Fiction logo

This is Dedicated to the One I love

An ode to true love

By Karena GracaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2

My sweet,

I can’t even begin to tell you how much you’ve changed my life. I thought I was meant to be alone – no one has ever understood me.

You never judge me when I want to veg in front of the TV all night – you just sit there in silence, waiting for me to turn my attention to you without complaint.

You never chastise me for drinking too much wine or coffee, but simply join me; even indulge me.

When I’ve had a particularly difficult day at work, you’re waiting for me without expectation.

If I gain a few pounds, you don’t mind – you like me that way.

If I’m melancholy, ill-tempered or just downright surly, you offer me your peaceful grace without so much as an ounce of opposition.

When I attack you, you never fight back. You just take the assault on mute.

Even on days when I despise myself, you never fail to be there for me.

Today was a decidedly lousy one – worse than most. Traffic was horrific and I was late for a meeting. My boss shot me disparaging looks; the client accused me of not caring enough about their business. In my haste, I parked illegally and came out to a hefty fine.

A pipe broke over my desk, sending a torrent of water down on my computer, rendering it useless, eradicating all of my morning’s work. I forgot my cell phone at home.

I missed Mom’s birthday lunch because my calendar had been destroyed in the flood and I wasn’t there to answer the calls. Now everyone is mad at me.

I tore a hole in the seat of my pants – I guess that extra ten pounds is a detriment after all. I had to change into my workout gear, and even when trying to be civil, I could tell the stench of old sweat was offensive to my cubicle neighbors. I mean, those yoga pants had been in my gym bag for over a month – dirty the whole time.

I decided to cut out early but realized I forgot my keys in the boardroom. The CEO was now in there with his accountant and had it booked until 6pm. I didn’t dare intrude so I took the bus.

I’ve never taken the bus before. Apparently, you need to understand the routes and schedules, and just getting on the first one you see is not the correct method. I didn’t ask for a transfer. I needed a transfer. The bus was crowded, but no one sat anywhere near me. I could hear some kids whispering and laughing. I smelled bad. They thought I was homeless. I disembarked twenty miles further from home than when I started. I would have called a cab – but my phone is on the counter at home.

The driver took pity on me and let me use the phone at the depot. Without my cell, I couldn’t even book an Uber.

The taxi arrived and, thankfully; I never thought I’d say this; the driver emanated a worse funk than me. I bet he had a rough day.

When I got home, I asked him to wait while I ran in to get some cash. He waited. I ran. My house keys were still at the office. I had to borrow sixty bucks from my neighbor – and we know that favour will be called upon tenfold.

I broke the laundry room window. I just wanted to get in the house, and get back to you – because you always make everything better.

You, my tall, dark, luscious, rich chocolate cake. You’ve never let me down.

I’ll love you forever.

Satire
2

About the Creator

Karena Graca

Karena is a freelance journalist and blogger living in the peaceful country setting of Charters Settlement, New Brunswick, Canada. Although able to write on most topics, her passion lies in Science Fiction and the apocalypse.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.