Fiction logo

They Killed My Family

Raymond, please stop...

By Sean CorbinPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
They Killed My Family
Photo by Nsey Benajah on Unsplash

Raymond... Raymond, can you hear me? You're all right. You're not in danger. Just hand over the knife and needle. Lay down and we'll give you something to rest. To sleep. Raymond, come on. Don't do anything stupid. We're not trying to hurt you.

Okay, okay, just calm down. Breathe. Just breathe. We'll hide in here until the danger passes. I don't think those bastards will come in. No, they won't come in, the building has been searched already. And besides, it's falling apart from the bombing and gunfire. Yeah, they'll just keep going. Just be quiet.

Wait, shhhh, there's more soldiers outside the window. See, look out the window. But be careful, just a peek, and be quiet. See? They'll pass in a minute. If they do come in, though, I've got something for them. Yeah, they'll see. They'll regret it. But they won't. We're safe here. Don't worry.

What the fuck, they just shot that guy. He wasn't doing anything, just standing there. What in God's name is happening? How could our own government do this to us? We have to fight back. People said it would never happen. We have to fight.

Mother fuckers. Those mother fuckers killed my beautiful wife and children. What else could Jackie do. Of course she pushed the soldier, he was trying to take our children. Saying they were infected... whatever. Lies. Another excuse to control us, control our minds and bodies. She tried to stop them and... and... they murdered her. Then I tried to stop them, and they beat me, and held me while they shot my kids. Ronnie and Jenn. Murdered like dogs, in cold blood. Innocent. All of them were innocent.

I have nothing to remember Ronnie and Jenn by. Nothing. No time to grab anything. And the only thing I have that belonged to Jackie is this heart-shaped locket. I gave it to her as a gift when we were dating. Fuck. I only have memories now. Will their faces, and voices, fade? Oh God, I hope I don't forget.

Um, you know what? We're going to wait until it's safe, then get out of this shithole building, and find weapons. And then we're going to kill those assholes. I know where to find them. I'm not sure how, but that's what were gonna do. My family deserves revenge, and those assholes deserve to be gutted.

Raymond, give us the needle and knife. You're safe. No one here is going to hurt you, I promise, but you can't have those. If you don't give them up, I'll need to take them, forcefully. I don't want to do that. And, if Hank gets here and you still have the knife and needle- he's going to hurt you- bad. Come on, man, give it up.

Okay, here's our chance. There's only two soldiers down there. See? Everyone else left. It's our chance. We'll sneak down, you on one side and me on the other. We'll sneak up on them in those shadows. I'll stab my guy and you hit the other with the bat. We'll kill 'em and take their weapons. Then we'll exact revenge on those sons a bitches who killed my family. Got it? Let's roll.

Raymond, no, stop. What are you doing? Stop. Shit.

God damn it, I had no choice. Damn it, Raymond.

Stacey, hit the alarm. We need medical down here, fast. Shit, the knife went into his chest and, I think his head, it hit the table. There's blood everywhere. Call for help. Ah Raymond, why'd you do that? He's still breathing... Raymond, why'd you do that?

Ahhhh, shit, this hurts. I'm sorry, Jackie. Ahhhh. I'm sorry I couldn't protect you and the kids. I'm sorry I couldn't revenge you. I'm... sor...

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Sean Corbin

A confused, confusable, and confusing dad, husband, and son. A good professional, a better amateur. Writing weird fiction, poems, observations, and reflections.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.