be happy. If he could just be honest with her, I have no doubt they’d be wonderful together. He’s tried so many times, but he could never get the words out. How I would love to give him a nudge, but of course, walls can’t talk.

I’ve seen so many people come and go from this apartment over the years. If there’s one thing I’ve learned from my time here, it’s that some people are just never happy, and I have no idea why. People are always complaining about something. Not enough money…not enough time…not pretty enough…not good enough. Why is nothing ever enough? I’ll never understand. How I wish they could all see what I see.

I’ve been standing here day in and day out, but I’m sure I’ll be knocked down one day. However, until that day comes, I will stay standing, chipping away, and silently encouraging every tenant that walks through that door. I’ve heard the phrase “it’s like talking to a brick wall”, but maybe that’s exactly what some people need.

If walls could talk, I guarantee they’d have a lot to say. I know I do.

Short Story

About the Creator

Nadia

I've loved writing for as long as I can remember. There's a certain appeal in the ability to create a work of art from a simple thought or an image of inspiration. The possibilities are endless.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    NadiaWritten by Nadia

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.