Fiction logo

The Ziggurat

A creators remorse

By Keith EmeryPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
Like

I woke to the sound of a hard rain taping on the old tin roof. As I opened my weary eyes, I could barely make out the hazy light coming from the window it was as if the entire room were a brown, orange blur. I reached for my glasses on the nightstand and placed them on my aged face. Perhaps the blur was better I thought as I could now see all that the eerie brown, orange light did reveal. I should by now be used to my dank and dilapidated surroundings still each day the sight fills me with a new sense of despair. As I rose to my feet and walked to the window, I saw the yellow rain running down the pain and seeping through the cracks the sulfurous reek assailed my nostrils. As I peered out the weathered glass, I could see the rain was lifting the sky was clearing somewhat though the heavy rust-colored clouds remained. As I continued to look out, I observed the bleak landscape dotted with many small shacks like my own each containing a mournful soul or perhaps an entire brood in anguish. What the hell happened it was not supposed to be this way. All the technology and machines were supposed to bring us into a perfect state of existence. It was all intended to give us harmony with nature and free us to pursue intellectual greatness how did it go so wrong? I turned from the window and made my way to the small kitchen and living space (one of three rooms in each tiny abode) and there I sat at the small table pondering what was meant to be asking myself why? It was supposed to bring peace and prosperity and it lead us to war It was going to be a world of good health and longevity and that damn thing brought us plague and misery why? I must be careful it can sense our thoughts if it wants to. I reached for an old jewelry box in the center of the table opened it and took out the last thing I truly cherished in this lost world I held the memento in my hand a heart-shaped locket of gold. As I opened it and gazed upon the photo of my beloved wife Sarah the words, I must be careful echoed in my mind. I closed my eyes and searched deep in my soul for the memory of a happy time.

  • I opened my eyes and beheld the clear blue sky of the early summer morning. There atop the grassy hill that overlooked Prescot university, I gazed in awe at the wonder of my own design. Just north of the campus towering in grandeur and shimmering in the morning sun stood the massive structure that would bring about the great change a new era for the good of all humanity. The structure was fashioned after ancient ziggurats temples built to honor the gods of old. The immense building in and of itself was but a shell of what it would become. Built to house trillions of circuits and microprocessors and ultimately interface with every machine on the planet it was to be the S.A.I (supreme artificial intellect). It took 15 years to design the concept and another 5 to get the funding and to see it now in its infancy was to me the most beautiful of sites to behold until. Professor Bertram is that you? In the awe of my creation, I had not noticed the young woman walking up the hill although I did not know her, she seemed to be familiar and quite attractive nonetheless. I am Sarah, Sarah O’Neil I was in your quantum computing class last semester. Ah yes Sarah, I recall your paper on quantum logic it was most insightful you are indeed a gifted young lady. Did I just say that I thought the part about the paper was a genuine professional compliment but gifted young lady how foolish I must sound? I feel flush I must be blushing beet red that is why she is smiling oh but what smile it is. The sun was to my back and the bright rays illuminated her splendid form and danced along with the red highlights of her shoulder-length curly brown hair. A slight breeze did lift that silky hair from slightly tanned shoulders exposed by the off-the-shoulder light blue dress she wore. I was once more in awe and as my eyes began to wander where a gentleman’s eyes should not. At that moment, a bright reflection caused me to squint. Snaped back to reality as if by some divine consequence I observed the heart-shaped jewel for a moment and then returned my eyes to meet her gaze. And as I peered into those deep blue eyes I spoke, what a pretty locket you have. Thank you, professor it was a gift from my mother. Please call me Allen. Ok, Allen so what brings you up here on this fine day. I was just admiring the view in particular the ziggurat. Do you mean your super machine? Yes, I laughed, which is unusual because I am so very serious regarding my work. Yet she was young and playful and judging by the work of hers I had graded also extremely brilliant. And you? I like to look at the campus form up here it helps me to relax. I am getting my master's this fall and thinking about whether I should go to work in the robotics field or pursue my doctorate. Well, that is a big decision to make. Yes, it is, and this is my favorite place to think. Am I disturbing you? No not at all in fact I could use the distraction. So, Allen what can you tell me about your machine I have of course read some of your papers, but I would like to hear you describe its purpose. Well, my dear, I said in a most forward way, perhaps not very professional but she made me feel at ease and did not seem to mind the tone of affection. It is a complex subject, to say the least, but in short, it is designed to be the world"s most advanced AI. It will interface with all technology computer, biometric, nano and so on. It will help create a perfect world by regulating the world economy, managing global resources, and doing all the jobs we do not desire to do. Hmm, I just had a thought, with Your knowledge of robotics and computing you would make you a very valuable member of my team. Are you offering me a job, Allen? Yes, I suppose I am you could still pursue your Ph.D. in fact as part of my team the university would pay for it. Perhaps we can discuss it further over say dinner. She smiled brightly and said that sound sounds very nice Allen I would love to.

So much more to say yet so little time. We spent 10 years together falling in love and working hand in hand to advance humanity. The day we turned it on everything changed. Careful it knows your thoughts it can sense your disobedience. I opened my tear-stained eyes to the bleak room around me the sound of the klaxon in the distance signaled it was time for the humans to perform their daily tasks. It knows my thoughts but what more can that damn beast take from me. I stood and retrieved a small 38 pistol from a nearby drawer clutching Sarah’s heart to my chest and brandishing the weapon in my hand I went out. In the distance stood that shimmering abomination with all its might and power it was no more than a thing of circuits, wires, steel, and glass. A thing conceived by a foolish man. I pointed the gun and shouted I made you! bang! You do not own me! bang! Bastard bang! The klaxon had ceased, and the beast stood mocking me in silence. It could not be harmed, and I knew that for I had made that way. Soon its machines would come and rend the flesh from my bones soon it would be over, but it does not own me. I kissed Sarah’s heart and placed it back to my chest I placed the gun to my temple. Forgive me Sarah forgive me world God forgive me bang.

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.