Fiction logo

Things That Have Been Witnessed

Someone is observing him without his knowledge.

By Raphael FontenellePublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Things That Have Been Witnessed
Photo by Philippe Ramakers on Unsplash

If walls could talk, we could tell you about so many things. All the things we have seen in our years of existence. Like me, I have seen so much from this man. This strange guy who has been here for at least six years. He comes in here for a few times out of the month.

Like four or five days.

During something that's called a 'lunar cycle'. Whatever that's called. I'm not entirely certain of what that is. Other then this man is strange during it. Moving things around the room. Putting these weird chains onto other walls while I'm completely bare.

Shoving clothes into a secret spot on the floor. One that probably wouldn't be easy to get to.

Then there was this food he brought here a few times. Some of it is what I think a human can safely eat. And some of it is what I think a human can easily eat. I think it is? I'm not sure about that. As the animal that he brings in here. There are always animals that are being brought in here. It changes from cycle to cycle.

First one that I remember was a goat. The latest one has been some form of sheep. Or something like that. Either way, the thing doesn't last long in this place.

Maybe twenty minutes or less. As the man does something weird during this time. His skin flakes and sheds off. Fur growing quickly in its place. Teeth go from being dull as normal to a weird sharp mess. Long claws erupt from his fingertips. And then there's this God awful sound of his bones breaking. The whole time the poor man is screaming in pain.

Which turn into these odd howling noises. Then he start snarling as well as grunting, too. Few times he even lets out these little barks. Those would be sort of cute if it weren't for mauling the poor animal he brought in. And I won't go into detail about that as it's so very much nightmare fuel.

For humans at least. As I don't sleep. Thank goodness for this. As I don't want to imagine the nightmares that I would have from this.

I'm also glad that I don't feel any form of pain. As the man claws me while he's in this state. Snapping and drooling as well. Growling a few times. Once he took a huge chunk out of me. Good thing he didn't swallow what he had broken off.

I think he might have died if he had.

It was also a good thing that I can't die or turn. Otherwise this would be so very, very, very awkward. While he's like this, he's so terrifying to be around. A really drooly frightmare mess. And I'm so glad it doesn't last. By morning he's back to his normal self. Putting on the clothes that he had hidden in the floor.

Then he's leaning against another wall while weeping. The other wall says nothing about this. We all never speak about any of this. We're just here watching him do his weird thing.

I'm not sure if any of the others want to. Or if we can speak to each other at all. As this has been happening for years. And we've never tried to. I've never really tried to talk to anyone.

Anyway, he has a set routine for this time. He vomits into a bucket that he keeps around here. Cleans up his mouth and eats drinks water that he hides with his clothes. Looking utterly tired and unhappy with what he has been doing for a while. Sometimes he cries and sometimes he doesn't. Today, he's crying as he rubs tears with the back of one of his fists. Taking a moment to compose himself and takes a deep breath. Then he started giving himself a pep talk. Calling himself brave, tough, and that he can handle this. That he had managed to not get free last night. And that he hadn't harmed another human being like the other times.

That no one would ever be killed by him. He would make sure of this.

"You got this, Sunshine. Everything is going to be alright and you can handle this.",he mutters. Taking another deep breath as he stood up straighter. Puffing out his chest with a huge smile on his face. Punching the air a few times as he did so. Going from being nervous to being completely confident. Sunshine adds,"You can keep living this way and someday you'll find a cure."

"Just gotta keep on keeping on.",Sunshine reminds himself. Heading to the door as he kept cheering himself up. I hate to say this but, I hope he doesn't. If he finds a cure then I won't see him anymore. And I like having him here. Even if he's a weird drooling monster. It sucks to say that but, I hope he never gets cured.

Horror
Like

About the Creator

Raphael Fontenelle

Horror movie fan trying to write decent horror.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.