Fiction logo

Things Aren't Always What They Seem

Take the Blinders Off

By Adrainne ThompsonPublished about a year ago 5 min read
Like
New Beginnings

Janice was hesitant about hanging out with Jack because he was nothing like her norm. “I usually only deal with men who I have a lot in common with, but opposites attract is a real thing too. Plus, we are out here on this beautiful island for only a few weeks. Who knows if it’ll go anywhere after this. So, what’s the harm? I’ll see how it goes.” She thought to herself.

Janice, an established real estate agent from Virginia Beach, VA. She has a no-nonsense demeanor and she’s very independent. She doesn’t usually fall in love quickly. And that’s because she has an I don’t need a man heir about herself. A miss goodie two shoes, boujee if you will. She is an average height, has a nice figure, with light brown hair. Her preference in her partner’s characteristics were the obvious, tall dark and handsome with a little length to his hair. She wanted him to accent her in every way whether he was dressed in a suit or his docker shorts set. And lastly, he needed to always present himself professionally. So, she could not believe she was somewhat attracted to a man who had a bit of a beer belly, fair skinned, and his hair was cleaned cut...short. Then she thought, “I’m glad I have a good paying job, because I’ve obviously ran up on a nomad.”

Jack a sailor, takes his boat around the world and pick up a la carte jobs as they come along. His personality is quite the opposite of Janice’s. He is very laid back, and calm. He has a whatever happens, happens mentality. And he came across to Janice as being quite the ladies’ man. The only thing they had in common -for the moment- was they both were on a beautiful tropical island. It was a piece of paradise.

As they continued to spend time together, they started to appreciate one another’s company. They were learning to balance one another’s personality. Janice was looking beyond his physical attributes and more into his heart. She realized that she had obviously judged the book by its cover. They had wonderful conversations, practically finishing one another's sentences. They thoroughly enjoyed early morning and late night runs along the water’s edge, and developed romantic attraction. She, started to loosen up, and not be so serious all the time. She let her hair down. She started to appreciate a different side of herself and in turn, Jack was loving her carefree spirit. It was great!

As the close of her vacation came to an end, Janice could not believe what had happened to him, but especially her. Over the course of the time the sun had tanned Jack’s skinned to a nicely olive complexion. There was no access to barber shops, so Jack’s hair had grown down to his shoulders. And with the constant runs, Jack’s little beer belly had started to dissolve. Janice realized immediately that once she learned to love the heart of this man, all of her wants, wishes, and desires aligned. What? Yes. Janice had fallen in love.

The time had come for them to say goodbye. Oh, Janice did not want to leave her newfound love. But all good things must come to an end. Janice returned home to Virginia Beach, VA and…well…Jack went on to his next sailing stop. So, I guess you could say, he goes wherever the wind blows.

After two weeks of returning home, Janice was sitting on the peer right below her beach house as she does daily. Her lifestyle, back at home, is quite predictable. But this time, she seemed depressed. Her company had to let some people go because they needed to downsize. What was she going to do? Then on top of that, she realized she had gone back into her regular routine and gotten complacent. She was bored. She had not had any type of fun since leaving the island. And above all, she missed Jack terribly. Then suddenly, she heard someone call her name. It was a familiar voice. She looked up and ran to the peer’s edge. Yes! Yes! It was Jack. She nearly lost her composure and fell into the water. He docked his boat and they embraced!

She told him how wonderful it was to see him and updated him to her current work situation. And what came out of Jack’s mouth next made her fall more in love with him and ashamed of how she truly judged him at the island. He said, “Baby you don’t have to worry about anything. I will care for you. I have a confession: I was hesitant to hang out with you on the island because you came across to me as having an I don’t need a man demeanor. But after our long conversations and time together I realized it was because you had been abandoned by your father, and you had to take care of your younger siblings and help your mom. You had a tough shell. But after a while I witnessed the real you come out and I loved that person. I know you thought you couldn’t have a future with me because I’m a traveling sailor, but I do this only because I want to. Unfortunately, my grandparents passed away and left me a very generous inheritance. I don’t have any financial issues and I am willing to help you with yours if you’ll make me the happiest man on earth by marrying me?” She said, "Yes! Yes! I will marry you." Then she admitted she had a confession as well and shared what she was feeling before. He said, "Let's do away with all of our cracks in the past, and let's focus on what we've discovered. Let's sail the world together, and we'll always come back to dock at Virginia Beach. As long as I'm around the water, that's home to me."

Well Janice doesn’t usually fall in love quickly, but this love story has truly set sail. They are due to marry on February 14, 2023.

The End

Love
Like

About the Creator

Adrainne Thompson

I was a single mom struggling w/2 small children. Presently, I'm an entrepreneur, author/poet. Never give up!

One of my greatest honors was being the first African American who displayed her poetry in the Suntrust Art Gallery in Graham, NC

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.